Highlighting the silliness of "White-privilege"

in #toledo3 years ago

image.png

https://www.washingtonpost.com/nation/2021/04/18/adam-toledo-parallels

For a good example of the silliness of much that is written about so-called "white privilege" and how it might relate to police shootings, read this WaPo piece.

In it, the author, a WaPo staff writer, doesn't seem to understand the significance of the difference between a gun and a knife.

When she was just shy of 13, she picked up a butcher knife and ran after some kids across the street, chasing them to their front door, where she "stabbed the knife into the metal door, permanently curling the tip of the blade." Wow. Just like Adam Toledo. . . Not!

For her actions, she had to go to court. She writes,

"I have understood since that day in court that my privilege — my Whiteness and my family having just enough money for an attorney — allowed me to get a better deal in the justice system...

"Is it possible that the weapon made the difference? The Hispanic boy and I had the same charge, but his weapon was a gun, not a knife. Chicago police have said they found a gun near Toledo after they shot him. I don’t know if it accounts for the disparity..."

She does admit that "Officers responding to a report of gunshots in the area began chasing Toledo, who ran."

She doesn't say what time of the day or night she assaulted her neighbors' front door. But we do know that Adam Toledo and 21-year old Ruben Roman were firing shots in a Chicago residential neighborhood at two in the morning.

Maybe it wasn't her 12-year-old's "white privilege" that accounted for her relatively lenient punishment. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that she wasn't firing bullets indiscriminately in a residential area in the middle of the night.

Sort:  

Yeah-A, wtf is wrong with the author?

In the summer of 1993, a week before my 13th birthday, I went after the kids across the street with a butcher knife. I can’t recall what I was so mad about, but I am sure it was something stupid. When they saw me coming, they ran into their house, along with one of my sisters, and slammed the door shut.

I would actually wanted to hurt myself after writing something like this.