#17 : Lake Hillier, Australia

in #travel6 years ago

Lake Hillier is located on the island of Middle Island belonging to the Australian archipelago Recherche. It is surrounded by white sand and dense forest, which further underlines its pink color. This place was first visited by the English traveler and sailor Matthew Flinders in 1802 during his trip to Sydney. The lake has a pale pink color. Initially it was thought that it owed it to the specific algae that live in it. Later studies, however, did not confirm this hypothesis. Interestingly, the water does not lose its color after getting into a transparent container. Despite the unusual color, Hillier Lake does not show any effects that are dangerous to humans.Jezioro Hillier - Australia.jpg
[ photo source: facebook.com/Tajemnicze-Miejsca-na-Ziemi-737367156301604/ ]
Please follow and upvote if you like it and comment what do you think about this. Have a nice day!

Sort:  

This looks funny. It's still unknown where the color comes from?

Scientists are not in agreement whether the pink color comes from algae or not

that's incredible, I did some research and appereantly it is algae. But for now just enjoy the view :)

Thank for follow and upvote :) same to you, great great photos and stories. I hope that all of us would visit those places one day!

Thanks too :)

A mix of beauty and uniqueness. Do you know it personally? Anyway, thanks for following me. I hope you will also enjoy my content. ^.^

I would like to be able to see it for myself at first sight ;) Thanks for follow me and comment!

Looks surrealistic.