Travel Photography - Greece

in #travel6 years ago

DSC01399.JPG
I traveled to Greece in the off-season. Most of the small islands were not easily accessible and much of their tourist infrastructure was closed. As a result my travels partners and I spent all of our time on Crete and the mainland. I'm glad this was how things went down because Crete became one of my favorite places and we had a ton of time to explore the island. Here are some of my favorite pics from the trip.

The Acropolis of Athens: The birthplace of democracy
In (roughly) the center of Athens is the Acropolis. It is the #1 tourist attraction in Athens and a must see. The Acropolis museum is great as well.
arc2.JPG

arc1.JPG

arc3.JPG

Approaching Crete at dawn:
Take the overnight ferry from Athens to Crete and save yourself tons of time
approach.JPG

The northern coast of Crete and a lunch break:
coast.JPG

coast2.JPG

lunch2.JPG

oj.JPG

lunch.JPG

Various art:
art1.JPG

art2.JPG

art3.JPG

art4.JPG

art5.JPG

The Phaistos Disc, a mysterious relic:
phaistos disc.JPG

Hiking on Crete:
Crete is covered in gorges. The largest one was closed but we hiked the 2nd largest gorge. A truly amazing and challenging hike.
hike.JPG

hike2.JPG

Ancient Minoan ruins:
mino.JPG

mino2.JPG

mino3.JPG

Meteora:
Rarely am I as awestruck as I was when I gazed upon this region. Monks escaping persecution fled to this region and built their monasteries atop the giant protruding rock masses that dot the landscape. Do not skip Meteora when you visit Greece...the train ride alone from Athens will be enough to take your breath away as your train zips along steep cliff ledges.
DSC01418.JPG

DSC01419.JPG

DSC01399.JPG

DSC01413.JPG

DSC01366.JPG

DSC01423.JPG

DSC01380.JPG

Thanks for looking. Don't skip Crete on your trip to Greece!

My Iceland pics: https://steemit.com/photography/@big-lou/travel-photography-iceland
My Turkey pics: https://steemit.com/travel/@big-lou/travel-photography-turkey
Follow me on Twitch and catch my next Stream:

Sort:  

Thanks for posting. I really enjoyed looking at your pictures.

Great photo and amazing trip! :D

another place in my sights... you know there are many who believe the disc is a hoax... I personally don't think so, because I don't see the motivation behind the hoax... it would not be the only thing to survive from the bronze age, but it is interesting to read about it..

Yeah def no motivation I can think of either. It's crazy how little we know about the Minoans too. It's fun to walk among the ruins and think about their olive oil empire.

We know they were absolutely taurable.

Really great photos! I'm dying to go to Meteora! And while there definitely are some smaller islands open in the winter, I think you made a good choice with Crete, some of the best food in all of Greece plus a very unique culture!

Yes, Crete has been my favorite food destination in all of my travels thus far.

You sounded like a Cretin to me! ;)

Meteora

Wait that's a real thing??

Just simply amazing photo's of your Greece Trip! I want to go there now!
like01

I read some things about Greece and Athens during my secondary school days. This pics bring back memories

Holy crud these pictures are amazing! I visited Ikaria in 2016 and was blown away but didn’t get the opportunity to visit the rest of the country. Now wishing I did.

Well you'll have to go back!

Wonderful picture really done my friend

Wow greece looks really very beautiful and cool place...ua lucky to experience with natures beauty ,,,,hope i can visit that place one day ...btw thanks alot for sharing @big-lou

Guess you had a nice time in Greece.

Beautiful photo,,,,

Wow..beautiful

scenery and tempat very beautiful

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by big-lou from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

A good and wonderful place to be.
Someday wishes will come through, because I have been wishing to get there someday.
nice update

Ωραίες φωτογραφίες! Ωραία Ταξίδια!
Πώς και δεν έκανες ξεχωριστό ποστ για το καθε ένα;
Υπάρχει και το SteemitWorldMap στο οποίο μπορείς να βάλεις φωτογραφίες από τοποθεσίες.
Καλή Συνέχεια !

Beautiful.

That is true beauty , I would love to visit Greece soon.

Sometimes ago I read about greece, the birthplace of democracy,and all I read,got me really interested in wanting to go there to see for my self.greek was once the language of the educated.there were lots of scholars over there.scholars like Aristotle, Euripides. The thrax and so on.even in their movies,they potrayed their greatness ...I think I would have to visit greece also to see for my self..I must give credit to you for these post and pictures.