Travel Philippines: Shipwreck diving in Subic Bay

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

20160210_0018.jpg

Travel Philippines

Scuba Diving Shipwrecks in Subic Bay

20160211_0187.jpg

I often dive the Philippines because the water is so warm and friendly compared to the waters in my home in Sydney. Subic Bay is about 6 hours from Manila or 2 hours from Angeles City known for some of its relaxing resorts, diving and nightlife. I've never really spent too much time in this area as in my trips here in my earlier years we have only stopped over on day trips for shopping in the factory outlets.

This time I decided to stay a few nights and give the diving a go as I've heard numerous times aside from Coron in Palawan its got some great shipwreck diving. I was also curious if it would suit some of my underwater model shoots as shipwrecks would be an interesting setting.

I started my trip in the afternoon from Angeles City having visited relatives and friends from my fathers side and caught an FX van from the terminal into Subic Bay town centre. Having arrived at night and having travelled alone here, unfamiliar with the place I took the recommendation of the tricycle driver on where to stay. Its something usually to be careful with as aside from always overcharging travellers there's always the safety concerns. Mine took me to Beloy Beach and after canvasing with a few of the accommodations in the area I ended staying in Kokomos in a room called Caveman Room (php1900 Approx $40AU/night). Interesting styling & theme to the room but was the cheapest and nicest out of the ones I saw along the beach area. I think most of the places here cater to the nightlife - bars that we passed by on the highway which would be a 10min walk away from here. I have a few nights to include exploring all the activities in the area but for this post I'll focus more on the diving.

20160209_0165.jpg

20160209_0156.jpg

20160209_0166.jpg

Next to my accommodation there was the convenience of a well priced dive centre - 'Johan's Beach & Dive Resort' which I decided to book in a double wreck dive in the morning. This place was so chilled and laid back and also offered diver certifications if needed to do one in these parts (I personally would recommend travelling to Palawan or Cebu first or if travelling from Manila head to Batangas - Anilao or Puerto Galera as those offer the best.)

20160211_0186.jpg

There are about 19 wrecks in Subic Bay with 12 of those open for diving. The ones offered by my dive Centre on the day was the USS New York and the LCU.


USS New York

20160210_0174.jpg

Looking up on google briefly it looks like the USS New York is a 110m long armored cruiser built in 1891 that fought in WW1 and a number of conflicts. In 1933 she was sent to Subic to be used for spares/scrap and sunk to the bottom in 1941 to avoid what's left falling into enemy hands.

20160210_0027-2.jpg

20160210_0022.jpg

20160210_0071-2.jpg

20160210_0080.jpg

The water here is more on the lower visbility and green side like what we get back at home in Sydney so its very familar conditions. I'm using a magic filter on my camera which more designed for natural light only so when strobes or flashlights are included the colour balance goes a little on the funnier side. I've been experiment with complimentary filters on the lights to offset this though I prefer to change configuration depending on the dive I didn't know what to expect in these ones at the time.

Travelling down I am at awe at the view and ghostly feel of the ship. There's so much to see and history there along with the marine life that now calls it home. I think this one I'd like to use for a shoot in one of my future trips with an experience diver/model.

20160210_0056.jpg

20160210_0076-2.jpg

20160210_0015.jpg


LCU (Landing Craft Utility)

20160210_0173.jpg

Commonly referred by the dive guides as the LCU the 22m Landing Craft Utility was used to transport personnel and small vehicles onto beaches. It is thought that it sank during a storm or accident but not sure about the whens.

20160210_0156.jpg

20160210_0156-2.jpg

This one though smaller is nice to move around and provides plenty to see

.20160210_0138-2.jpg

20160210_0197.jpg

20160210_0132.jpg

20160210_0159-2.jpg

Random Diver hanging on


20160211_0190.jpg

20160211_0193.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my brief share of my travels & experiences. Let me know if there's anything you would like me to write about and remember to upvote and maybe resteem if you like my post.

chrisdavidphotobanner.png

!steemitworldmap 14.848987 lat 120.250986 long Scuba Wreck Diving in Subic Bay D3SCR

Sort:  

I haven't been in Subic, always passing through going to the North. One day, I will check them out.

We have a new roll call.
https://yehey.org/philippines/@yehey/teamphilippines-roll-call-50-oct-29

Your hardworking Witness,
@yehey

Hi @chrisdavidphoto,
Congrats! Your post has been featured in The Daily Qurator #47. I hope you like it!

Your Quality Curator,
Dr. TLK :D

Thanks @theleapingkoala much appreciated.

You are welcome @chrisdavidphoto
Keep steeming :)

good work chris! :) looks awesome. i guess the primitive pinoy also had the same luv of light skin! :P

Thanks @chinito Either that or the local who painted that cave.

This looks awesome!

Also, if you're interested, you can edit this post to have it show up on steemit worldmaps.
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

So you would add a line (no bold text, no apostrophes) that says:
!steemitworldmap XXX lat XXX long title of your post d3scr

Thanks @choogirl will give it a go.

Hi Chris. Gr8 dive report, I'm jealous as I've wanted to dive and travel the Philippines for ages but the flight from the UK is too much for my budget at the moment. Thanks for the diver's eye view of the two wrecks, good luck in your location scouting :)

Thanks @raj808 the diving there is highly recommended. If you can afford it try Apo Reef or Tubahata Reef which is supposed to one of the best. From Sydney its been cheap with Cebu Pacific - I used to pay about 2-3 times for a ticket with the other airlines prior to them starting flights here. Its a little cheaper to get to Bali but I prefer the Philippines because most of the population can understand and speak english cutting a lot of the language barriers.

Awesome post mate, good to meet another scuba diver on here. I really enjoyed the format of your post. I've just come back from a trip to the maldives where I did a liveaboard. I wrote about it here, check it out if you are interested :) looking forward to more diving related posts! Followed :)

Thanks @fiftysixnorth - Diving the Maldives looks great and also on my list one budgets allow.

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest Post!

This was one hell of an amazing diving post, I haven't been diving myself yet, but it's definitely on my bucket list!

Thanks @steemitworldmap. Diving can get very addictive especially once you start and give it a go and then you start to get the unique and exotic locations into a new bucketlist like cave diving or seeing Tabahata Reef and Apo Reef.

I would imagine so, I can't wait to dive in (<-- sorry for the bad pun, but I kind of had to, you know, haha)!

I'm dive certified but haven't gone in over a decade- a shipwreck dive is officially on my bucketlist!

I went through to advanced open water when I was 17 years old in 1999. I went through a stretch almost the same then started diving again when I started to travel overseas. Its like riding a bike - a bit rusty but you get the hang of it quickly.

Have you tried diving in Apo island? It's somewhere between Negros and Cebu islands.

Great photos on those shipwrecks! just out of curiosity, what camera did you use for the underwater shots? I've heard subic dive sites (shipwrecks) have high turbidity.

Hi @precise. Yes stayed a few nights and dived around Apo Island especially seeing the turtles around there. From memory have to make it into Dumaguete then catch a bus south to get to Malapatay Wharf and catch a ferry across.

Found you on travel digest, congratulations on first selection! Great post, following.

Thanks @brightongreg Its also my first time trying the steemitworldmap

Wow! I love this. I could look at under water photos and videos all day. I can only imagine being there in person!

Thanks @freedompoint Experiencing is much better then seeing it behind a screen so I'd recommend giving diving a go.

Cool adventure. Really nice photos. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=chrisdavidphoto
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-philippines-shipwreck-diving-in-subic-bay


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

You must be a rich guy.

Thanks @twotripleow. Here in Australia im very far from rich due to working in creative industries but what we earn here goes a much longer way in the Philippines due to currency exchange and difference in cost of living/activities.

Sad to say that I live in the Philippines but I have never been there :D it's like 3 hours drive north from where I live. I'd like to thank you for posting pictures like that it inspires me to travel eventhough the cost is hella expensive heh.

There's always cheaper ways to travel there. I travel under a tighter budget so I take a balance of convinience and affordable. From where you are my preference would be heading south into Puerto Galera. I've even caught the RORO from Batangas to get to Boracay instead of flying. 18hr trip but for around p1000.

Very nice to see such amazing views from underneath the sea. :) :)

Thanks @steemnepal Its a completely other world down there

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 7.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @chrisdavidphoto
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrisdavidphoto to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post has received a 7.06 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @chrisdavidphoto. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 13.67 % upvote from thanks to: @chrisdavidphoto.
For more information, click here!!!!

The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 25.42 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @chrisdavidphoto.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 8.76 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @chrisdavidphoto. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

well amazing sea selecting for adventure and picturing

This post has received a 27.06 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @chrisdavidphoto. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Congratulations @chrisdavidphoto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Woow, just found your great post! Thx for this! I was in a lot of great diving spots in the philippines in 2016. I had a few of my best dives there with tresher sharks! Feel free to see my latest post with videos to this amazing shark! I will follow you and im looking forward to your next post buddy!

cheers from switzerland