New Zealand #16 - Ohope Beach, Rotorua and a Maori Village - North Island

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Based on our previous can't-find-lunch-anywhere drive in this area of North Island we buy sandwiches at a grocery as a backup before leaving Gisborne. The weather is uncharacteristically warm, 24 Celsius, and sunny, for most of the day.

IMG_8905.JPG

Entrance to Tamaki Maori Village.

Driving out we see numerous windbreaks with very large trees, unidentified, around the four sides of small fruit tree orchards, maybe an acre or so in size, possibly apples but other fruit as well, a very interesting way to plant and protect fruit trees from the strong winds coming off the sea.

IMG_8873.JPG

Relaxing on the verandah of our very nice motel at Ohope Beach...

IMG_2631.JPG

...with this view on to the Bay of Plenty...

IMG_8875.JPG

...and this one as well.

We find flat whites at the Hard Drive Café in Matawai but nothing else, and find out the local history, once prosperous with railway and road construction, but now almost a ghost town. Next we travel through the magnificent Waioeke Gorge, the river taking us right down to the sea at Opotiki. We drive along the Bay of Plenty then swing inland and then out onto a peninsula to our next overnight, Ohope Beach, a great unit right by the beach with no caravans in front to spoil the view at this time of year, probably the best location and unit thus far.

IMG_2618.JPG

For the first time in New Zealand we actually walk on a beach in reasonable weather, looking out to the volcano remnant Whale Island...

IMG_8881.JPG

...and return on the lagoon side of the peninsula where there is a sheltered anchorage. This is another wonderful spot that we could have spent more time exploring and chilling - maybe next visit!

IMG_8893.JPG

Kuirau Park thermal springs

No surprise there is some rain overnight, and clouds for our very short drive over low mountains again, the last remnant of the higher mountains we first saw on South Island. Our caravan park in Rotorua has a nice pool and mineral baths, which are warm and very relaxing as we spend most of the day chilling and catching up with laundry.

IMG_8887.JPG

The next day we take a short walk to Kuirau Park thermal springs, a free city park which has the smell of sulphur, with many pools of various sizes spewing steam and in some cases bubbling mud.

IMG_8900.JPG

On returning to the caravan park we use the mineral baths again, then actually get some sun by the pool, a rare opportunity thus far in New Zealand.

IMG_2636.JPG

Entrance to the village - you can just see the trumpeter announcing the arrival of our tribe.

There are several 'authentic Maori experiences' advertised but based on reviews and program we select Tamaki Maori Village. We are picked up at 6:25 right outside our park in a small van and are taken to their offices, which I think is a bit inefficient but it's actually quite well-organized and useful. We get tickets indicating our bus number, driver, and table number, but more importantly are given handouts, available in several languages, that explain what we are going to see and how to react.

IMG_8904.JPG

A very good model of a village at the tour office.

The drive to Tamaki is very short but our driver adds some information and teaches us a few Maori words. En route we have to select a Chief for our bus, and eventually a young woman volunteers her husband. We later learn they are Portuguese, from Porto, so we converse a bit about our winters in the Algarve.

IMG_2679.JPG

It is evening of course, and the lighting among the tall trees is very dramatic.

The entire Maori cultural experience is fascinating: the warrior’s arriving by canoe to challenge our Chief, and when it is clear we come in peace the Hongi greeting; various small ‘houses’ where different things are explained, like training young warriors, weaving flax, and the Haka, where all the men participate.

IMG_2649.JPG

Training young warriors with the short spear, the branches on the ground used to teach footwork and improve agility...

IMG_2653.JPG

brightonbonnie with our favourite young Maori - a very frightening man had we not known what to expect...

IMG_2660.JPG

...men learning the Haka - that's me second from the right! I think you'll agree I was the best student!

IMG_8916.JPG

We then see our meal, the Hangi, taken out of a large pit in the ground where it has been cooking for about 4 hours...

IMG_2693.JPG

...and from there go into a theatre to be entertained with traditional dances and singing, which gives the dining staff time to prepare the meal. When we sit at our designated table we meet a young couple from Sydney with a young boy and girl who we noticed in our group during the tour of the houses, and another couple, the man being one of The Beards, an Australian band on their farewell tour, and have a wonderful conversation with all of them, who are very interested in our 2 month roadtrip through Oz. The meal is very good, chicken and lamb (which brightonbonnie eats!); fish and oysters; potato, kumara (sweet potato, a Kiwi favourite, which I love) and carrot; stuffing; salad; and brown pudding with white sauce and Pavlova (invented in New Zealand - who knew) – which brightonbonnie has been dying to have! All in all a wonderful experience!

IMG_8920.JPG

There's a lot more to do in the Rotorua area, for example other thermal springs which are an hour or so distant, so we add this area to our rapidly expanding list of places we want to visit again!

PS - if you've enjoyed this post please check out my first 15 New Zealand posts, the previous 19 posts in my Australia series, and the 3 before that as we started our 90 day roadtrip in Tahiti!

And please join us in my next post as we visit Hobbiton. Are you ready @ewkaw?

read me!

You can find this, and other exciting adventures from some great travelling Steemians at Steemit Worldmap (I just stole this line from @shellyduncan so thanks to her for a great way to publicize a great travelers tool):

!steemitworldmap -38.150803 lat 176.244817 long Rotorua New Zealand d3scr

Sort:  

Next one?? Really?? :D :D
Let me just get my popcorn ready!

(the previous post I commented disappeared :p)

Finally my friend! Due to these posting issues with steemit I ended up posting twice, so deleted the text of the first one which (sad to say) had some typos!

Yea I figured... but hey! Hobbiton is coming! Yayyyy :D
I will have to watch the trilogy again.

Maybe tomorrow... maybe day after...

I'll wait :)

Great post! Seems like you got the hang of the Haka pretty quickly :)

Thanks for feedback. Haka was pretty cool - my age and experience beat out youth and enthusiasm I think! If you are heading for Tahiti, Oz or NZ on your travels take a look at my other posts - easiest way to find them is on Steemit Worldmap. Following you now.

It is awesome! I wish to come one day to New Zeland
Thank you for sharing!
The journey is what brings us happiness not the destination
I you like to read about travels and crazy life please welcome @annamur

Thanks for feedback. Left a suggestion on one of your recent posts. Following you now.

Great post! I love it 😊

Thanks for feedback. Following you now. Posted a query on your Vinpearl post from a couple of weeks back about Viet Nam.

I went to a Maori village at Rotorua as well back in July, but yours looks like much more fun! Look forward to your Hobbiton post to compare notes :)

I saw your Hobbiton post when I started following you off travel digest, and was disappointed you got yours up before I posted mine lol! But we will have different perspectives I think. Let me know what you think!

But your post will get into the map, mine won't 😕

Okay. I changed my mind. Again. I want to visit New Zealand first!

I hope my Aussie friends don't get upset but if I was forced to pick I'd do NZ then Oz!

Wonderful posts, it's getting better each one you post!

Thanks Isabel, having a lot of fun doing them - what was that Portuguese phrase you mentioned? 'To remember is to re-live' I think, but I can't find the old post with that, in Portuguese and English - can you remind me?

Hi Greg, you're much welcome!

Should it be this one?
https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/childhood-imaginary-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-new-week

Or this one?
https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/never-go-back-to-a-place-where-you-once-were-happy-an-inspirational-post-for-your-weekend

Regarding the phrase itself, it´s an old portuguese saying: recordar é viver (a good kick off for a future post ;)...

Cheers!

Thanks - and that's what I have in mind! A last post to sum up what we learned on our roadtrip...

That's a great idea, indeed, Greg. Looking forward to reading it :))

Hahaha... You do the Haka real well! I would love to visit Rotorua.... That's probably the first New Zealand town I heard of as a kid! :D
Yayyyy, Hobbiton here we come.... :D :D

Hope one I will visit New Zeland and see something like that. Nice post!

You can get a work visa there too!

True but because of my age I am not allowed anymore to have a working holiday visa. I should go with a tourist visa.

Didn't realize that - probably because I'm really old!

Australia and New Zeland governments allow people to have working holiday visa within 31 years old. The Canadian one even allows within 35 years old.

Well there's my wife's plan to work as a winery guide finished off - lol!

I think you got to see th best Maori Experience for sure I have bene to a few of them and this one was th e best in my MInd, you really got into the haka

I guess you also noticed the smell early on as you drive into Rotorua,

Its one of my favorite places to visit when I get back to NZ

It was great fun! How are you doing?

Doing Ok finger is better as long as I dont bump it LOL, wont be on much the next couple of days after a small procedure but then will be back to my normal crazy self

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Congrats of getting another one featured @brightongreg!

Thanks for including me! Busy weekend, got to catch up with the digest. How is our leader doing in Lisbon (are we there yet...)?

They had nearly reached Portugal a couple of hours ago. Another vlog is coming too apparently.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=brightongreg
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=new-zealand-16-ohope-beach-rotorua-and-a-maori-village-north-island


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here