You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you ready for the Bitcoin Fork? Whats my trading plan for THE FORK?

in #trading7 years ago

@andreakrieger - You sold your BTC for USD? Don't you need to hold it on the exchange in order for your BCC to be created? I have bitcoin on Bitfinex now and still haven't received any BCC. Does anyone know when this will happen on Bitfinex? I'd like to take out the BTC and exchange for USDT at minimum. Any thoughts?

Sort:  

You won't receive any BCC until the first block is mined. That could take a while at the actual hashrate.
You can use this site to monitor the status of the fork: https://www.btcforkmonitor.info/

Thanks, that's helpful. So do I need to 'leave' my BTC on Bitfinex in order to get the BCC upon first blocks being mined? The reason I ask is because I want to move some of my BTC for trading. Any thoughts? If I start moving and trading around my BTC, I'll jeopordize my chances of getting BCC? Anyone know?

I believe you're right ... But I am no expert :)
For sure, I am keeping 99% of my BTC until that 1st block is mined and I see a BCC wallet appears on Bittrex or Kraken (the 2 exchange I use)

@dscenterprises:
On Bittrex it says: "If you have a Bitcoin (BTC) balance on Bittrex during the BCC UAHF time on August 1st, 5:20am PT (12:20pm UTC), you will be additionally credited the equivalent amount of Bitcoin Cash (BCC) on a 1:1 basis. i.e. 1 BTC on Bittrex held during the on-exchange snapshot will get you 1 BCC. "

And I did have BTC during that time, so if they respect their written statement they will credit me the BCC.

I sold my BTC for USDT because I suspect the value of buying BTC low and riding up the bounce will be greater than the value of the BCC (BCH) that I will be credited.