Is Budapest worth visiting?

in #travel6 years ago

37991805_10156566279786060_242190272358776832_n.jpg

Budapest was a refreshing sight. I knew it was the the biggest city in Hungary, and it had a gothic parliament. I had really no idea what to expect apart from that. Surely it wouldn’t be better than fancy Vienna or charming Prague. But in the end, Budapest was one of my favourite cities. I preferred it to Vienna and Prague.

P1050423.JPG
The Danube meanders through this city and splits Buda from Pest, two distinct halves of the city that merged to form Budapest in 1897. I stayed on the Buda side, however, I spent most of my time on the Pest side. The main thoroughfare of the city, Andressy Avenue, inspired by Paris’s Champs-Élysées is a huge road is impressive. Fenced with large trees, luxury stores, and opulent apartments, this Avenue leaves a grand impression. P1050439.JPG

The Jewish Quarter is where you get your nightlife fix. A range of bars are available here, I liked Simpler Kert on Kaczinczy Avenue, I swear I paid 500 forints for a half-litre of Pilsner Urquell; too cheap. It was hot and sweaty in the bar, but there were heaps of little rooms and the crowds were large. Sure, the music was average, but the bar was buzzing and plenty of happy tourists and locals were enjoying the Saturday evening.

If you can, try and get on a river cruise at night. The river is wide and has many bridges. To the left are castles, and to the right churches and massive structures. During the day head to St Stephen’s Basilica and climb to the top. You will be rewarded with great views in all directions.

P1050454.JPG
P1050457.JPG

I missed the famous Budapest Spas, on the Sunday I visited from the outside, it was packed. I had 5,000 Forints and a pounding headache and so instead I rode my leased bike back to the shop. I headed back to the hotel for a nap.P1050470.JPG

Before that, as I descended down a deep underground escalator, I was greeted by three transit officers. An older gentleman asks me, “Do you have a ticket?” I am sure I have it. I do not have it. Fuck. He says “This is a problem.” I pay 8,000 Forints as I watched a youngster leg it past the old men once caught. I head to the KFC near my hotel, I feel slightly better.

My experience was not ideal, I started getting sick during the last phase of my holiday. But Budapest was a unique city. If you’re in Vienna, or Prague, do yourself a favour and visit this rumbling town. The ruin bars are great for nightlife. Or alternatively hire a bike during the day to explore Pest. Next, head to castle on the Buda side and enjoy a beer and bite while taking in the views next to the Citadel.

Credit to Misha and Elle for taking pictures of me. Creative Commons applies to all other pictures, Copyright licence cooregeorge

Leave a comment or email me at [email protected], or find me on instagram: cooregeorge

Sort:  

Glad to read your travel report from Budapest. I liked it a lot, and will share it on my Twitter account within a few hours!

Thanks, it is an amazing place, I’ll be checking out your Twitter

I think I would love to visit it!

please check my blog out and upvote & comment if you like some posts. thanks :)

Thanks for your comment, I’m glad to here you liked the post. I’ll definitely check your blog out and upvote it!

Much thanks my friend ^_^

Perfact expresion buddy. good thesis

Thanks man, hopefully there was some kind of coherent idea in that piece.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My reply is no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations @cooregeorge! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!