Barcelona is much more! - What to visit for FREE in Barcelona!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello stemians!

I wish you a Happy Monday and a great week ahead, hope you are well!

Barcelona it's such a complex city so that’s the reason for writing two posts. In my first post, I covered the costs of accommodation, public transportation, meal costs and much more.

If you missed my first post, here it is:

Here are some free things you can do in this city:

  • Go and visit the Park Guell! It is absolutely free to wander a big part of this park all and if you want to visit completely it for free, including the famous market area with its mosaic benches and the houses, you must come before 08:00 or after 21:30 (in the high season). If you miss the free window, you can buy a ticket that cost 7.50€
    IMG_8115.PNG

IMG_1149.JPG

IMG_1305.JPG

IMG_1256.JPG

IMG_1254.JPG

IMG_1251.JPG

IMG_1307.JPG

IMG_1312.JPG

IMG_1327.JPG

IMG_1338.JPG

IMG_1341.JPG

IMG_1347.JPG

  • A hike on Monjuic Hill- it is worth the time walking up to the hill, the views are amazing and free!

IMG_8112.PNG

DSCN2702.JPG

DSCN2713.JPG

  • If you are lucky enough and you are in Barcelona, in the first Sunday of the month you can see several museums for free, such as Picasso Museum, Nacional d’Art de Catalunya and Museu d’Història de Catalunya. But because it’s free it’s better to visit in the evening between 17:00-19:00 or pretty early in the morning.

DSCN2687.JPG

  • You can relax on one of Barcelona’s beach, but it is vital to have with you some sunblock.
    Until the Olympic Games in 1992, Barcelona did not have any beach. WOW!

IMG_1152.JPG

  • Promenade along the Passeig de Gracia. There you get to see the Gaudi’s architecture, Casa Batlló and Casa Milà (I wrote about these in my first post), Casa Amatler and also other stunning and luxurious houses and shops. You won’t get bored! In order to avoid the crowds, it’s better to visit early in the morning or one a late evening!

DSCN2740.JPG

  • If you are in this city, it’s mandatory at least to see the exterior of Sagrada Familia, but Barcelona has another remarkable cathedral, built more than 700 years ago, the gothic Catedral de la Santa Cruz y Santa Eulalia.

DSCN2793.JPG

IMG_1369.JPG

  • Another trademark of the city it’s the Arc de Triomf, which was built in 1888 as the entrance of Barcelona World Fair. It’s situated really close to the Park Ciutadella. It was a pleasant day so we enjoyed the time spent there.

IMG_8116.PNG

IMG_1194.JPG

You can rent a boat.

IMG_1241.JPG

Here I saw these green parrots, which are so cute!

IMG_1230.JPG

This park ’s pretty large, so you can’t get bored!I fall in love with this amazing fountain designed by Josep Fontserè with possible contributions by Antoni Gaudí.

IMG_1240.JPG

Next to the park is the Barcelona ZOO, but I am not a big fan of the zoos so I didn’t visit it, animals should be free, not in a cage without freedom.

You can also see the Parliament of Catalonia.

IMG_1246.JPG

One of my favourite part of the trip was taking the cable car: we bought tickets from there, but it’s better to buy online. A return ticket costs 11,43 €. We took the cable car from the station located near Barceloneta Beach to hill Montjuïc. We saw killer views, really stunning.

IMG_1154.JPG

IMG_1155.JPG

IMG_1160.JPG

One of my friends was really scared and unfortunately she couldn’t enjoy the ride so we didn’t return to Barceloneta, we stayed and discovered Montjuïc.

DSCN2718.JPG

DSCN2714.JPG

We visited from outside the Barcelona Olympic Park, in the year I was born, 1992, Barcelona held the Olympic Games.
DSCN2727.JPG

DSCN2720.JPG

We couldn’t leave Barcelona without attending some shows at The Magic Fountain. It is located in front of the Palau Nacional and was created for the 1929 Barcelona International Exhibition.
IMG_1427.JPG

IMG_1428.JPG
The fountain was designed by Carles Buigas and at the time it seemed too ambitious to accomplish in the time they had before the opening of the exposition. The original design included the water fountains and lighting, later in the 80s music was added so that the water will dance. There are a lot of types of songs. It was a pretty experience, though it’s crowded, I like more the fountains of Dubai. If you want to see the fountains show you should Know the schedule:

IMG_1426.JPG

October – April: 19:00-20:30, only on Fridays and Saturdays
May – September: 21:00-23:00, from Thursday to Sunday

IMG_0914.JPG

Our accommodation was five minutes walk from Placa d'Espanya which is also the gateway to Montjuic as it is located at the foot of the Montjuic Hill and is a major traffic intersection as well as a hub of entertainment venues and attractions.

IMG_0894.JPG

The fountain situated in the middle of the square is so beautiful, I thought only Italian has great fountains, but I was wrong. The towers are tall, have a height of 47 meters reminded me of Venice, and from there you can easily walk to the Magic Fountain. Towers were designed also 1929.
Here is a picture of the Bell Tower from Venice. Do you see any resemblance?

DSCN1930.JPG

Also if you want to see the city from above you can do that from Arenas de Barcelona which is a shopping centre and has a lot of restaurants.

IMG_8111.PNG

IMG_0917.JPG

On our next day, we went again on Ramblas and we visited the 19th century Royal Square, a tropical square with a lot of palms, where we enjoyed the sun and drank a frappe. What makes this square awesome is the fact that the cars aren’t allowed and you can take a break from the agitation you encounter on Ramblas, is like an oasis.

IMG_1026.JPG

DSCN2776.JPG

I made a new puppy friend there.
IMG_1190.JPG

On this square you can see the lamps designed in 1879 by Gaudi, but also a beautiful fountain, that shows the Three Graces by Antoni Rovira.

DSCN2778.jpg

hihia.jpg
We also saw the Cathedral of the Holy Cross and Saint Eulalia aka Barcelona Cathedral, a Gothic cathedral and seat of the Archbishop of Barcelona, Spain. It is stunning cathedral built several centuries ago and you must not miss it. As I mentioned above, the entrance is free.
IMG_1370.JPG

IMG_1371.JPG

IMG_1374.JPG

After we finished our walk on Ramblas, we had the idea to take a city cruise on the sea, it was so relaxing. We chose the 40-minute cruise with the eco--friendly Eco Slim catamaran.
IMG_1387.JPG

IMG_1391.JPG

It’s a great cruise especially for those with kids. We saw the Port VellMarina, Barceloneta beach, the hotel Hotel W Barcelona 'La Vela' which looks a bit like Burj Al Arab and of course we saw the Columbus Monument from the sea.
The boat was power by alternative energy like wind and solar energy, how awesome is that?! The trip costs around 8 euro.
IMG_1399.JPG

IMG_1396.JPG

After that we took the tram and went shopping a shopping centre, where we saw these doggies inside of the building. I was so happy to see the puppies I find this so amazing, in Romania is forbidden to take your fur baby to the mall, hope this will change soon!
IMG_1248.JPG

IMG_1249.JPG

What to eat when you are in Spain:

  • Paella (rice with chicken, saffron, runner beans, butter beans and more)
  • Tortilla Española (Spanish omelette created from eggs, potatoes and onions)
  • Pulpo a la gallega (boiled octopus dish)
  • Prawns in fried garlic

What to drink when you are in Spain:

  • Cerveza (beer)
  • Sangria
  • Cava (it’s similar to Prosecco)

If you are in a hurry and have only one day in Barcelona, you could book a tour with Hop-On Hop-Off Buses and see the main attractions, you shouldn’t miss this wonderful Mediterranean city.
I LOVE this city, has everything you need good food, beach, architecture, fun. Next time I will visit it must be in the summer and stay longer than five days, I heard the beach parties are a lot of fun. Buh-bye Barcelona, can’t wait to see you again.

IMG_1437.JPG

Thanks for reading my post.
If you like it, you can upvote and resteem it!
Best regards,
@alexandraioana26

Sort:  

Hi @alexandraioana26! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @bluemoon :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

So impressed with the mosaic decorations and the stone carvings! Stunning! A fabulous sharing! @alexandraioana26😍

You should definitely visit Park Guell, it is such a beautiful and colourful place, you ll love it!

Thanks for this detailed post, I'll save it fir when we visit Barcelona, you will be our guide there :)

I am so flattered! Thank you so much @peterveronika! >:D<

Congratulations @alexandraioana26 I loved your work, you're the best!
Reesteemed!

DQmXvFrYWBeqE9q6aqBT4Sad4rhEDqpCv6wFzCERRjyHB7M.png

Muchas gracias mi amigo! <3 besitos

With every passing day you are getting better and better in what you do, this kind of travel blog is your best part. Congratulations! Success is yours, I'm glad to see, tip!

Thank you so much @bluemoon! I really appreciate your support and help!

Thanks for sharing. I visited many countries and I think the Barcelona is the best of everything. Best of art, best of architecture, best of food, also including great coast and nightlife. I haven't seen any country which reserves all of them together in one city. The only problem is that the Spanish who living in Barcelona are not willing to talk in English.

I encountered the same problem, but i am fortunate to speak a little spanish!
thanks for reading my post! cheers

A real story with pictures !
I like the picture with green parrots !

That's one serious travel post. Great work :)

Thank you so much

Great post, Amazing photography, thanks for sharing @alexandraioana26

Thanks for reading my post!

nice post! some very cool pics there!! makes me want to travel more and more... so many places to go and see. who takes your pictures?

Thank you so much! Go and travel whenever you can!

Beautiful city! I liked your post!

OMG, the look on that dog's face....he's seen some shit in his dog life! :)

:)) hahaha you are funny

Great post, amazing shots, did take them?

yes, thank you!

Beautiful set of photos. Thank you so much for sharing!
 

Thank you so much!

My friend!!
I've got a photo of me and a buddy in that exact spot in your first photo! I loved Barcelona! We spent a week there, we had an little apartment that had a rooftop terrace, and the cervesa was only a Euro each for a long neck... cheapest beer around... amazing!

This is such a great post! It's got puppies, it's got bell towers and it's got you! So great! I'm so glad this post is doing well, you deserve it!

Thank you very much my dear @aussieninja! I am glad you had fun in Barcelona, maybe you will make a post about your experience there! Thanks for your compliment! cheers >:D<

I like this place, i live in barcelona !! i hope u had fun !!

I love Barcelona too! por supuesto que si! saludos @mro

Aunque si vuelves avisame te enviare otros dirección de live music clubs y restaurantes.
saludos

What a wonderful post! I'm such a fan of Gaudi. Even wrote a paper on him in school. Cheers to the rest of your travels.

Thank you so much! Yes, Gaudi was a genius! stay safe :*

Great Post!! I think you should also make minivideos of your trips using Dtube. Where is your next trip to? Greetings from Mexico

Thank you so much for your feedback! Maybe on my next trip, I will make some video, thanks, that's a great suggestion! Probably my first trip will be to Italy: Bergamo, Lake Como and after that Morocco: Fez, Chefchaouen, Rabat...that's all I planned until now.
saludos desde Bucarest @mauriciovite

You will soon become a steemit super star if you keep this up :)

Thank you so much for your support! I hope our whole community will grow stronger! :*

from my "kicking the atmosphere" series
13.JPG

You got skills! Did you enjoy your stay in Barcelona @rmach? cheers

Yes. I love the city! There's so much to do and it seems it's possible to get anywhere easily compared with other big cities.

and...

I feel I could live inside the market "la boqueria" :)

hahaha
I saw you are from Portugal, I plan to visit Portugal this year, any tips?
cheers @rmach

Tenor - i love it!.gif

Thanks @rlt47!

Thanks for the comments and Support!

But I will let Tom tell you himself...

tenor (39).gif

Source: Tenor Gifs

It is a wonderful city. You explored it so much better than I did. How good is the Paella. I did the Spanish cooking class at Travel Bar and learned how to make a traditional Paella. It was a fabulous experience :)

Maybe you will have to visit it again!
Wow you know how to make a traditional Paella, that's so awesome! congrats @onethousandwords

I'd like to go back, I don't feel like I did Barcelona justice. I wouldn't say I know how to make a traditional paella. I think I've pretty much forgotten most of it but with a recipe it would probably come back.

What a great, whale-sized post of awesomeness!!! My heritage is from Catalan, but I have never been able to visit... Someday!!! The architecture is so amazing, thank you so much for the variety of pictures...

Buddha Selfie.JPG

Thank you so much @occupywallets! I am sure you will eventually visit Catalonia! Where are you in the picture? Thailand?

Funny, because I WAS in Cambodia but now live in USA... My good friend live in Thailand!

You traveled a lot!

Sorry, that picture was in China, near a small town in the mountains called Fenghua... Here is a pic from the top of the Buddha looking down...

Looking Down.JPG

AN EXCLUSIVE HAPPINESS DELIVERY - #01

I've elected to deliver a special POSITIVE VIBE to everyone that I follow! Remember you determine your own HAPPINESS. Have a HAPPY DAY!

tenor.gif

Gif by Tenor

Good morning!

WHETHER YOU ARE RISING OR RESTING - #01

I've elected to deliver a special package of POSITIVE VIBES just for YOU, valid for the next 24 hours !!!

So, If you are off to bed, rest well and deeply! OR,

tenor (52).gif

If you starting a new day,

tenor (3).gif

Steem Onward and Upward!

Please Note: I am delaying up-votes. For further details use this link. Up-votes will resume timeously for this post.

Comments and Upvotes welcome! If you are NOT on my list to receive "WHETHER YOU RISING OR RESTING..." and you wish to be, please follow me and request to be included in the reply section.

Source: Tenor Gifs

Such an awesome travel post. I love your travel posts, @alexandraioana26 .. Barcelona is so full of art, life and heritage ! Great pics :)

Thank you so much for your kind words! Love your work too! hugs @nehab

my pleasure... And thank you to you too :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=alexandraioana26
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=barcelona-is-much-more-what-to-visit-for-free-in-barcelona


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great post dear! Loved Barcelona, and these are some great tips! Keep up with good content :)

Thank you, dear! I wish you a great evening!

Beautiful fun. You really did the town. I miss Las Ramblas and the simple sandwhiches enjoyed with espresso. Was always a beautiful day in Barcelona. Where are you off to next?

Thanks for reading my post. I will visit Italy and Morocco! cheers @jacobts

Excellent job dear @alexandraioanna26 !
Resteem

Barcelona looks so colorful and the designs are so amazing. Barcelona has some really nice building and sculpture and statues. Amazing post @alexandraioana26 you seen so much in barcelona. I never knew they had that much. Beautiful post 🇪🇸

Thank you so much @jordanzzz! I am sure you will fulfil your dream! hugs

I like this kind of guide and tips post as I can find lots of info for my next trip, all the beautiful places, the view of the beach look awesome and yes always so good to find free stuffs to do especially in europe as they are all amazing..

I am glad to be helpful! cheers @aburmeseabroad!

AN EXCLUSIVE GOODNIGHT WISH - #01

I've elected to deliver a special goodnight wish to everyone that I am following (and your followers)! May you have peaceful rest. I hope to to see you all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed in the morning! Good Night dear friend!

tenor (45).gif

Gif by Tenor

I want to visit Barcelona again in this spring. The tips you offer are very useful. Oh, and in the first picture you are very sexy ;)

Thank you my dear @allesia!

Wow incredible content, thanks for sharing.

pic number one and number forty are really cool, the ones with you on them. Looking very relaxed i also liked the ones with the golden horsed a lot. is that the Parliament of Catalonia? or the zoo?

Liked the yatch port pic.

Keep up the good work. Following and upvoted.

Thank you so much for you compliments! cheers @neri0X
It's the fountain you can find in the park!

I'm definitely going to visit Barcelona before I die :D Great photography @alexandraioana26
If you love travelling, You can't miss Nepal ;)

Thank you so much @creatovert! When I ll be heading to Nepal, I will request some tips from you! cheers

Sure... Ping me anytime :)

Great share. I liked it.

Let's grow together. Please follow back if you like my feed. Also please like my posts. 🙏🙏🙏🙏

@kunalcold

This is spam, you should stop, maybe other will flag you.... just saying @kunacold

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!