Best Vacationing Spot in New England? CAPE COD!

in #travel7 years ago

Hey Guys how's it going today ?


I really enjoy sharing experiences here on Steemit. 2 Summers ago I decided to show my girlfriend Annie my former home, Boston, Massachusetts. I lived there for about 7 years when I was younger, before moving to Berlin. I still feel very connected to the City as I am a huge New England Patriots, Boston Red Sox and Boston Celtics fan and still have very good friends living there I try to visit as much as possible.

To really know me, and to know what I'm all about i felt like I had to show Annie this former part of my life, since it shaped and influenced the way I am today immensely. Heres are a small selection of pictures we took, in chronological trip order which I'll be commentating along the way.

Enjoy.

I had arrived in Boston a week prior to Annie, so I could have some quality time with my friends without her feeling like a third wheel. Once she arrived, we headed straight for Cape Cod.

Incase you're wondering, Cape Cod aka as "The Cape" is a peninsula on the coast of Massachusetts and a very popular vacation retreat for many New Englanders.

These first 2 pictures are of the Motel we have been staying at in Cape Cod every time we went to visit for the past 20 years. I was 4 years old when at the time of our first trip and my parents were looking for a cheap motel. They found the "Coachman Motor Lodge" and by coincidence the owner of the Motel, a really nice lady named Helga was also German! She runs her Motel during the Summer and stays in Florida during the winter. Through this coincidence a 20 year long friendship came to life. The Motel is nothing special, but the price is good, the rooms are clean, the atmosphere is wonderful and it has a pool :) What else do you really need ?

IMG_6184 (2).jpg

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-22 um 10.48.03.png

We were treated to a classic American breakfast during the morning, YUM!

IMG_6191 (3).jpg

And we do love to fool around :D

IMG_6299 (1).jpg


On the first day, right after breakfast we headed to Provincetown, which is right a the tip of the shoe shaped peninsula. From there we took out a boat to go whale watching.
IMG_6272.jpg

IMG_6267.jpg

Whales waving to us saying hi!

IMG_6284 (1).jpg

IMG_6276.jpg

IMG_6283.jpg


The Summer Baseball League is hosted in Cape Cod every summer, consisting of about 12 teams. There are games every night, in all the towns all across the island. College players take advantage of this opportunity to stay in shape, and a few future MLB players have actually played here. Anyone can watch the games for free and it's a wonderful familiar atmosphere representing Americas pastime.

IMG_6317 (2).jpg

IMG_6316 (2).jpg


When visiting the Cape, I highly recommend you play a round if mini golf on one of the beautiful numerous courses!

IMG_6193.jpg

IMG_6195.jpg

Going kayaking!

IMG_6218 (1).jpg


To cap off the Cape, a few scenic shots showing the beauty of this place:

IMG_6592 (1).jpg

IMG_6332 (1).jpg

IMG_6536 (1).jpg

IMG_6538 (1).jpg

IMG_6535 (1).jpg

IMG_6225.jpg

And at last, a good ole' Sam Adams at the beach :)

IMG_6223 (3).jpg

I could make these posts about a 2 hour read, but I realise most of you don't have that kind of time of your hands, so I've decided to keep this one short. This was only one part of our trip and I will be sharing the rest in the next couple of days!

I hope you enjoyed it and I hope that visiting Cape Cod is now a consideration of yours-it's worth it!

Keep Calm and Steem On!

All the Best,

Chris

Sort:  

You seemed to have great vacations. And thanks for not making it a 2 hour read, I liked the pictures.
I'm soon on holidays too :D

Feel free to check my last post, maybe you’ll like it! <3

Really nice bro, just followed. You have some skills...I just recently started playing the guitar using Yousician, a really good app to learn. And Im also into DIABLO! Those things are so much fun but somehow they're not very popular, at least here in Germany

Great, so let's keep in touch as we have some kind of shared passion. =)
I came in Berlin 2 years ago, and I met a lot of musicians in the streets (as I was doing street music/juggling). I think in Germany it's still a bit underground, but it's getting more and more popular. :D