Exploring Bali: Ubud

in #travel7 years ago

The most spiritual land on Bali is located essentially in the heart of the island. About 1-2 hours drive from Denpasar, where Bali's international airport is located on the south end of the island, you find a dense land of jungle including temples, art markets, lavish resorts, and even a monkey forest. After arriving to Bali my first time, I stayed a short time in Kuta and then headed straight for Ubud. We took an uber here and the entire ride which was over an hour, only cost equivalent to roughly 9 USD. We arrived to our resort, Wapa di Ume, which turned out to be the nicest resort I have ever stayed at. We received delicious coconut welcome drinks along with cold towels upon arriving. Here I am poolside at the infinity pool shortly after our arrival.

IMG_8416.JPG

A short shuttle ride, provided by Wapa di Ume, brought us into the center of town. On this day we chose to explore one of Ubud's temples.

IMG_8392.JPG

IMG_8390.JPG

IMG_8391.JPG

Our room, the Lanai room, was amazing and the hospitality provided was the best I have ever experienced. We were provided with housekeeping service twice a day in addition to a "turn down" service in the afternoon where they prepared our bed for sleep along with some afternoon tea and fresh fruit. Flowers were arranged on the bed each morning and the bathtub received new petals.

IMG_8396.JPG

Room service was available anytime so we ordered quite often and it would be brought directly to our room and set up either in our room or on our patio.

IMG_8407.JPG

I really enjoyed the daily bundle of baby bananas as you can see.

IMG_8382.JPG

Here I am tanning at the infinity pool again enjoying my view.

IMG_8418.JPG

My strawberry mango cocktail was too good, I couldn't have just one. I sipped this while reading my book called 'You Can Find Inner Peace'. Seemed fitting as our time here was meant to be a relaxed, meditation type experience.

IMG_8421.JPG

I spent a lot of time swimming in the pool. I wasn't quite used to the humidity here yet so the pool cooled me off perfectly.

IMG_8371.JPG

IMG_8375.JPG

We also did a morning yoga class which lasted 1 hour and was one of the most calming and relaxing activities I have ever done. Later on, we enjoyed a 1 hour full body massage which definitely topped the yoga class in relaxation. Overall, Ubud was such a calming and relaxing getaway and I definitely would like to return someday.

Sort:  

tropical island. ahhhh! did you go to that resto where they accept whatever amount you want to donate?