Impromptu Adventures in China Pt. 2 Suzhou/Wuxi

in #travel4 years ago (edited)

shangg.jpg

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


If you missed Part I of our China trip, check it here.


The first few people we met assumed my cousin and I were either dating or married. Each time, we corrected them with something akin to: "No. We're related. She's my cousin. We're just traveling together."

These corrections grew cumbersome, especially when conversations began with: "So, how long have you two been together?"

We're related.

"Oh..." [insert crickets].

We decided that if we pretended to be a couple, we'd effectively remove the awkward conversations altogether. It'd be a fun little game. What could go wrong?


Suzhou

After arriving in Shanghai, we first visited the Lingering Garden.

image.png

linggarden1.jpg

linggarden.jpg

Group photo!

linggarden2.jpg

We met another "couple" who found themselves in a similar predicament with everyone assuming they were a couple. Instead of making a game out of it, this "couple" decided to take the time and correct those making their assumptions. We disclosed our secret to them, and they played along. Before we left the Lingering Garden, "the couple," my cousin, and I confirmed our couple-ness to the onlookers at the Moon Gate.

linggarden4.jpg


Suzhou holds the apt nickname of "The Oriental Venice." Our group cruised through the canal while we instead opted to walk around the city.

suzhou1.jpg

suzhou3.jpg

suzhou2.jpg

Don't ask:

suzhou.jpg

Suzhou projected this interesting dichotomy of care and neglect. Through our walk, we followed the busted sidewalks and walkways onto a well-preserved "Oriental Venice" bridge. I gazed at the barred windows upon bruised buildings when, just across the street, we found freshly-painted butterscotch walls. Through its archway: a neat, symmetrical courtyard. Inside, delicate hums offered this space a serene sense of peace.

suzhou7.jpg

Again, don't ask:

suzhou9.jpeg

This level of symmetry is utterly awe-inspiring:

suzhou4.jpeg


You've never awkwardly laughed until you and your cousin are stuck in an elevator with a stranger who, completely unsolicited, states: "I bet you're gonna give it to her real good tonight." And then nods at your cousin.

I recall replying: "Yeah...that's gonna happen all right. Just like that. Yeah..."


Wuxi

Speaking of bedroom matters, we ate lunch prior to visiting the Grand Buddha. Large jars filled with coiled snake carcasses and a faint amber liquid lined the entrance of the restaurant. An older Chinese gentleman, as he was leaving, tapped me on the shoulder. "This is good," he said as he pointed to a jar while making a muscle. "Makes you strong." This guy, this random stranger elongated and put a suggestive emphasis on the word strong. He smirked and nodded toward my cousin.

Some "couples" just have that visible connection.

It's like we're family.

A few more steps into the restaurant, a woman pointed to another jar and said to my cousin, "Keeps you beautiful. Your skin, your hair. Very Nice. You see the seahorse?"

snakewine3.jpg

Chinese medicine suggests that snake wine, indeed, offers many benefits including virility. Snake wine is made with rice wine and snakes as its primary components. Other ingredients include herbs, ginseng, geckos, and seahorses. Snake venom holds the most beneficial properties in snake wine after it's denatured. I could not, however, confirm if these particular snakes were venomous; nevertheless, I took a shot. My cousin and a friend we met during our trip joined me. You can see the video here on LBRY.

snakewine2.jpg


Back in high school, an old girlfriend introduced me to Eastern philosophy by giving me the book Tao Te Ching. In college, a friend showed me the work of Alan Watts. Yoga and meditation became a part of my life for some time. Although the Lingshan Grand Buddha felt touristy in some respect, it was still quite remarkable.

grandbud10.jpeg

grandbud7.jpg

grandbud8.jpg

grandbud.jpeg

grandbud3.jpeg

grandbud9.jpg

grandbud11.jpg

grandbud6.jpeg

grandbu.jpg


In Part 1 of my China trip, I mentioned that many Chinese individuals, in a clandestine manner, snapped photos of my cousin and me. Here, at the Grand Buddha, a lovely couple approached me and asked me if I would join them in a picture. I obliged, of course; however, I also requested my own photo with them. The gentleman initially said no! I cajoled him and shortly thereafter, his wife joined in on the persuasion. He smirked and finally agreed. After all that effort, I blinked in the picture.

grandbud10.jpg


We found this area by sheer happenstance.

Quiet and out of the way.

Divine.

grandbu1.jpg

grandbud14.jpg

grandbu2.jpg


Thank you so much for following us through Wuxi and Suzhou!

Farewell with these budding flowers:

grandbu3.jpeg

Yellow cherry blossoms, I think. Maybe?^


Also, my cousin and I confessed to our group that we are, in fact, cousins. Find out the ridiculous aftermath in Part III below.

Next stop: Shanghai!

suzhou6.jpeg

View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello, this is an auto bot.

Your post has been flagged as CCP propaganda by our moderation algorithm.

#freehongkong

If you would like to support our project, please upvote!

@christosthegreek, I would kindly ask you to reconsider how your moderation algorithm assesses content.

Hello, this is an auto bot.

Your post has been flagged as CCP propaganda by our moderation algorithm.

#freehongkong

If you would like to support our project, please upvote!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #832.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @andrewfleming! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!