My Favorite German Castle

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Living in Germany for 4 years gave me many opportunities to travel and see the amazing things the country had to offer. One thing I loved to do was to go "Castle Hunting" and travel to one of the thousands of castles Germany still has. I've visited many of them. It is really hard to pick a favorite because so many of them are just amazing. Burg Eltz has to be on top. Having gone more than once I can say that I've throughly seen this wonder.

One of the reasons that it is my favorite is that for one it is great shape. You can really picture what it was like to live there. Another is that it is still owned by one of the families who originally built it. Which is quite special, as most castles are either sold or donated to the cities or local area.

smWMapproachingburgeltz.jpg

My first time visiting this castle they had just done a week where they invited people got to stay in the castle and live like it was back when it was in use. This gave my tour a wonderful 5 sense to visit. The kitchens still smelled like food. Amazing. Quite a unique experience.

I also love the setting. A little far off from the Mosel River area, it is set tucked away in valley on top of hill in the forest. Walking down the road to get to it you suddenly turn a corner and the castle just appears in view. So breathtaking.
If you sit a the cafe and have a bite or a drink you sit right above the river with most amazing view.

I highly recommend visiting this castle when you visit the Rheinland-Pfalz area in Germany. I recommend seeing this not on a German holiday in summer, it gets quite busy. My first visit I did during the work week in spring time and it was quite pleasant and not too crowded. Its located not far from Koblenz and Trier so you can hit other amazing spots on the trip as well.

(I am a photographer and took these photos on my first visit to the castle. I own the rights to these images.)
SMwmBurgEltz.jpg

Sort:  

I agree. I love this castle too.

Hello @carrieberi, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
8263 7643 6911 3166
3449 3368 2305 6033
3245 9582 5924 8552
1022 8858 7887 2212

Congratulations @carrieberi! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carrieberi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!