Singkawang, City of Thousand Temples

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Welcome fellow steemer

As I promised on my first post, today I will be sharing with you guys about my hometown.

Singkawang, also known as the "City of Thousand Temples", is located on the west of Kalimantan/Borneo island; the third largest island in the world and the largest in Asia. In order to get there,  you can take 1.5 hours flight from Jakarta, followed by 3 hours car ride. Yes, it's pretty secluded.

Around 70% of the whole population are Chinese descents that are called "Hakka People". The rest are "Melayu", "Dayak", "Javanese" and other ethnicities. That alone gives the reason why there are many temples in the city and its surrounding. Nearly every god and goddess in Chinese Mythology are worshiped here.

Every year on the 15th day of Chinese new year people from around the country come to attend this massive festival called "Cap Go Meh". The main spotlight of the day is "Tatung". It's a ritual where the god/goddess posses the human body which grant them a momentarily invulnerability.


This guy is actually standing on top of sharp blades which would cut through human skin easily


That's one damn big tree branch piercing through the cheek. No Magic Trick!! If you ever visit the festival, you can witness the moment they pierce it. Just be ready to get your jaw dropped. And no they don't feel pain. The wound would heal up very fast too. They don't even remember what happened.

In term of tourist attraction, there are many newly built places.
For example "Rindu Alam"

"Tanjung Bajau"

"Sinka Zoo"
and many more..

Now let's talk about my favorite thing. FOOD..!! Singkawang's food is pretty well known especially among the Chinese in Indonesia. It must be in your "Must Eat List" if you ever visit Singkawang.

One of my favorite is the "Nasi Campur". It means mixed rice. It consist of Rice, Roasted Pork, Chinese Sausage, Char Siew(BBQed Pork), Braised Chicken and Egg.

Next one is "Jam Mien". It's a noodle dish topped with Prawn, Char Siew, Braised Pork and Prawn Cake. Yummy!

Another one is "Choi Pan". I can't explain this dish well. It consist of Skin Wrap made from flour, stuffed with Fried Yam and dried prawn, topped with fried garlic. I love this. I can eat 30 pieces alone

There are many more amazing dishes I can't mention all. But if you are interested just hit me up. I will share with you more about it

So, how do you guys think about my hometown? Pretty amazing right? I'm pretty proud of it. Lol.

If you miss my first introduction post, Click here. It's about my life story and a dedication for my mom as well.

If you like my post, please Upvote and Resteem it to share with your friends. Do Follow me for more interesting topic. Sorry for the long post. Enjoy your day fellow Steemer. Cheers.

Sort:  

Awesome pictures brother! Loving it. Those lions are crazy :D

Welcome to Steemit :) Work hard, keep up the quality, and engage with as many people as possible.

I gave you a follow. Talk soon.

Yeah.. It feels like you are in Africa.. Hahaha.. Thanks for checking out the post.. Cheers..

Haha what makes you feel that? :D

saw it in discovery channel.. something like you are in a cage surrounded by the lions.. lol..

Lovely :D Does it look like I am surrounded by lions in my content? :D

Really cool article and food looks amazing!

It doesn't just looks amazing.. It taste amazing as well.. Hahaha..