A Blast From The Past

in #toys3 years ago

38DC746C-4230-4898-B347-6A221D1A80B4.jpeg

I’ll keep this one quick, simple, and to the point! Two weeks ago, a gentleman popped on into my shop ( Conquest Comics ) with the item you see above. For my uber geeks here...congrats on your nerd knowledge. You have made me proud. For all the “normies” here looking at this hunk of junk and thinking “big deal”....have I taught you nothing these past few years?!?

This pristine son of a bitch is a Vintage...Sealed...Minty Fresh...Masters of the Universe Roton Vehicle from the year 1983!!! As a current 40 year old, I was still pissin my tightly whitey’s when this hit store shelves. Most of these toys from this time have been opened and the ones that survived usually have lots of wear and tear. So to see such a beautiful package is a nice sight.

The man told me he was looking to sell, and that he had more at home. I asked how many and as he shrugged, he muttered “about 80”....to which my jaw dropped and I started pitching a mental tent.

He told me he used to do clean outs and flea markets and that they have been sitting in his garage since 1993. That it was time to move on as they were taking up space. He spit out the number and I didn’t even try to haggle. It was a solid chunk of change, but ultimately a drop in the bucket.

As I rounded up the cash from our safe, he went home and came back with 15 frigging cases of these badboys!!! Each case contained 6 units and half were still completely factory sealed by Mattel!!! Only one case was missing a single piece bringing the total number of Roton’s to 89.

659BA7B1-9B88-49C7-9127-1549C0EE4C49.jpeg

E195EF8B-6539-4A55-8655-00DAABEDF18D.jpeg

FDE9121D-1749-49F0-B484-E9BE6788CB4C.jpeg

I ended up selling about 40 piece in a week on some He-Man toy groups and raked in 4 times the initial investment. The rest we are going to hang onto for a while. I might send in a sealed case to get graded...still deciding on that.

Sealed Roton’s in this shape currently fetch anywhere between $150-$250 bucks a pop which ends up being a tasty score! I’ll update if I end up getting some graded but for now, take a look at how pretty these look!!!

21E121EC-217B-466C-BC5D-F05154BBD2B0.jpeg

841C268F-47CE-463D-9473-5C5F81E86475.jpeg

250E5718-C0B9-47AF-9FFF-862F9B28C2A8.jpeg

704A6353-8F73-4A0D-9866-99F25E48B132.jpeg

207E87F1-8FCA-48BA-8963-40918F886AA2.jpeg

Thx for taking a peek!!!

Blewitt

Sort:  

This is amazing!
I had one of these kept in my garage but were stolen last year :(

Great to see the original packaging.
Mega score on the money you got back! 😎😲

Thx man! It was quite the score!

Sorry to hear about your stolen goods. That blows and is always a concern with collectibles sadly.

Wow, that's quite a treasure trove you have there. If only I had kept some of my toys from back then, but I was too busy playing with them. I know collecting is a much bigger thing now than back then. Enjoy!

I still have most of my toys from when I was a kid but they are well played with. Loose and missing weapons and accessories. I was a kid who loved playing with my Turtles figures. Lol

I have a few of my old toys. but they were all played with by me and then my kids. Nobody thought of them as collectable back then. I think there is a big element of nostalgia in collecting, but it can get crazy as I am sure you have seen.

Definitely. It’s the same mentality my dads generation had about baseball cards and comics. Back then it was for reading...or putting in your bike spokes. My dad tells me stories of him and his friends chucking Mickey Mantle rookie cards in a box. Him and his friends would flick the cards towards a box from across the room. Whomever got it in the box world get to keep all the cards that didn’t make it in the box. Nobody knew then. That’s why a lot of that stuff fetches the coin it does. Crazy world.

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 950 posts. Your next target is to reach 1000 posts.
You received more than 270000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 280000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

that look so awesome, always wanted the battle cat, I was very little when use to watch Heman, remember Skeletor glow in he dark, good times

Yeah it’s fantastic seeing these have made it in nearly flawless shape being almost 40 years old!

Dont' flood the market with Evil Assault Vehicles hehe.., nice one!

Lol. I went and sold a chunk to a bunch of motu fans on a Facebook group. Packing the rest away for a rainy day.