You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BEWARE TRADING QRL, How I Minimized Loss on a Trade Gone Bad

in #trading7 years ago

for your info
source
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1730273.480

"QRL Update
Friday 28th July 2017
Well there is never a dull moment in crypto and just when you think you know someone…
I created the QRL last year in August, first coding a python hash-based post-quantum signature
scheme library, then laboriously coding the alpha QRL python codebase over many months on my
own. Towards the end of last year after discussion with prominent post-quantum cryptographers I
sole authored the QRL whitepaper (and it’s mistakes), created the website, fired up the slack and
announced my project to the world.
Many enthusiastic members joined the team of which most are happily still involved. In our early
testnet run before our final POS algorithm updates and whitepaper release we had a small army of
loyal alpha-testers and a fantastic community has grown around the slack and the promise of the
QRL.
Jomari joined the team one month prior to our presale in March. We got on very well and he was
tasked with managing social media, evangelising on the slack but he also did some back end email
answering and gave himself a job title—chief of strategy. In short he was a trusted, bubbly
member of the growing team.
Like many projects in the space I decided to allocate QRL to the team and friendly group of alpha-
testers to be received after mainnet launch. The community asked for ERC20’s and so I deployed
the ethereum contract (with a manual transaction for each pre-sale participant!) and every single
member of the team (~12 people) agreed to their allocation—Jomari included (logs retained).
Since the successful crowd sourcing of Bitcoin and Ethereum, agreements on roles, responsibilities
and remuneration going forward were individually agreed between myself and every single
member of the team except for Jomari Peterson.
Around 5 weeks ago Jomari started causing some foment in the team, arguing that he wasn’t happy
with the direction the project was taking. He wanted to create a US legal entity and replicate our
development efforts in the US. I am always open to discussion within the team but as I am based in
the UK and ultimately as this is my project to oversee I chose not to agree to his plan or wild
budgetary suggestions.
During negotiations over his future role in the project (as tensions began to appear) he demanded
the following: 480K QRL (his original agreed allocation), a further 19% of all remaining team funds =
1.5M QRL, a salary of 6700$ a month and discretionary control of 33% of the entire pre-sale funds.
I patiently continued to ‘negotiate’ with him with another team member sat in on the discussion for
four long weeks. After that time he had not moved his position one iota claiming he was a co-
founder of the project and entitled to a huge share of the project (to be paid in full whether he was
in the team or not!).
The next thing I know last week myself and another member of the team received a letter from an
attorney in NY suggesting we communicate through him with further discussions about Jomari’s
future involvement in the project. Now this is a development project with coders working towards
shipping code—this was a massive distraction and I honestly had begun to lose trust in Jomari.
How can you work with someone who is threatening legal action for some perceived slight, against
not just you but other members of the team? So, I asked him to relinquish the team social media
profiles, contacted a solicitor to continue our discussions formally as requested, and waited. But
Jomari failed to give up the social media accounts (which he still controls by the way) and so I was
left with no option but to temporarily remove him from the team slack.
And we are here today.
Jomari has attacked this project and so far cut the market value of the QRL in half by libelling me
through the official social media channels of my own project.
He asserts that I have sold my own share of QRL because I don’t believe in the project that I have
spent hundreds (thousands?) of hours working on. No one who has communicated with me by any
medium will recognise the picture he is painting because it doesnt exist.
The reality is that crypto startups are a grey area legally and it takes time to create a legal structure
to facilitate this. I have funded this entire project myself from scratch—hosting, our VPS cluster, all
other associated costs including remunerating developers. Some of the QRL I allocated myself has
been sold on bittrex to fund the project whilst the above legal arrangements are completed and you
will see if you look at our crypto btc and ethereum holdings that not a single Satoshi has moved
since I raised it.
Now I love this project and I am bitterly dissappointed that Jomari has attacked the project in this
manner, with libellous commentary about me personally and has also damaged the project very
obviously in terms of current market cap (although I’m sure that will recover).
I won’t make any more statements as I seek a formal legal opinion except to say that despite his
intervention we are progressing well and were about to start AWS scale testing of our updated test
code today.
I will be happy to speak to any of you on our slack, as always.
I am enormously grateful for the ongoing support of the rest of team who have worked tirelessly to
try and keep us on the roadmap we set out despite this frustrating distraction.
Peter Waterland
Founder, The QRL"

Sort:  

Much appreciated. Crypto is very funny, how one man can change the market and project for the turn. If what Peter says is true and I do have a favorable side for Peter, he should pursue legal action as this may cost the project millions and set it back by at least a few months maybe a year.