TOR funded by US gov and CIA black ops...

in #tor6 years ago

I have been waggling my jaw about this type of stuff since 2013. While we are inundated with discussions about "encryption" and "security software" and how this one is better than that one and how this company has made a product that is safer, more high tech, more "unhackable"..... I refer back to a conversation I had in 2013 with a programmer I was friends with who said to me that no matter what encryption is on a platform/program/app... no matter what security service you use.... your device is only as good as the hardware its on- and EVERY piece of hardware has a(deliberate) back door.

I remember when friends started switching over to TOR and they kept waxing eloquently about how they are stickin' it to the man, how they are freeing themselves from government oversight and meddling. I said then, the same thing I do every time something like this comes up: how do you KNOW?

The Short Answer is: You DON'T

The Tor Project - a private nonprofit known as the "NSA-proof" gateway to the "dark web," turns out to be almost "100% funded by the US government" according to documents obtained by investigative journalist and author Yasha Levine....the Tor project and its primary source of funding; a CIA spinoff known as the Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG), which "oversees America's foreign broadcasting operations like Radio Free Asia and Radio Free Europe."
By following the money, I discovered that Tor was not a grassroots. I was able to show that despite its indie radical cred and claims to help its users protect themselves from government surveillance online, Tor was almost 100% funded by three U.S. National Security agencies: the Navy, the State Department and the BBG. Following the money revealed that Tor was not a grassroots outfit, but a military contractor with its own government contractor number. In other words: it was a privatized extension of the very same government that it claimed to be fighting.

Tor Project "Almost 100% Funded By The US Government": FOIA

d
1 unfucker badge tiny.jpg

Sort:  

You @daniarnold dear are as jaded as I am it seems! ;) I use a lot of things that are supposed to be secure, or more secure than the regular versions most people use, but I never really believe for a second they are actually secure, perhaps just keeps the nosy neighbors from minding your business... but the groups you've mentioned here? I almost always assume they are behind the creation of these supposed secure methods of internet communication!

They can get more info if people mistakenly believe they are secure. I have always felt that's a no brainer. It is interesting to see verification of it though! Thanks for sharing!

Hi @daniarnold Thanks for this. What is the best/safest browser to use in your opinion?

not a fuckin clue!! Seriously, I've been switching browsers for a few years now, and I have yet to find one that works the way it should!! I honestly think that Google has destroyed the searchability of the WWW and that we honestly need a completely new idea for browsers instead of just remaking the same thing over and over. but how we do that? completely beyond me my friend!!

d
1 unfucker badge tiny.jpg

:( Boo!! I guess blockchain is the answer, I have faith :) See you on the beach/skatepark/garden soon, mwaaah

I hear good things about Brave browser, but then I hear good things about Tor ;)

According to '90s cypherpunk, Vinay Gupta, TOR was created to provide counter-party traffic for the US Navy.

I know what counterparty risk is. What the hell is counterparty traffic?

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www2.freerealtime.com/content/tor-project-almost-100-funded-us-government-report

kindly follow back and upvote my posts please....