Traveling through the Scenic Georgian Military Highway, Georgia(Country not US state)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear steemit friends,

Today I want to bring you to another one of the most scenic drive I have ever been to, called Georgian Military Highway.

Last year May, I travelled by myself to Iran and Georgia for 3 weeks.

Georgian Military Highway_4929.jpg

Although I have written a few posts about Iran when I started steemit,here are the posts if you are interested. I have never wrote a post about Georgia before.

Georgia (Country)

To be honest, I have not heard of the country of Georgia .The only Georgia that I have heard of is the US state.

Where is Georgia?

Georgia iso country in the part of Europe called Caucasus region. It is located at the crossroads of Western Asia and Eastern Europe, it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the southeast by Azerbaijan. The capital and largest city is called Tbilisi.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 10.32.32 AM.png

During my one week in Georgia, I went on a Day Trip to Kazbegi from Tbilisi via the Georgian Military Road.The road is also called Russian Georgian Military Highway and yes you can go overland from Georgia to Russia. I even met with a british lady who was working in Russia and visited Georgia. She travelled for days overland through Russia to finally reach Tbilisi.

Along with other famous mountain drive routes, this road is also known as one of the most beautiful mountain drives in the world.

The road is 198 km long and runs between Tbilisi (capital city of Georgia) and Vladikavkaz (in the North Ossetia region, in Russia) across the Great Caucasus Range. It follows the traditional route used by invaders and traders throughout the ages. The Georgian Military Highway has existed as a route for traders and invaders since before the 1st century BC.

Georgian Military Highway_4763.jpg

The journey start with the view of generary mountains outside of Tiblisi.The road was relatively straight and smooth. A number of churches and watchtowers can be seen along the way. We even visited one along the way .

1.jpg

I thought their language look like Pāli , an ancient Buddhist writing.

Georgian Military Highway_4974.jpg

Because it's spring time, there were flower blooming along the road. But it's also rainy and cloudy throughout my trip.

You could see these kinds of georgia traditional food selling along the road or pretty much everywhere in the country.


There are many viewpoints on the way, including one spot where you’ll find natural mineral water.Our guide was very excited about this place but since I have seen many spots like this Iran , it was okay for me. :D




The highest point of the road is called the Jvari Pass. This part of the road is notorious for avalanches. As you can see, I visited on May, you can imagine the heavy snow during the winter time.It is at an elevation of 2379 meters (7,815 feet) above the sea level.

You can rent one of those vehicles to ride in the snow but I felt bad for them as the weather was gloomy and freezing and it seemed like there were no customers. But they were having a good time.

The road encompasses miles of stunning views through twisty hair pin corners, high elevations and then to the small villages before we finally made it to our destination to Kazbegi.

2.jpg

Thank you for reading.let me know in the comment of what you think so that I know what type of posts you like to see more. I also really appreciate the up-vote if you like it and resteem with your friends who might enjoy reading this.

If you are new to steemit and looking for some tips to improve your blog posts, check out my previous posts..

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 42.694549 lat 44.515228 long Traveling through the Scenic Georgian Military Highway, Georgia(Country not US state) d3scr)

Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

Wow looks like an awesome trip!

thank you. It was amazing.

Some of the photos look sort of like Peru with snow. Thanks for the post, I don't know very much about Georga.

What were the people like?

Ah.. I wanna visit Peru. Georgians look like Russian ( to be honest I was a bit scared to travel alone because they are so big size and can snatch me in one sec haha) and most of them speak russians too.

Solo trip? Envy u.

yes I went alone. Thanks. I also envy you living in Canada.

Wow such a wonderful and beautiful shots dear friend i adore it and i adore the topic i will follow you waiting for more.

Georgia, as I've heard and is also evident from your photographs, is an amazing country. I think Indians get Visa On Arrival so that's going to be my 2018 goal. Steem goes upwards of $15 and I go to Georgia :D

Yes it's very beautiful and cheap , like for real ( trust me it's cheaper than places like bali )Yes indian can get VOA but make sure you have everything booked as I have heard lots of indian people got denied to enter at the airport.

Yeah even I heard of recent airport debacle.

So wanted to see personally that place. Please vote for my post @skylettebree28

follow and vot me@aburmeseabro

Please stop spamming and nope.

Really beautiful

Beautiful pics.. everyone seems to think Georgia is a special place. Can't wait to go there myself. Keep up the good posts...

Thank you. I hope you get to visit there very soon.

Thanks for sharing
We only know it as georgia never comes up news about it as well and didn't notice it. After all it's also a quite nice place to visit which have lots of view points surrounded around.

It's one of the truly beautiful place that has less attention, Thank you for visiting.

it's my pleasure Fri.

those were an amazing pictures, you re such a professional

Thank you for the compliment 😊😊😊

Looks so nice! really need to travel more, very interesting part of the world.
Thanks for sharing

It's truly interesting part of the world.. also the people there r so religious. Thank you for taking the time to read.

nice trip and good place. I also want to visit.

အရမ္းစိတ္၀င္စားစရာေကာင္းတယ္အမေရ ေက်းဇူးပါ အကုန္သိပ္နားမလည္ေပမယ့္ နားလည္သေလာက္ဖက္ခဲ့ပါ၏

good photographer & good post

Very nice interesting blog. Upvote & Follow you.
Thanks for the tips also.

thanks for ur support.

You traveled by yourself?
how cool is that @aburmeseabroad
Georgia is a beautiful contry

yes.. very beautiful, have u been?

Unfortunately, not yet
But I have a friend who visit and saw the picture she made

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=aburmeseabroad
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=traveling-through-the-scenic-georgian-military-highway-georgia-country-not-us-state


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)