You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BTC hits $3,500!!! lets go over some charts, and discuss Simple & Safe trading

in #trading7 years ago (edited)

I think people might find this interesting. I would really advise to read it:
https://hackernoon.com/meet-spoofy-how-a-single-entity-dominates-the-price-of-bitcoin-39c711d28eb4

Also quite worrying info about Tether (USDT):
https://hackernoon.com/the-curious-tale-of-tethers-6b0031eead87

Luc, maybe you could comment on this.

Sort:  

Since I am almost always holding USDT, I better do some extra research on this subject. I didnt realize that USDT might expose me to additional risk.. Hopefully some here reading your post will chime in with some insight into this subject.

I don't really know much about this subject, but why don't you use GDAX instead to trade between USD and BTC or ETH? GDAX doesn't use tether, and i hate the idea of assuming tether has 1to1 value with USD

maybe because Bittrex has many more altcoin pairs to trade but yes, GDAX would be an option if you want to trade only BTC, ETH or LTC.

you're right, i didn't consider that there are more usdt to altcoins to trade with on Bittrex. bleh....just use btcs or eth to trade those :)

The ALT/USDT pairings are rather new on Bittrex, the markets are not yet mature. Its safer to trade ETH or BTC pairings with ALT coins at this stage - but that may change over time.

This is a very good idea, I don't know why I didn't think of this sooner. Great advice @oneluckyflip!. I'm mostly concerned that USDT's backing is via Bitfinex since they have ben fined by the Commodities Futures Trading Commission. That explains a lot about Tether and Bitfinex's banking issues, ironically the trading community is worried that Poloniex is insolvent when to me the real issue is the USDOJ could close the doors of Bitfinex for good.

@quickfingersluc - if you need help making content, you can turn to @oneluckyflip or myself for some help. We are both very active in the [QuickfingersTraders Slack] (https://quickfingerstraders.slack.com) and have insight into what the beginner crypto trader is struggling with. Send either of us a DM via Slack if you like this idea.

How can I get an invitation into this slack group @tizzle ?

You don't need an invite, it's open to all of @quickfingersluc followers.

@tizzle I'm trying to join the slack group and it sais: "Contact the team administrator for an invitation" can you help?

I also tried to join the slack group and says "Contact the team administrator for an invitation".

See above :-)