Going From Detroit->Chicago->Tokyo->Osaka for Little Over $50

in #travel5 years ago

So, I will be traveling to Japan next Monday to spend the rest of the year and most of January in Japan.
While buying my train tickets and booking my hotel room, I have noticed that I am spending less than $100 to go from Detroit to Chicago to Tokyo to Osaka. I am amazing myself with how cheaply I am traveling this time around!

Here is the breakdown.

Detroit to Chicago

Cost: $20
I am taking a train to Chicago then flying from there because flights are cheaper from Chicago. Also, there are more direct flights to Japan from Chicago.

image.png

Chicago to Tokyo

Cost: $0
The flight is costing me $0. Yes, $0. I am using the points I earned from credit card sign up bonuses. Credit card sign up bonuses are offers from banks where you get points just for creating a new credit card and spending a certain amount. There are many tricks to sign up for multiple credit cards and manufacture spend to artificially spend money on them to meet their requirements. All that info can be found here.
image.png

Lodging in Tokyo

Cost: $15
Found on Airbnb. Only about 15minutes from the airport. Why spend alot of money on lodging when I am probably going to be out most of the time exploring the city!!
image.png

Tokyo to Osaka

Cost: $18.42 (¥2000)
I am taking a bus from Tokyo to Osaka. Kousoku Bus(高速バス) to be exact. They are buses that usually runs through the highway overnight. They are great because you can sleep on the bus and save money on lodging for that night. I always choose these over bullet train these days because they are cheap and more comfortable for sleeping.
image.png
image.png

Total cost to go from Detroit->Chicago->Tokyo->Osaka: $53.42

With patience, experience, and planning, traveling can be really cheap. These days, I'm noticing that it's actually cheaper for me to travel than to stay at home. Living in the US is way too expensive. I am starting to re-think my life choice with owning a house and paying bills and buying expensive food...