Singapore, Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemians.

I didn't had a lot of time to be active on Steemit in the last days because I'm working hard to be ready on the 10th of september for my year long travel. But, there's something I want to share with all of you . Two years ago, I went on a trip to Singapore, Indonesia, Vietnam and Thailand. I've been away for 5 weeks so you can guess it was a lot of travel and, to my taste, not enough time to slow down and enjoy the good vibes. Anyway, here's some picture I took and some toughts on the different countries.

Singapore
I've only been 3 days to Singapore but it was enough. My wallet wouldn't have survived more time. Of course I was amazed by the story of the country. Such a impressive growth in a small time. The city itself felt really rich and exceptionnally clean. It's not really surprising when you can get a 500$ fine for littering.

20150509_162311.jpg
*The Marina Bay Sands hotel or like our cab driver likes to call it, the ''Banana Spaceship''.

Indonesia
My trip in Indonesia is limited to Bali, Gili Trawangan and Lombok. It felt like a different world. People are not stressed with anything. Even if most of them live with less than 2$ per day, they seem to have found their way to happiness. I really enjoyed my time in Indonesia.

20150514_062619.jpg
The view on top of The Mount Bathur at sunrise after a hike in the middle of the night.

20150514_065318.jpg
The crater of Mount Bathur wich is a volcano.

I did some hiking, some surf and a lot of sightseeing.

20150520_140355.jpg
My favorite mode of transportation.

Vietnam
We mainly went to Vietnam for the Ha Long Bay. We stayed only 9 days in the country. For me, it was way to short and I plan to go back at least once in my life.

20150528_154146.jpg
We went on a cruise around the Ha Long Bay on a party boat

2015-05-29 09.46.32.jpg
Me in Ha Long Bay

Thailand
My favorite country was definately Thailand. From the beaches of the south to the mountain and quietness of the north, it was love at first sight for me. We had a blast at the full moon party on the 2nd of June 2015.

20150601_150834.jpg
On the ferry to Koh Phangan.

My favorite place was Paih, a quiet small town north of Chiang Mai. I don't exactly know why but I could have stayed there for a lifetime.

20150612_135740.jpg
Paih Canyon

I went on this 5 weeks trip with 5 awesome person. It really love them but at some point, I think it was a too big group. I can't wait to see the difference with my upcoming solo trip.

FB_IMG_1431371656270.jpg
The crew in Bali

This is just a small picture resume of my past experiences. Would you follow me in my upcoming journey ? I want to post 2 to 3 times a week when I'll be in Central and South America. Mostly pictures and small stories.

Have a nice day fellow Steemians.

If you want to know about my upcoming trip.
https://steemit.com/travel/@carltheexplorer/carl-the-explorer-1-the-beggining

Sort:  

That's a lot of countries in 5 weeks! I agree with you!
I wish you'll prepare well and ready for the next vagabond you have! That would be an amazing experience, I did something like that before too.

I will definately be prepared. I leave in september I can't wait. Thank you for your comment :)

Hi Carl the Explorer,

Your travel blog is really good!

Thanks :)

WOW, nice post, I liked a lot, good shots too :D

I'll be interested to read about your upcoming trip. Especially your experiences with group vs. solo traveling.

I did a 2-year trip and most of it was solo, but I had individual family members meet me for legs of the Europen part of my trip. Of course, I love my family, but I was pretty relieved when everyone left and I was back to traveling solo.

South America is going to be dope! Do you speak any Spanish yet? I took Spanish for 3 months in Guatemala before I went to a few other countries further south.

Thanks for your comment :) I know some basis in Spanish and I can make myself understandable ! But I'll be working at a friends hostel in Nicaragua as a volunteer for the first month so I'll have time to catch up before I leave alone !

Nice! I didn't visit Nicaragua so I'll be looking forward to your posts about it.

Now is the hardest part of the trip. Waiting for it to start :) Good luck!

Love the photos. I live in Vietnam. I love to travel. Good work. I am from Oregon. Have a good day.