New Zealand #17 - Hobbiton - North Island

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

In South Island we saw several Lord of the Rings settings, like Glenorchy north of Queenstown, what I called the land of the orcs, and the Crown Range between Arrowton and Wanaka, on the way to Haast on the west coast. You can check out those early posts in this series if you want to see the landscapes (the easiest way to find them is on #steemitworldmap). Much of the filming however was done in Wellington and in Hobbiton, about an hour south of Auckland.

IMG_8951.JPG

Our son is a massive LOTR fan, and now he's got his nieces involved; we also really enjoyed the films so I had to arrange our roadtrip itinerary to visit the Hobbiton set near the town of Matamata. But this post is also for @ewkaw, who has been patiently waiting since I started my NZ series several weeks ago!

IMG_8928.JPG

It is 20 Celsius and sunny all day, one of our best weather days in New Zealand so perfect for an outdoor tour. We have a very pleasant 1 hour drive to Hobbiton, surprising brightonbonnie who is sometimes geographically-unaware and does not realize it is on our agenda for today!

We are able to change our pre-booked tour time from 1 pm to noon, then kill 90 minutes at the gift shop before having lunch at Shire Rest, lamb burger for me and a normal burger for brightonbonnie. The prices aren't outrageous as is often the case at tourist attractions, and the food is not bad.

IMG_8921.JPG

Looking from Shire Rest towards the set, hidden behind the hills.

On the short bus ride in the driver tells us that New Zealand Army Engineers built the road, the cover story being a training exercise - until the soldiers were given a night off and in a pub in Matamata, after a few beers, the real story came out. Go figure @tattoodjay! The next day the press were all over the site, including helicopters - the government actually had to declare a no-fly zone and a couple of pilots were charged!

The site was partially demolished after LOTR but was rebuilt for the Hobbit follow-on. It is very impressive, with nice touches like worked vegetable plots, hung laundry, and smoke coming from chimneys. The big challenge for me was to get the shots I wanted without people in them - there were about 30 people in our group, and even though the tours were well spread out you could usually see the tour ahead of you, or the one behind. See if you can spot the people in the next few shots...

IMG_8923.JPG

IMG_8927.JPG

IMG_8930.JPG

IMG_8931.JPG

IMG_8935.JPG

Our excellent guide, Sam. I ask if all the guides are named Sam, and he says 'No' - I'm not sure I believe him!

IMG_8948.JPG

The leaves on the tree are artificial. Peter Jackson didn't like the original paint used, and had all the leaves redone. Sam said he was a stickler for detail - I think it might have been a statement - 'my vision, I'm in charge!'. Next time I meet Sir Peter I'll ask him.

The Hobbit holes are virtually all solely for exterior shots, with all the interior work being done in Wellington. About 5 of the holes have working doors and a small room inside, just big enough, and empty, so scenes can be filmed looking outside past the door! Some holes are also different heights, to accommodate the different actors, as you can see in these two shots.

IMG_2765.JPG

IMG_2756.JPG

Along the way we see some of the main attractions like the party tree...

IMG_2759.JPG

...and are invited to play, but we pass as beer awaits us...

IMG_8955.JPG

IMG_8964.JPG

...one glass included in the tour cost at the inn, and not bad on a hot day.

IMG_8952.JPG

At the gift shop before lunch we bought a copy of this sign from the entrance to Balbo Boggins’ house for our son, and also - again for him - a very nice coffee table book describing all the LOTR filming locations in New Zealand - a must-have if you are a serious fan traveling in NZ!

IMG_2738.JPG

One last look before we leave a very well organized tour, and a fun time.

IMG_8943.JPG

PS - if you've enjoyed this post please check out my first 16 New Zealand posts, the previous 19 posts in my Australia series, and the 3 before that as we started our 90 day roadtrip in Tahiti!

And please join us in my next post as we stop in Waihi Beach on our way further north.

read me!

You can find this, and other exciting adventures from some great travelling Steemians at Steemit Worldmap (I just stole this line from @shellyduncan so thanks to her for a great way to publicize a great travelers tool):

!steemitworldmap -37.873666 lat 175.684532 long Hobbiton New Zealand d3scr

Sort:  

I love it !!! LORD is an amazing place. You got a great post there I wish to find you before so I could put my upvote there. I hope you will be still posting because I looking forward for more @dorotea

Will probably start again catching up on our roadtrip in Portugal, but not sure when lol...

I love LOTR so much! but can't guess when I will make it to New Zealand. When I do, that will be where I stay the whole time!!

You should also visit some of the locations if you can - problem is they are spread out everywhere, mostly South Island but some North too. The studios in Wellington are supposed to be worth a visit but we didn't do them. Good luck!

Such fun photos! I love it! Great info about Hobbiton, too!

Thanks Melinda - haven't connected for a while, how are you?

I'm mostly ok. I came looking for you because it has been a while and I missed you!

Glad you did, me too!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=brightongreg
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=new-zealand-17-hobbiton-north-island


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I'm going to geek out whenever I make it to New Zealand next year.

If you can't find the answer in my posts to any NZ travel questions you have give me a shout.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Nice article on the set. NZ is on my bucket list - problem is that it's a big bucket with lots of other things on it that arent 24 hours on a plane away :D

We were like that too but as you get older the bucket gets smaller and smaller...

Oh im getting older but the bucket doesnt seem to be getting smaller :D

Awesome! Would love to visit the LOTR scenery one day

Awesome post such a cool place and trust the army Yo let it slip in a pub lol

I thought you must have missed it as there's no way you would have let that army story pass. lol too funny!

Very true have been a bit slack in keeping up with posts on here

Gosh it wouldbe awesome to get there

Glad you liked it!

Congratulations @brightongreg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is very cool. I would definitely visit this place if I ever get back to NZ.

Glad you like it!

Oh!!
Oh!!

starts clapping and jumping around

Just like in the movie!! With the lake where the firework dragon was flying... and the big tree... and the mail box and all!

And of course they are all called Sam! Don't believe him ;)

Too funny! Of course the way the tour groups were separated by about 15 to 20 minutes you never got to see the other guides, so I think we are right...

haha yea! They just will not admit it ;)

Lol... I feel your excitement, @ewkaw!!! 😆
We would want to test out all the doors and gates and walk paths and... and.....
Lol... I'm sure they found all the Sams in NZ and got them all there in Hobbiton... errr... didn't they??

Yea! and climb on all the hills, check the rivers and trees :D
And all Sams are guides... it is so obvious!

WAAAOOOO!!! excelentes fotografías, recordé la película de inmediato. No pensé que existían de verdad.

Gracias, me alegro de que les hayan gustado, ¡son realmente reales! ¡Y así es que Google traduce lo contrario, no podría comunicarme contigo!

jejeje... lo dijo muy bien... Thank you!!!

Oh these are such awesome pictures!! Thank you for sharing. I would love to visit here one day. On my bucket list!

Just a dream going there!

But you have plans right?

I do! Xmas 2018, if all the odds are favorable! And my son (and I) is Lord of the Rings fan!

And remember if you need any advice just ask!

I will, thanks, dear Greg!

You're so lucky, Hobbiton was the only day that was raining throughout the entire time we were at NZ. But since I'm not a LOTR fan (never watched a minute of it) I wasn't that upset other than the fact the rain was a bit annoying.

I know what you mean about trying to avoid people in your photos, you've done a great jib of that.

And for us this was one of the few days it wasn't raining at least part of the time lol!

always nice to read your posts!

Thanks for the feedback!