Barefoot Trail in Latvia - Baskāju taka - My Travel Diaries #1

in #travel7 years ago

Sure my name is @baliflicker because Bali became one of my favorite places in the world, but as I already mentioned in one of my first blog posts here on Steemit, I am basically sitting in a plane every other week. And I wanna share my travel impressions and experiences with you.

Untitled design.jpg

So let's get started with

LATVIA

FullSizeRender.jpg-1-1.jpeg

Latvia is a comparable small country in Eastern Europe. I have been there several times, mostly at the airport in Riga, I have to admit, because it is one of my main transfer airports. Last summer, I spent two weeks in this beautiful country.

What I remember is not only these cute bus tickets that they have in the capital Riga ;) there are plenty of beaches where you can surf. The downtown area of Riga is a mix of culture and trendy places. Many bars and restaurants, but also historical monuments.

The thing I remember the most, is the so called barefoot trail (in Latvian: Baskāju taka) , where you can hike without shoes.
It was a fun experience. You have to walk over sticks and stones, sometimes mud :D climb over trees and you can cool down your feet in the small river on the trail.
I have to admit some parts were almost painful, when you are not used to walk without your shoes.

Bottom line: we should all walk without shoes more!

02446329-6342-45CB-95E8-8D2A6AE6C14F.JPG

At the end of the barefoot hiking trail, you can stop by at this place where you get a warm flower bath for your feet and a nice herbal tea to relax after an inspring barefoot walk.

If you ever stop by in Latvia, make sure to visit the Baskāju taka , also called
THE PARK OF SENSES

You can find more info on their website


Happy traveling!

@baliflicker

Sort:  

This is nice.
Actually, the adventure park that you visited is one of my favourite places in Valmiera.
sajūtu parks
How did you like Gaujas Stāvie krasti ?

gaujas stāvie krasti

Happy traveling...! and thank you for searing ..!

cool post, keep them coming (-:

Just taking this opportunity to say "THANK YOU FOR FOLLOWING ME"

I'm not gonna lie, that barefoot trail sounds like the stuff of my nightmares! (I hate walking barefoot, especially over squishy/slimy stuff).

However, that flower bath plus herbal tea looks super lovely and relaxing... the sour and the sweet, I guess: one appreciates the reward much more after some struggle/discomfort. Thanks for sharing, @baliflicker!