Tackling Zion's Subway Trail....With the Flu.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I spent a Thanksgiving weekend in November 2014 exploring parts of Zion National Park. I drove my Jeep from Sacramento, California all the way for a day's worth of drive to Utah.

image.png
On the road again

On the way, I caught the flu on a stopover from Las Vegas....and no I did not visit some sleazy strip joint to catch the disease.

image.png
Zion National Park

I was really really sick.

But I was really determined to take photos of the Zion Subway and The Slit which I was photos of in Outdoors magazine. I wasn't going to let the flu stop me from tackling The Zion Subway trail.

image.png
The Subway

The Subway Trail is a short but fairly strenuous hike, it's marred by many obstacles and slippery slopes. The trail is constantly eroded by rushing water. But this also creates amazing formations and geology great for photography. Just like an area called "The Slit"

image.png
The Slit

There were some rappelling and swimming involved and it was cold and wet from the constant rage of the virgin river which continues to carve the canyons of Zion to this day.

image.png
The Virgin River reflection

Eventually, the trail merges through a cave that was shaped and cut like it was a subway - All caused by water erosion. I'm happy to say that with the flu, I did complete the hike and I survived to tackle another trail another day.

image.png
The Subway

Have you been to Zion?

Sort:  

Amazing photos! Zion is my favourite National Park, I was there once during my W&T 2 years ago and i will never forget this place!

@adonisabril wonderful photos! I am from Utah myself and know the area well. I must say you captured Zion well! The colors are spectacular and really give justice to the park. I love the long shutter you did with the water such a wonderful effect. I hope you have more photos coming from southern Utah. Keep up the good work!

I'd have to go back!

Amazing photos!)

How about that! Looks really great! Now never been to any park looking like this.

This post has received gratitude of 6.40 % from @appreciator thanks to: @adonisabril.

Amazing photos! I went to Zion last Christmas. Although it supposed to be off-peak season, there were so many people...Definitely want to go back this summer and try some hiking trails.

I was there off-peak too!

It has beautiful scenery.

Wow this place in MAGIC, it looks like a real adventure

Good adventure for you @adonisabril

great post.i apricate your mail.
thanks a lot for sharing...

Wow, looks really impressive. The subway and slit looks almost like abstract art!

It's a very photogenic place!

Wow sir, amazing collection of images from Zion. Glad you still made the effort even though you were sick. Was out in that area a couple years back but didn't have a chance to go here. Now I think I'll have to make a special trip. Thanks for sharing!

wow this pictures are really impressive ! Followed, also check my profile for photography :)

A great adventure
i love to visit her
@adonisabril

Looks like pictures out of this world, loved those colors also, what effect did you use?

Just slow shutter speed and polarizer :)

You got a 8.34% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @adonisabril! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thanks to your flu your stubbornness made me want to go there sooo badly! I want to see it with my eyes, breath deeply and feel it with all my soul!
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful place!

Taking pictures is more important than health :)

No i never have. Wow its sure looks beautiful..

A trip is in order :)

Beautiful pictures @adonisabril

Wow! What a view. Thanks for sharing. Kindly find my recent article resourceful. Thanks. https://steemit.com/writing/@mhosis/giving-not-trading

Ah! This trail is the only reason I'm itching to go back to Zion! Soooo beautiful! Great shots!!!!

I'm itching to go back too and maybe hit up Bryce Canyon along the way!

Oh my, that is incredible. I have never been there, but it sounds..and looks great. Bummer you were sick, but I bet you have no regrets! 🙃

Nope every experience is worth...priceless in fact :)

I had not been to Zion but this is really breathtaking photos of water erosion forming beautiful caves and carving patterns that was out of this world. Upvoted!

Dude... your photos are seriously inspiring me to take on photography. I always look forward to your posts.

Thank you :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=adonisabril
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tackling-zion-s-subway-trail-with-the-flu


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I have never been to Zion but if given the opportunity (which means money), I would really love to!

Wow i don't know what to say this pictures are amazing.

Those are some aboslutely gorgeous photos! I'm really glad to that you managed to weather the flu to take them! I've not only never been to Zion, I've never been to North America. The Zion National park looks like a really awesome place to visit! :)

Zion sounds like a planet haha wow looks incredibly breath taking though! Kudos to trudging through even despite tackling the flu :)

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Have you been to Zion?
NOO!!!!
Amazing treasures hidden underneath the earth. Thanks @adonisabril for sharing.

Woww, amazing view!

A mountain of God's creation is very beautiful and fascinated by it, I really want to visit here holiday with my small family, may I know this area where @ampon

very good!