Synapse, Plank & Shutter - useful Linux GUI tools

in #tools4 months ago

For Linux power users, these are few tools that will help to get things done quickly:

Synapse

This is an outstanding tool which can be used to quickly launch programs in Linux. Once installed it can be launched with various key board shortcuts. It runs in the background and popsup up a small window with excellent auto complete functionality.

(image from https://www.addictivetips.com/ubuntu-linux-tips/use-synapse-to-launch-programs-on-linux/ )

Installation instructions https://web.archive.org/web/20240105105544/https://www.addictivetips.com/ubuntu-linux-tips/use-synapse-to-launch-programs-on-linux/

Plank

If you are a fan of Window Manager like Window Maker or i3 then, plank is a nice little utility to provide an easy to access view of the windows.

See it action below:
image.png

Shutter

Screen shot and editing is an important functionality especially for collaborative remote environments and helps asynchronous communication. Shutter is a nice little utility that provides full fledged screen grab capability quite similar many paid tools out there.

All three tools are easily installable via dpkgs or similar on various Linux flavors.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bobinson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 76000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 77000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

Every time I use windows I am inclined to think that LINUX is better.
GUI makes life easier and the learning curve flatter.

If you can't see this awesome banner, open this post InLeo

It won't be long in my view before the Linux desktop is set to overtake Windows, not so sure about Mac, Apple still make good hardware, even though it's expensive.

Hey can you send me a witness vote, I will do the same.

I have been using Linux for almost an year now. It has been an amazing experience and Windows is already looking like a torture for me. There was a moderately difficult learning curve. It worth all worth the effort in the end. I don't think even a Mac could live upto the experience I am having. Some of my friends own Apple devices. Based on my limited experience, I would take GNOME over whatever Mac has any time of the day.
!PIZZA
!LUV
!CTP

Newer versions / distributions of Linux is very friendly. I was reading the other day that the desktop share of Linux has increased considerably over the last year.

Windows 11 launch may have helped. SteamOS must have played a part too. After I switched, I managed to get two of my friends to switch as well. One of them loved it and the other one didn't complain.

bobinson, vimukthi sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@vimukthi(1/5) tipped @bobinson