Cover Your Mouth. Please.

in #travel6 years ago

I just returned from a business trip. My business was in another state so an airplane trip was involved in my travel plans. I think the time has come for someone to write about airplane etiquette. Today that someone is me. 


When you are on a small plane, it is comparable to sitting in a movie theater. The seats are close together and the atmosphere is fairly quiet. Unless you’re the Chatty Cathy sitting next to her friend. Chatty Cathy feels compelled to discuss her horrible job, lackluster lovelife & ungrateful family members at a volume level that has me thinking her friend is hard of hearing. Trapped passengers in front of her, behind her & even in the rows next to her scramble to put in headphones to hopefully drown out the conversation that they’d rather not hear. Please do everyone on the plane a favor and keep your conversations at a volume level so you’re not disturbing other paying passengers. It’s called being courteous. 


So being in confines of an airplane big or small opens up another area of concern. Sickness. No one, and I mean no one, enjoys a plane trip when the guy next to you, or really anywhere in close proximity, starts hacking up a lung. Especially when they don’t feel the need to cover their mouth. Is this something that needs to be discussed before takeoff? Do adults really need to be reminded to cover their mouths so they don’t infect the entire plane? After the trip I just took this is clearly an issue that needs to be addressed. Along with the loud talkers. 


If you are traveling with children, big or small, be aware of what they are doing. It’s great that you are broadening their horizons & taking them on a plane. But get off your phone and pay attention to them. So many times I have to turn around and ask a child to stop kicking my seat. I’m always polite and ask nicely with a smile, but why? They’re not my kids, they belong to you. Pay attention to them!


I hate that I’m sounding like I’m complaining. I travel a lot. Most trips go great. I can even take crying infants - they are too small to understand they are causing a disturbance. It is the lack of consideration, and common courtesy that bothers me. Look around the next time you board a plane. Chances are there are other people on the plane as well. Be considerate. 

Sort:  

Hi my friend, how are you?
What a pity that ill-bred people did not let you enjoy your airplane trip!

Hello! How are you, my friend? I have been traveling a bit (as you can read from this post) so I’ve not been steaming as much. I hope all is well with you & your family! I’m hoping to start being a bit more active starting in March, when my travels will be slowing down!

The worst is when someone is talking loudly, someone is snoring, and children are loud and the plane is delayed. And then people start coughing.

Congratulations @chrismiss! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!