Leaving paradise - goodbye Spain, hello England

in #travel19 days ago

Leaving Paradise

GOODBYE SPAIN, HELLO ENGLAND


leaving paradise.jpeg

I'm about to head back to London. I've been in Spain for the past week and I've really enjoyed the spring weather here. It's not so hot, but blue skies are nearly always guaranteed. Most of the time I've been here it's been light jumper weather, so not hot like I said before, but very sunny and pleasant.

It really is the perfect weather and I've grown very envious of the people that live here. Especially those that live by the sea, of which there are many. Apart from the luxurious villas that line the coast, there are apartment blocks that tower into the blue sky, multiple times taller than palm trees, all with balconies and a view of the Mediterranean Sea. It's a thing of beauty.

Judging by how many empty apartments there are here, and how empty the entire place has been, it's clear that a lot of them homes are investments. That is to say, either they're second homes - for holidaying purposes, or are for rent to holidayers. Many of them are managed by agencies like Booking.com or are on Airbnb. I also noticed more blocks going up here and there, probably for the same reason. I paused and admired on of the new blocks for a minute, fantasising about owning one. "I could spend the winters here", I thought to myself, but then quickly snapped out of it, brought back to reality by the car that almost hit me as it made an abrupt right turn and zoomed past a zebra crossing with no care for the person nearly crossing it. Me, that is.

The beaches are a mix of rock, stone, coarse sand and soft golden sand. The water itself ranges from turquoise to sky blue. It really does resemble paradise here on this coast. Even the stone seems different from what we have in England.

All the sand here was deposited over centuries by winds originating in North and West Africa. The great African Sahara has sanded virtually all beaches in the Med and even as far as the Americas. It is particularly noticeable here at times when the blue sky takes on sandy-brown hue, the air becomes even drier than it normally is and all surfaces become covered in a film of Sahara dust. It reminds me of the climate in Senegal, albeit a little colder here, where sand accumulates along street corners and walls. If not for the sea, I believe most of southern Spain, Italy, Greece, Turkey and most balkan states would be desert by now.

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

Happy holidays
The place looks beautiful, and the weather is just perfect to walk around in short sleeves.
Peace

It was nice there. I'm back in London alas! :)

Sounds nice. It's not too bad in the UK right now, but we keep getting more rain. I've never lived near the coast, but it does appeal. Just need to be sure that bit will not wash away.

Haha. To be fair, these Mediterranean coasts are quite mountainous and rocky. You can be just half a mile from the water and instantly elevated above all of London. They're quite safe from the rising sea level.

That's good. I've seen places in the UK where homes are falling into the sea. It's not just rising sea levels as erosion is a factor too.

I've been to the coast a fair bit in the last couple of years as daughter is in Portsmouth. You get to see all the ships go by.

It's pretty bad in Kent and East Sussex. The Birling Gap is eroding very quickly. There is a cafe/information centre there that's about to fall off the cliff. Just a decade ago I was there having coffee.

I even posted about it some time ago

I wish I could be there right now and maybe live in those houses that has no one living there😀😀😀

LOL. yeah that would be nice. Maybe when Hive moons 😉