You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The "B R A S O V" experience: What does that even mean?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Not too often do I get to see a foreigner talking that good about my home country, but when it's the name of Brasov involved I can see his point. Although I haven't been to Brasov yet(shame on me) I have always said that it belongs to "another Romania", one that has Cluj, Sibiu and Iasi as representative cities, which not only that are proper sized cities like Brasov, but they have something that sets them apart from what the general picture of Romania is. I could have add Timisoara also in that list, as I know pretty well after spending three years in college there, but it's still work in progress. It has a good Mayor though for some years and it's becoming a promising European City.
Glad to hear also that you moved from Denmark to Romania. I've traveled once through Denmark when driving from Sweden, but never visited properly. I would trade Romania though in summer for some Scandinavia country. I lived in Norway for almost a year and I can say that summers over there are perfect for me. Winters on the other hand...not.
Long story short, it's been a pleasure reading your post and followed for some more great stories. Have fun in Brasov and who knows probably I'll visit it too after your proper advertising. It's definitely a must.

Sort:  

Just like you, I have see also bad parts of Romania. When I cycled through Romania I witnessed the poverty that you see in many of the small villages, and some of those sights could be heartbreaking. Also the current political situation and a bunch of other factors that makes me sad. But between all of this I also noticed a lot of good and it is those points I want to put my focus on while being here. Romania is a tough country to live in at the moment, no doubt, especially when you start caring for it. It is my hope I can bring some good and awareness to the table through my blog. :)

Next time you are here give us a sign. Thanks for all the good thoughts. The political situation will change and we will transition to a better country, but this is on standby ATM :( as not all people are altruistic here, especially the politicians. Education plays a big role and we are actively trying to make things better.

I am living here for a year in Brasov! in fact, I have even joined a number of protests. I still remember the chant "HOTI". Luckily I was not in one of the violent once.

Are you on @steemromania? We have a nice community made out of people of tomorrow and we are actively trying to help out people, to grow their accounts, to make tutorials and give everyone a helping hand. We are also a think-tank, trying to shape the future and include Steem in this future :P

Join us here also: https://discord.gg/mgWJGd

Cheers!

I just followed it now. Discord I haven't used yet. Thanks for the tip.

I just followed it
Now. Discord I haven't used
Yet. Thanks for the tip.

                 - acesontop


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.