Sort:  

hey! do you have a new invitation link to the slack?

Hi @tizzle, i was part of the room but i noticed my account has been deactivated. Out of good intention and will I shared what i considered valuable info on encrypting files for security. If that was understood as spam, please take my apologise, wont' happen again. May I get the account activated again please? It really is a misunderstanding. Thanks in advance.

If that spam was really from you, thats a shame. It means you were the reason we had to shut down the public invite URL.

Due to this experience, we decided to stop letting new members into the Slack until we find a solution to stop spammers from joining our 1000+ strong community.

PS: For the record, your post was clearly spam. It concerned other community members who were vigilant about removing the links you posted for security reasons. I agreed with their assessment, and it made it worse knowing that it was your first post in the Slack. On the bright side you can be rest assured knowing that you are the only person to have been banned from the Slack group for any reason whatsoever, we are pretty lenient in the Slack but we take a very hard line against SPAM of any kind. Sorry.

@tizzle, I am an 8y experienced FX trader who is now making a transition into crypto... I am more than willing to help and contribute in the community. I am ashamed that such post caused issues. It wasn't my intention at all. Prove of that is my constant follow up to make up for any inconvenience caused. It has been my concern since day 1 to improve security around crypto trading (as dif beast vs FX), so when i found out about a way to encrypt dropbox files, first thing i thought was to share it to benefit the whole community. That's who I am, genuine in my intentions and desires to help and contribute. I chose the wrong channel to share such info i guess (making it look spam, which didn't cross my mind at the time). Naive mistake, which who knows if it can turn out to potentially help to make the slack room a better place. I just hope that you could re-consider an activation as I wish, even with more desire now, to demonstrate how valuable a member i am about to become. Again, accept my apologies for the honest mistake caused. Thanks.

When (if?) we re-open the gates there will be an application process. Let us know who you are at that time, we can re-evaluate. Right now our focus is on security, there will be no new members until we solve that process.

Noted @tizzle hoping you can re-consider.

Hi @tizzle, find this valuable website... tells u how fast the communities are growing in reddit and twitter... a must have http://www.cryptometrics.net/ website is fresh new ... a programmer in a slack i participate put it together.. feel free to share it. Look forward to receive invite for slack again.