You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This App Pays You To Walk Outside | Sweatcoin

in #trainwithjane6 years ago

I had it on my phone for awhile. I have to give an unbiased comment. I have no hatred of the app. Its a good idea. Its a real battery hog though on my Samsung S7. I could easily make it from 7am to midnight without even worrying about charging my phone with average use. With this app loaded, I would barely make it to around 5pm without needing a charge.

The other issue is that relies heavily on GPS or at least your movement detected by location services via cell towers. Well, I work in a building where there is a cellular repeater for Verizon, my carrier. This means that as far as my phone is concerned, I could walk 20 miles around my hallways or outside the building within a reasonable distance and I haven't moved an inch. The repeater must simply keep you locked away from triangulation, so you don't move as far as the application is concerned. It was kind of disappointing to know that all of my steps won't be counted.

I think having it loaded for about 2 months, I think I got near $5, but the only thing that I could do with it is buy products that I didn't want. Its a great app if you're active and mobile. Give it a try, but for those of us in corporate offices where they deploy repeaters, its almost useless.

Sort:  

I totally understand your frustrations, I have some of my own as well. But I honestly take what I can get with gratitude since I already go on morning walks! I just know to give my phone an extra charge during the day although I do have an Apple Watch and they balance out so its not draining too much of my battery too soon.
This app either is for you or it isn't :)
To be honest with you I have made more by spreading the word but still not enough to get anything as of right now. I just really love the concept and motivation I get from it!

Understood. Battery draining is a big problem with many phones. So, yeah, that is a concern. Agreed, the sweat coin is better than nothing and it can be tough if there is nothing you may want to buy with those coins. This is a step in the right direction, regardless. I don't walk around with my phone because I hate cancer.