The Hazards Of Trading On An Exchange

in #trading7 years ago

1342341232412342134324342.jpg

I know for many on here this is old information but I also see some new traders and this is written in the hopes of you learning from my past mistake. When I first got into trading crypto it was in 2014, I put 1/10 of my BTC into an exchange called Cryptsy. I did decently for myself, managing to triple the value within a few months and was fortunately wise enough to put the initial investment back into my main holdings.

I honestly have trouble remembering what all I traded, I do remember daytrading TAG and curecoin as well as holding a bunch of different smallcap coins including some darkcoin. What I will always remember though is the worst mistake any trader of crypto can make, I left those holdings on the exchange itself, making matters worse I had even stopped actively trading as I was taking a break from crypto when the site went under, I was just keeping them there and increasing my risk for no reason at all other than foolishness. In this space its nearly a matter of time until a site gets hacked, your account gets hacked , or a site owner decides to run off with the money. In my case it was the latter. The part that sucks is that darkcoin became Dash, so that amount would be worth considerably more today.

All in all it could have been worse, my first crypto trading journey ended with breaking even whereas some lost nearly all of their portfolio. This time around I'm going to make sure things are different, I purchased a hardware wallet and keep most of my holdings on there or in other private wallets if they aren't compatible. I do have some money on exchanges for active daytrading but that's only 5% of my portfolio. Please learn from my mistake instead of having to learn things the hard way.

Image source:http://www.philly.com/philly/blogs/attytood/Getting-away-with-it.html

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Raziel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Which hardware wallet wallet do you use ?

ledger nano s

Congratulations @raziel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @raziel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @raziel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @raziel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @raziel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @raziel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!