I can't believe I missed this gain of 1 000%! This led to a new trading strategy

in #trading6 years ago

I have followed G5 entertainment, mostly from a distance, since mid 2011.

Somwhere in september 2016 i concluded that it was about to have a big run, for fundamental reasons.
Of course, at the time I didn't know how big it was going to be.
I was pretty certain this was a good case and good timing. It rarely happens that I am this sure.

G5EN-20180509.png

I bought a pretty big position for the first time the 14th of september 2016 for SEK 47,38.
Unfortunately I got scared out of it because of a minor short term equity drop in my trading account (not of a drop in this stock, but enough to get me nervous and close the entire position). So I ended up selling at 47,24 wich means a tiny loss.

I watched the stock closely and traded in and out of it for the entire run. The results form these trades ranged from tiny losses to decent sized gains.

The total result of the trades was a return of a (relatively) measly 29,4% (measured as the net result of all trades in relation to the largest position I held at any one time during this period).
When I compare my return with the total run in the stock of more than 1 000% I can't help but think that I could have done so much better.

Naturally I have thought long and hard about how I can better take advantage of similar situations in the future. I came up with the following strategy to complement my shorter term trading:

I opened a second trading account with another than my usual broker, so I don't have to see the day to day equity swings in this account every time I log on to my regular one.
On this new account I now have positions that I am comfortable holding for several years or until the stock is revalued by the market, regardless of almost any general market conditions.
Of course if I should decide I'm wrong on a stock for some reason, or if the fundamentals change, I would close out the position.

I feel good about my complementary strategy and time will tell if it's a good one.

Thank you for reading, any comment you make is much appreciated!

Sort:  

Hi @trading-sweden

I did read your post a few days back but was on my brothers account. Enjoyed it man. Keep up the good work.

If you are interested in marketing your posts take a look at smartsteem. There is a moron out there now talking smack about them but I've been using them for a long time. I have no problem with them and therealwolf will sort out any problems you have if you do have problems.

Your content is perfect for this platform because every 2nd guy and his brother on here trades.

If you have any questions let me know. Also, don't invest to much on this platform because I think EOS will be giving it a run for its money.

I wanted to resteem your post but we are 6 days in now. I'll definitely resteem the next one if it is as good as this one. Just bring my attention to it if I might miss it.

Hi @dpl

Thank you for your comment.
Since I am very new to this social media thing, your advice is much appreciated.

What is the process behind marketing a post?
Also for what reason is it better to resteem a brand new post rather than one that is a few days old?

You get potential payouts based on the likes you get within 7 days you have posted something. Your post was 6 days old. If I resteemed it you would only have had 1 day exposure (to potential paying upvotes) on that post to the people that follow me instead of 7 days.

Marketing a post is a bit more complicated. @positivesynergy and I are still trying to figure out whether it is profitable or not but this gives you a lot of exposure quickly and builds your following.

Ok, that makes sense! Thank you for your answer

Congratulations @trading-sweden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trading-sweden! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!