Daily Book Recommendations Chapter #1 (Patti Smith - Just Kids)

in #tr6 years ago

Just Kids





I have read recently Patti Smith's "Just Kids" book. She tells everything about their fluctuant relationship with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe in the epochal days of New York City and the Chelsea Hotel in the late sixties and seventies. The book's cover is so meaningful. Only readers can know that. I highly recommend this book. Here is 2 quotes i liked.

Quotes


”It was the summer Coltrane died. The summer of “Crystal Ship.” Flower children raised their empty arms and China exploded the H-bomb. Jimi Hendrix set his guitar in flames in Monterey. AM radio played “Ode to Billie Joe.” There were riots in Newark, Milwaukee, and Detroit. It was the summer of Elvira Madigan, the summer of love. And in this shifting, inhospitable atmosphere, a chance encounter change the course of my life.”

"We were as Hansel and Gretel and we ventured out into the black forest of the world. There were temptations and witches and demons we never dreamed of and there was splendor we only partially imagined. No one could speak for these two young people nor tell with any truth of their days and nights together. Only Robert and I could tell it. Our story, as he called it. And, having gone, he left the task to me to tell it to you."

Source

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/341879.Just_Kids