Exploring Underwater Caves in Mexico

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

After the Satoshi Roundtable conference, I am staying a few more days at the Caribbean coast of Mexico. I will shoot a film here and work on other stuff, but sometimes I do some sightseeing. 

A friend of mine works as sales manager of Rio Secreto, so I followed her recommendation to visit it. And what an experience it was!

Rio Secreto is a system of caves with an extension of more than 40 kilometres. Huge parts of it are underwater. So we had to dress up in tight wetsuits, as we had to swim most of the time. 

We also had to wear helmets, which were really useful, as there are lots of opportunities to bang your head on a stalagtite (or stalagmite? I always mix them up).

Our tour guide was Pauline, a charming french lady who lives in Mexico. She had an impressive talent to switch between English, Spanish and French and a great sense of humour. 

We were totally dependent of her: withour her guidance we would have never found the way out of this maze. And she told us that tourists who die in the cave are eaten up by shrimps. Did I mention her humour was kind of nasty?

It was an amazing experience! If you are ever on the Yucatán peninsula (the Eastern part of Mexico) you should definitely go and visit it.

It's not cheap, but it's worth it. You pay 79 USD for the entrance and another 99 USD for the pictures that a professional photographer takes of the group.

So I hope to get some whales to upvote this post to cover some of my costs. Please share!

Sort:  

beautiful adventure that you lived in yucatan the cave is incleible blue water makes it look spectacular we hope the whale comes and your support with the expenses

Thank you. This photo shared this photo is very nice. This is an awesome photo, and you're really a good photographer.

It was Juan from Rio Secreto, not me.

It was great adventure. Thanks for sharing us .

Such an exciting & great adventuresome exploration. :)

Beautiful experience

Good idea

Great post...
Thankbfor sharing @aarinkoenig
Please upvote my post...

That was amazing adventure @aaronkoenig

Great post. Thanks for sharing.

this is an amazing experience.......lol

The photos look extremely good. I've never get in a underwater cave. It should be enjoyable.

I too wanna visit there, hope you enjoyed there.

really cool place for fun

beautifull photography in maxico @aaronkoenig thanks for shareing your beautifull click

resteem

So good and excited

Thanks for sharing i will done upvote I always see your post. And follow you

I was just going to say--wow! What a great camera and photography skills you have out there in the water @aaronkoenig! I see that it comes at quite the cost, but hopefully this post and the experience will offset the expense.

Stalagtites hang tight from the ceiling! That's the way I always remember which is which!

I love the Yucatan and have been grateful for so many amazing experiences there. Glad you didn't get eaten by shrimps! We'll need you for some more Steemfest jammin' this year!

"Stalagtites hang tight" - that's a great "donkey bridge" (as we say in German).

I didn't take the pictures, it was a professional photographer from Rio Secreto, that's why I am on them. They are charging 99 dollars for it, that's why I am begging for upvotes, which I usually don't do.

So please tell all your whale friends that I want my money back.

Looking forward to jamming with you at Steemfest!

Yes, I read your post where it cost you quite a sum for these photos, but you held the suspense for me of that until the end! Great pics and I'm sure a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Thanks for sharing the fun. More jamming fun in the queue!!

Great post sir!!! Happy journy!!!!!!

Wow! Very nice cave story! I love Mexico!

Check out our cheap travel deals every day! Enjoy

Its amazing place! Thanks for sharing us.

wow..hope it was great adventure.
going to resteem this post.
I love such places

Great ppst
nice adventure

Amazing adventure! I love your photo with stalactites! Beautifuly formed! 😊

It looks amazing! I envy you, first Russia, now Mexico! Keep up the great work @aaronkoenig!

great post..

Wow... Amazing photos... Here in Venezuela we have some wonderful caves... I hope one day you'll come... This is Walter Dupouy Cave (It really is a vertical one)
I'll follow you... Would you follow me?