Whale City............Whale City here I come........

in #travel7 years ago

IMG_20170415_185859197_HDR.jpg

After a few spontaneous hours of contemplation, a thought here........a couple more there - I devised a route that has the needle pointed south, where just outside my fair city a new world of abundant greens and rolling waves accompany you on an easy jaunt down the coast. A welcome reprieve from the hectic day to day that has accompanied my last few months...........we are heading to Whale City :)

Through the familiar and into the new; exciting it is, the unknown that is - passing local stands pushing their days fruit onto suspecting tourists while the cows dot the lush landscape in the distance. Beaches after beautiful beaches are quite magnificent in their power, yet peaceful in their grace.

I'm taken with a spot on the coast, homey in feel, local in nature, but touristy by sight.

Upon entering I ask a surly gentleman setting up the music for the evening " What might that book you are reading be about? " It's intriguing and inquisitive at the same time - he proceeds to tell me he hasn't started it yet and tries to explain the premise but I am now disinterested, so I find a corner spot on the outdoor patio overlooking the mighty Pacific, and take in a cloudless afternoon on the vaunted Highway 1

Steve, the gentleman starting his book, is nice enough to let me recharge my phone as I munch on a Greek salad with avocado ( no olives please ) and a Strawberry shake.......an odd pair you might think, but I'm not much of a foodie - so I am extremely content with it's sharp contrast; In fact, I now understand how much variety I do like and that I need..............thus this trip down the forbidden yet revealing coast :)

The patrons are filling in more and more as happy hour and a beautiful day go hand-in-hand. An eclectic lot, not to be unexpected in a beach town - though all, including myself, are quite comfortable while soaking up the glorious rays in the process.

Large dogs and foreign tongues fill the patio as I leisure here in the corner, enjoying the ambiance, the slow Hawaiian music, and the time to write.....oh how I miss it :) The key to happiness and livelihood is taking care of one's self - and this patio on the Pacific is working that magic :)

I drop a "5" into Steve's bucket as I saunter past his "set", thanks for the hospitality and tunes man..........I must be on my way, there are new adventures waiting........ The Whale City Diner has been superb.........

Sort:  

An interesting story and full of romance :)

Why thank you...we are just getting started :)