You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I recomend 1hour candle charts, if your a new trader..

in #trading7 years ago

In one of your earliest posts, you said that you turned $300 to $50,000. Assuming you didn't even trade and just sat in BTC, you'd have at least doubled that and would be sitting on at least $100,000 worth of BTC.

Do you have trouble trading such a huge amount? Like do you encounter liquidity problems? Or do you just trade tiny amounts?

I'd assume for the larger trades, you'd be in large markets like BTC/USD(T) and ETH/USD(T), but even if you trade like 1/4 of your portfolio (is that too much?) on probably a really sure trade (e.g. a really beautiful dip, from cracking a base that had a gigantic bounce), you'd still encounter tons of slippage while trying to enter/exit your trades.

Also, with such a large amount, do you sit in mostly BTC or USD(T)? I'm just thinking since you'd probably find greater liquidity in BTC/USD(T) and ETH/USD(T), you'd have a huge portion in USD(T), just waiting for those cracked bases so you can always be prepared to buy them up. But then, you'd miss moves like when BTC went from $1200 to $2500 in April/May.

Or do you just keep everything as BTC? After all, it just started out as "free money" from your $300, so you could probably consider those as "free coins". Although when BTC just recently dived from $2500+ to $2200, that would be lots of "paper losses". And it didn't even bounce back up to base yet, it just bounced to $2300 and went sideways (trailing downwards?) from there.... what would you do in those situations?

Would you have been sitting in BTC ignoring the volatility and just trading altcoins, or would you have been sitting in USDT buying that dip?

Sort:  

There really isnt any right or wrong way to build your wealth.. Aslong as it keeps going up your doing good.. I made plenty of mistakes, where I would have made much more if I could fortell the future.. At one point I had so much ETH, and I sold most of it at $18 and though i won the lotery.. well all that ETH would be worth over half a million today.. I also sold a whole bunch of BTC at $1,600 and watched it climb to $2,400 without me.. luckily there was a dip in may so i got it all back before it went higher .. but those are examples of my not being able to hold because I am a trader and love to take profits.. Also i cannot predict the future past the next bounce..
So while I am an awesome trader, I suck pretty bad at investing.. thats why my strategy is to just hold a little of everything that interests me... I do what im good at and trade, then I always keep some for the long term..
As far as my portfolio of coins go.. Im not comfortable anouncing my holdings.. But I will always be happy to share my trading knowledge..
Oh, and about your question of sizing your trades.. I think someone can easily trade 300-500 ETH without any trouble, on most large exchanges.. and thats 60,000 to 100,000 .. so I dont think scaling is much of a problem.. I dont even trade near to that size in ETH

In your defense about selling those ethers... there was the DAO last year and some pretty significant panic!

yeah, I made some awesome trades off the DAO thing .. but yeah, I never imagined it would run so hard so fast.. everyday something makes me shake my head