Europe Travel: 8 Most Beautiful Train Rides in Switzerland

in #travel7 years ago

Everyone agrees that road trips are the best kind of trips but you have to make Switzerland an exception.The trains in Switzerland go everywhere and are amongst the finest rail way systems in the world . I loved every single second staring out from the train’s windows.And whenever a ticket conductor came, I felt as if I was missing out so much beauty .Unfortunately Switzerland is probably one of the most expensive country to travel and it is impossible to take all the beautiful routes it has to offer. These are the 8 most beautiful railway journeys that you can take across the country.

1.Glacier Express (Chur – Zermatt)
2.Bernina Express(Chur – Tirano)
3.Golden Pass line (Lucerne – Bruenig pass – Interlaken – Montreux)
4.Jungfraujoch Top of Europe
5.The Gotthard Panorama Express (Combination of boat and train between Lucerne and Lugano)
6.Voralpenen express ( Lucerne and St. Gallen)
7.Bern to Interlaken
8.RegioExpress Lötschberger route (Zermatt to Brig)

These are the routes that I took during my stay in the country with the pictures I have taken from the trains' windows and during boat ride.

JUNGFRAUJOCH

It is the highlight of the train travel of our trip. Make sure you go up via one route and go down via the other. This way you will see the most of this stunning Alpine area and also worth the expensive price ticket.
(Interlaken-Lauterbrunnen-Kleine Scheidegg- Jungfrau -Kleine Scheidegg- Grindelwald-Interlaken)

LUCERNE TO INTERLAKEN

Most of us will take this route because both luzerne (lucerne ) and interlaken are very popular places in Switzerland. This route is also part of golden pass line ( make sure you buy the train that pass by Bruening pass) and dun forget to look outside when arriving Bruening. The view is just breathtaking.

BERN/THUN TO INTERLAKEN

This train route is from Bern( the capital city of switzerland) and interlaken (the major town in Bernese Oberland region of central Switzerland). This route is also very beautiful because it will go through two of Switzerland ‘s most beautiful lakes ( lake thun and lake brienz)

THE GOTTHARD PANORAMA EXPRESS

It is originally known called as Wilhelm Tell Express until 2016. This route is combination of boat and train between Lucerne ( German speaking town) and Lugano( Italian speaking town). We travelled by this route as our next stop was Milan.

Unfortunately we didn’t travel through two of Switzerland’s most famous railways routes. Our destination was Bernese Overland and Zermatt was way too far. We also had to make last minute change of plan on our Bernina Route as well because of the weather.
Experiencing train rides in the swiss alps has been one of the most privileged thing happened in my life and I would definitely recommend to include these on everyone travel bucket lists.

If you enjoy it, please let me know in the comment section and follow me for the future travel posts.

Sort:  

JUNGFRAUJOCH

(Interlaken-Lauterbrunnen-Kleine Scheidegg- Jungfrau -Kleine Scheidegg- Grindelwald-Interlaken)

This is the most beautiful train ride I've ever had. I wish I could go back and take that ride again.
It just so unreal, especially for a man living in a concrete city of Hong Kong like me.
BTW, your photos are really nice.

thank you.. I totally agree. which season was that when you were there? for us its autumn, I wanna see how it is like in a different season. :)

Beautiful Photos @aburmeseabroad
I enjoy train trips than flights. Here in China it's the most preferred means of transport.

.. Followed and Upvoted!

Thank you.. I aprreciate it , I have been to China a few times ,but I haven't took trains before there.. may be the next time I will time.

wow...great info...gonna take a train ride next time i visit this beautiful picturesque locations

do visit my blog and check out my short family story
...you will love it...
thanks

thank you. Glad you find it useful. I will surely check it out. :)

Yes very useful and thanks once more for sharing...

Love it! Really nice. Why is this only 15 upvotes? Let's get it up there! Followed, upvoted, resteemD!

Thanks a lot. You are so kind. Followed you back. :)

What a wonderful trips @aburmeseabroad

that's a beautiful place and good atmosphere...

glad to see you on this community... let enjoy this to exploring writing the post and i look forward sharing story and photo on Steem
im giigii please follow me and i will follow back

   Thanks.

Thank you so much. following you too.

Taking the trains around Switzerland are on my list. My wife has done this a few times during college, but I've not had the chance. She said it was incredible and has been all over the country many years ago. It's her 2nd favorite country behind England d because she likes rain.

Following you now

You should surely do that soon.. it is amazing. and about the rain, the weather in the apls is super unpredictable.

That's probably why my wife loved the alps. She likes unpredictable and loves the freshness of rain while having hot tea and a scone. I prefer palm trees, white sand and good gold courses

How wonderful they are. I haven't been any country in Europe , I think i need to take this travel information into my bucket list. Did you take the photos all by yourself? . at a first glance, i was stunned.. the beautiful scenery

Europe is so amazing, and let me know if you have any questions? I haven't been to so many places yet but I would love to explore more in the future.. Yes these photos are taken by me from moving trains! thanks a lot and I appreciate it.

Yes, traveling by train through Switzerland is a visual delight. I would love to do it again. The trains too were very nice.

Couldn't agree more. thanks for checking them out.. ;)

i don't think that the switzerland is more beautiful than my village which totally full of nature and organic check here and you will love it https://www.google.com/search?q=gilgit+baltistan&client=opera&hs=QHP&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiRjMCxvdjUAhXKt48KHSMwA7cQ_AUIDCgD&biw=1326&bih=629#imgrc=JMMYz-c-JNz-7M:

It's that beautiful. I am afraid its hard to compare two different places.. I am sure I will enjoy and say the same if I visit your village in the future.

Wow those pictures are beautiful!

Thanks a lot. Glad you enjoy them.

This is fantastic!

Incredible photos!!! I missed jungfrau but i'll be back this winter :)

thanks a lot. oh wow , you are lucky . I can't imagine how it would be such a winter wonderland , I hope to go back to experience switzerland in winter as well.

Beautiful places, and beautiful pictures!

It surely is a beautiful place. Thank you.

Switzerland is very beautiful county. I've traveled there twice, and have visited the ssme places. Unforgattable views and the whole country

amazing, where did you visit ?

I live in Switzerland and definitely the rides on the train here are simply awesome! and the landscapes are breathtaking!
new follower+upvoted+resteemed

thank you so much. You are so kind to newbie me. Yes totally agree, never a single bad view throughout the trip, where do you live in switzerland?

Gorgeous!

thanks a lot. :) have you been?

Only to Lucerne. Twice.

Wonderful pictures indeed!

thanks for checking them out. :)

Very beautiful photos and good description . Makes me want to go there.

thank you very much. I hope you visit there one day.

Congratulations @aburmeseabroad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

well written,i couldnt do it better
there are some pics which are very close to my hometown,where i grew up(the 5.from the top
cheers

thanks a lot.. I appreciate it.. you mean the one at the Bruening pass? It's gorgeous place, where are on a way from interlaken to luzern and I wanted to stop over there for a night :)

no problem you are welcome...yes the town just before bruenig pass- with the church....from Lucerne
i grew up between there...if you look at my introduction you see a pic with a big church-tower....you passed it when you came from lucerne to bruenig

Congratulations @aburmeseabroad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just breath taking. Dare I say your shots do it justice?
lol!

Well put together post. Thank you for the great experience!

thanks a lot.. I appreciate it.. Thank you for checking them out. :)

I LOVE trains!

Really beautiful scenery.

yes train rides are my favorite way to travel a country.

those are great tricks @abu! How possible i didn't saw you post??