Walking Where the Force Awakens, Part 1: The Ascent — Skellig Michael (Yes, the Star Wars Last Jedi Hermit Island... but also a World Heritage Site)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Fewer than sixteen thousand people set foot on this island in a year; some of them never get past the lower approach, some have fallen to their deaths on the way up. And, though I didn't know until I got there, a Jedi has called it home.

 
      I've actually written about my grand luck and the stormy approach to Skellig Michael in a previous post, talking about the incredible avian life surrounding the island.

In Portmagee, Ireland, life hinges on about thirteen small boats, chugging to and from the small dock a few times a day. Those few vessels ferry tourists to the Skellig islands, or up and down the stunning coasts and along the Kerry Cliffs; just as they carry bright-eyed adventure seekers across the water, in return they bring home the lifeblood of the town's economy.

      So after basically begging my way onto a boat with the most incredible luck, I crossed heaving waters and braved a rain of shite to make it to the base of the island. All of the boats arrive at once, and leave at once. Provided the weather doesn't cancel the trips (which happens around forty percent of the time, with no warning) you're there for the day. At the bottom, a caretaker explains the dangers of climbing the rock face, and takes you through what to do if you experience vertigo or have a panic attack. While I thought this was kind, it seemed a bit extreme. Then, I started to climb.

Seabirds cling to ledges no wider than an inch or two, as the winding climb up the island takes you along the edge of the crashing surf. There are no handrails or barriers.

      The stairs are hewn from the living rock, or are awesomely heavy slabs laid and held only by gravity. Careful stacks of shale, placed just so, perch along the contours of the mountain face. The idea that sandaled monks carved and carried and cajoled any path to ascend out of the harsh cliff is a truly incredible one. After only about twenty steps, the reality had begun to set in that my upwards trajectory was nearly vertical, and any slight misstep would be also... albeit in the opposite direction. In the preliminary warnings, the caretaker had pointed out that if you fell, it was best that you either hoped you bounce, or die on impact, as getting help out to the islands is not an easy task. I've mentioned before that I'm not afraid of heights, but pairing the views of the empty ocean expanse with the single foot of rock between my solid stance and open air, I could see very easily how someone could become overwhelmed and disoriented. Three out of the small group I was with opted out of the climb before even starting.

This standing plinth marks one of the first landings. A solitary figure eternally watching the waves, abraded by hundreds of years of the fury of the water and wind, it's almost soft and rounded looking. It's also just now become incredibly recognizable, due in part to the trailers for The Last Jedi. See if you can spot it and some of the other views I share in this post.

      Half way up, my palms were decidedly clammy. In some spots, I needed to bend forwards and monkey-climb on all fours to keep my equilibrium as I moved through a particularly steep or narrow section. Everywhere, puffins watched inquisitively from cracks in the rocks or sitting, fluffed up and unconcerned, in small tufts of greenery. I mean, for me, puffins are one of the most adorably cool things in the world that I've always wanted to see — and oddly and honestly, all I could think about was not embarrassing myself in front of them by falling and dying horrifically. Yeah, I really don't know either.

From the first plateau, looking across to Little Skellig, a protected island where no humans are allowed to step. The flat path from where the boats are moored to the base of the stone steps is visible, with the newly added retaining wall.

The view in the opposite direction, with some of the stairs visible; the sheer tumble waiting for those who trip is pretty apparent here.

      Before reaching the monastery at the top, there is a flat path of carefully laid stones. Standing there, flexing my toes in subtle dips worn by hundreds of years of dozens of shuffling supplicants, I twirled until I was dizzy. (Which, admittedly, was stupid.) The view... oh friends, the view. Across from me, a valley with a vertical set of stairs descending into it, and a thin, snaking path up to a drop to the ocean, and a rock face that leads to a single introspective cell, barely visible in these photos. You must have mountain climbing training and credentials, and apply more than a year in advance to even be considered for an attempt at the barely-there handholds. To the left, open air, and a dizzying look at the stairs I just conquered. Continuing around, the entrance to the terraced gardens leading to the beehive cells.

It defies words, to stand in a place that feels older than time itself, buffeted by winds that have swept the entire world to still somehow end up here to meet you in a welcome both threatening and exhilarating.

 

If you squint, you can see a slight, single standing stone marking a path around the edge of the promontory to the hermitage, at the middle right, on an outcropping. The path is visible as well, from the cleft in the rock, down into the valley below.

I immediately scrambled down the stairs to run through the grassy island center to climb into the vee-shaped indent. For scale, see the few birds, and imagine the path is about four feet wide. Standing in that space and viewed from the vantage point here, I'd barely show in this picture.

      Having done my best mountain goat impression through the grass and up the scree, I sat carefully in the window created by the fold in the rock and looked out over one of the closed paths up to the pass. While it looks alright from this vantage, it essentially ends in a drop that can only be navigated with climbing gear, and is water slick and treacherous year round. No one is allowed to come up that route now; movie producers have built a helicopter pad on the opposite side of the island to avoid the unpleasantness of boat rides and deadly storms and climbing. (Later at home, I would realize that this is where Rey first sees Luke Skywalker pull back his hood to reveal his face, extending the lightsabre in silent entreaty, as the camera spirals outwards to highlight the stark, lonely rock. I'll admit, my inner fangirl squeed. HARD.)

      As I dangled my feet I considered what it would be like to live on this rock with essentially nothing, seemingly apart from space and time. I absentmindedly tugged on a rusted rope piton left from first explorations of the island (barely visible by my foot in the last photo), and a chunk crumbled away in my fingers. A bit of a sobering reminder that this side of the island is dormant for many reasons, I decided to cross the valley again and head into the monastery itself.

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
crimsonclad.png

Hi, I'm Crimmi. I help run a top 30 Steemit witness, along with my project partner @followbtcnews. Feel free to reach out to us on Steemit Chat or Discord at any time! If we haven't earned your vote yet, please take some time to look at our tools and our work — place a vote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.

Sort:  

once again, breathtaking photography and awesome writing. you have a talent for making your subject come alive, of putting the reader in the action . ive often wondered what life was like for the ancients celts and monks. wonderful time travel!

You just said my mind bro.

It was kind of mindblowing to imagine living in a rock cell with rock bed with rock seats with rock EVERYTHING and absolutely nothing else, on a rock, with the only view being another rock. As far as solitude and contemplation goes...well, not much else to do.

Was very lucky with the weather and definitely one of those times I thanked all sorts of nameless deities. <3

The pictures and your incredibly intimate tale are, as some have already noted in the comments, absolutely breathtaking.

"...I twirled until I was dizzy."

You may be the bravest, most adventurous nut I have never met.

We definitely need to party sometime =D

Thanks for taking me on that journey with you. I feel like I can now rest, satisfied that I never actually have to make that terrifying climb personally =p

Oh, yeah, Kudos on 'squeed'. I'm actually pretty sure that's not actually an actual word, but I'm also pretty sure that maybe I might have known exactly what you meant. You have such a gift for writing. And photography. And radio. And being an all around bad ass.

Thank you so much, bawwwwww...and "squeeee" sounds exactly as you would imagine, I simply took the very generous liberty of making it into a verb. I must admit, all of my talents seem to converge a bit here, but I appreciate the people who actually enjoy them and get a chance to read. It means a lot on a platform full of incredible opinions and talented creators.

The twirling at the top was much safer- it's about a fifteen foot wide ledge up there. :)

Super duper duper rad. Had mixed feelings about the film but the set design was pretty untouchable. Incredible you got to go there and see it yourself.

Just heard about your metal show (is show the right word?) Stoked.

well, it's mostly me just sitting in front of a microphone playing weird music and saying very silly things :D

I'm not 100% sure where I stand on the movie, but I can say that the island does truly feel like something out of someone's imagination, as opposed to being real. I loved it.

My main source of income is weird music! I’m going to get cinemechanica (one of my more math metal-y projects) posting content on here soon and I’ll send yah digital copies of whatever you want for your show!

do this! I would love to feature all sorts of stuff. If you have a spotify or the like, link me up~

I'm not going to say it's the best tag of all time, but I'm certainly not going to say it isn't the best tag of all time. Also... fuuuuuuuuuu... amazing post.

I'm not saying I knew you would notice, but...

Waoww amazing

Wow crimmi!!!! Amazing story the way you told it it came alive for me I was right behind you experiencing everything very cool and the pictures are way beyond magnificent! To infinity and beyond!! See you on the show tonight❤️❤️

very hard to mess up something so inspiring, though. I like to say that with a lot of these places I could just click the camera randomly and what comes out will still likely be gold. I have a real passion for it, though.

Glad to have you pop in! it's always such a fun time when cool people come to hang out~

@crimsonclad this post was presented at the most recent Pimp Your Post Thursday on the Steemit Ramble Discord. I have written a post to share your featured post. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your name in lights right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

You are very sweet for including it. It is so very appreciated~

Great content. Wonderful photos from this beautiful isle and its great rough coastline

puffin! I saw very many of you while I was there~ I actually have a whole puffin post planned, as I was so fascinated; this was the first time I'd ever seen one. We don't get birds like that where I live in Canada- only on the opposite coast. Do you live somewhere they hang out?

Wow... this is beautiful! It is almost unbelievable that such a place exists... Take a look, @aniellopas, @valued-customer, @wachera. Nice that it does, because it fits perfectly the spot where Rey finds Skywalker in Episode 7, The Force Awakens (that's where I know it from and where I left the story, I haven't watched Episode 8, The Last Jedi yet so please no spoilers! xD) I'll follow you @crimsonclad, you seem like a worthy follow. ;) And good luck on that Witness Election!!

LOL TY for the headsup!

FYI, @crimsonclad does a radio show, too, which I keep missing =(

Head over to MSP's discord to learn more about it.

You'll be glad you did.

sure thing! but wait, can you send me an invite? i dont think i am in that server :(

We're the PAL Network, home of the Minnow Support Project~ You can find me there most any time should you need me:

https://discord.gg/B4ZjGBa

Perfect! Thanks a lot, I will surely look for you to bother you and get some facts straight. xP

Put a note in your phone! We miss you. We had a HILARIOUS time this last show playing holiday metal. It was Crimmi's Krampus Christmas, and it got so out of hand, LOL~

I am sad, as I KNEW this would be an epic show.

I shall flagellate myself mercilessly, as I'm sure the monks on Skellig Michael did regularly, in penance for my failure. Or, do you think I should leave that up to you?

Not so sure that would be an actual deterrent, tho... ;)

My only excuse is that competent editing so excited me, as I haven't been availed of it before, that I just lost track of time.

An alarm will beis set.

Big Hardcore Hug =p

haha, it's no big deal, truly. I realize that as a music show, I do not bring as much value as many of the talk based shows. When you have time on Thursdays, I'm always around! Plus, anything that helps develop your posting or you network is very valuable and should be pursued. Have you heard of PYPT on the Steemit ramble server?

My whippings usually only come in moderation form, so we'll have to see if I decide to also make them a bit more encouraging as well~

I have heard of pimp your post, but am rather focused on organic interaction, on Steemit.

I'd much rather be at your show!

Thanks!

Thanks so much! I do wish I knew exactly where to roll around to vicariously touch where Mark Hamill walked.... :D I really appreciate you coming and commenting.

So far, so good! We're currently in witness position 27. If you ever have questions about voting or witnessing in general, you're welcome to find me or my partner on Steemit chat or Discord if you want to know more about us or just pick our brains :)

LOL brain-picking sounds fun, I will consider it. xD

Well nice then, can you send me that invite into the Discord server? Also, I am kind of new to Steemit.chat, I prefer Discord, I hope that is okay with you. I will be bothering you with questions shortly. :D

Haha, it would indeed be nice to walk where he walked, to sit where he sat --and to walk into that cave from where he says "the Jedi must end". D=

I actually have pictures of the beehive cells... they will be part three of the post series, I think~ I posted the discord link just above :)
 

I saw it, thanks a lot! Oh my I am already looking forward to that 3rd part.

Aaaaaand... Thaaaaaat... Buildingggggg... yeah, I need to go watch the movie like, right now~

grabs coat and goes to closest cinema notwithstanding it is 1:30 AM

Wow! What an amazing post...these pictures are phenomenal! Absolutely breathtaking. I'm pretty jealous that you actually got to set foot on that island and explored it all!! Thank you for sharing such a great experience with us. :)

thank you for saying so <3 it was an impromptu thing that I feel pretty grateful I was allowed to do. Normally trips book up to a year in advance :|

Hope you bounce or die on impact. Not very good option. Great images with cool looking sky.

better than "lay here moaning for a day or more praying for death or to pass out," I suppose. :|
thanks so much for stopping in~

Great shots. Why no porgs?

you are the first to ask that on Steemit! (though not the first to ask, LOL) I was not lucky enough to see one... perhaps I'll shop one into the next post in the series and see who notices
grins

You should...that would be amazing. Did you see the movie?

@crimsonclad what a magnificent pictures!

thank you for popping in to say so, it's much appreciated! it's a bit easy with a subject like that...

Just watched the movie today and wow I'm so jealous. Really beautiful and I hope to get here one day. Thanks for sharing! Look forward to future travels!

thanks so much! it's kind of crazy, they didn't actually do much digital alteration to the island. It truly is that strange mix of peaceful and foreboding.

Yah I'm surprised too, that's probably a good think though!

Awesome photos. The force is strong with this one.

:D I do wish I had caught on to the Star Wars connection before I went, but at the same time, it was easy to appreciate based solely on the historical value too. Thanks for coming to comment~

Stunning! I was in Ireland in February and wish I could had seen sites as beautiful as these. Although, I am grateful to had been blessed to visit Ireland. It’s absolutely beautiful there.

It was quite the luck and finagling that got me to the island! What was your favorite thing that you visited?

There’s so much to love about Ireland but I would say Stephens Green Park is beautiful but I think I enjoyed Dublin Castle the most.

lmao, we can walk to to the top of Mount Royal, that's the same, right? <3

Yes we can :)

Wow! That's super cool to be there were they filmed the movie. Looks like an amazing place. Glad you got there before Rey chopped that rock down... lol.

hahah, yes, watching her lightsabre all over it was soul crushing! I had to break the post into pieces, I took so many photos while I was there. The monastic cells are brutal, but really neat~

Beautiful, and so remote, I haven't seen the new star wars movies so I have no idea what you are referencing but that looks like a trip to remember :)

someday I will go and give you some money so you can see a star war 😂

but truthfully, approaching it NOT knowing, experiencing it, and then finding out when I was there made it easier to appreciate it for what I feel are the 'right' reasons. I hope that visitors are able to see past the hollywood and then continue to teach about the monastery and the history behind the island without turning it into a disney shit show~

Awesome as usual. Getting a helicopter there sounds like a much better idea I have to admit. I would not have done that climb.

the helicopter only gets you to the bottom; we both know you could carry me on your back all the way up!!

Hahaha. I'm no mountain goat so there's a high risk of both of us would fall to our deaths if that happened.

Yet another fantastic write up Crimmy. You really should join The Write...oh, you did ;-)

The photos are magnificent.

thank you so much... I knew I could draw you in with excellent writing Star Wars references :3

Those pictures got me captivated. The blue sky, the feelings of the nature. Good job

thanks for stopping in to say so, I appreciate it!

That is beautiful photography and writing skills. This is definitely something which would entice most anyone's curiosity to go see and/or imagination to live vicariously through thee.

appreciated! that's basically the hope. If you can't get there yourself just yet, I'm going to take you there to hold you over :)

I just saw that film last night and was wondering where that island was the whole time. Super pretty!

It's really that lovely and untouched. It will be interesting to see how they protect the island now that tourism will be ramping the hell up. It would change everything to have it covered in handrails and protective measures and the like :(

Great post and Amazing photos !

thank you so much! I always appreciate seeing your posts on the map~

Just wow!

yeah, I have to admit, that's kind of all I could think on the way up...well, that, and 'don't die, the puffins will never respect you'

Right?! Probably just thinking, "Pffff, humans...," lol.

I was holding my breath with you on the climb. Well written and photographed.

thank you so much! the next post has some long shot views of the stairs and the monastery exterior, and sheer scope of parts of the climb is a bit more apparent. It was definitely an experience~

The photos are beautiful and the story accompanying them put me right there with you.

Amongst the beauty I couldn't help but laugh:

all I could think about was not embarrassing myself in front of them by falling and dying horrifically.

Glad you're still with us :p

it's so silly. But it was just, "I've always wanted to see a puffin and I swear if I trip I will never forgive myself also I will be dead"

Hahahahaha... that's amazing and oh so human.

These photos are so epic! This is a huge and amazing addition to the @steemitworldmap!

It's hard to believe that anyone has been there really... it looks incredible.

thank you so much! it was a really amazing trip. I have to admit, I get a real satisfaction dropping that first pin on the map!! First to Iceland, first to the Skelligs.... I can't wait to find a few more 'unexplored' places!

I've heard that a huge influence on people's holiday destinations is how 'Instagrammable' a holiday destination is... You're almost the exact opposite, a new age digital explorer. I hope you start to deliberately pick trips to get those first pins in. It's a super worthy cause. I can't wait for people to start to make full time occupations on Planet Steem by adventuring.

I'm hoping that maybe I can earn enough to pull my meat world job hours back a bit, but if not, then I'm still going to do it. I eat sleep and breathe travelling. My big trip this year will be centered around steemfest, though, so that may or may not be a "first" with however many other users there, lol~

Hahaha, you'll just have to get there minutes before any other Steemians to get in "first".

Travelling is pretty much the best way to spend your money... peeps who don't travel are just borzo.

Rad place! Hope to check out that spot before I die.

I don't think they'd let you take your gear up there, but it would be amazing if you could! Then again, it's nine miles to any land, so I don't know if you'd have any chance to touch down alive :|

Wonderful,dizzying photos. Thanks so much for sharing them with us.

thank you so much! I appreciate you taking the time to comment <3

Damn, now I'm feeling all embarrassed about my pictures.

You're crushing this shit!

never feel bad about the stuff other people do on the internet~ anyone out there traveling or living life as their authentic selves means they are killing the game <3

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=crimsonclad
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=walking-where-the-force-awakens-part-1-the-ascent-skellig-michael-yes-the-star-wars-last-jedi-hermit-island-but-also-a-world


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Found you finally @crimsonclad
Nice article and beautiful pictures :)

oh, hello! I've been on a bit of a discord holiday break. Much appreciated! thank you~

You're welcome @crimsonclad I look forward to reading all your upcoming posts.

Nice post @crimsonclad! Sounds so intense the way you described climbing up that mountain, glad you made it to the top! Beautiful pictures btw :)

thank you so much! it was an intense experience. I hope it remains that way for all visitors to come, and that popularity doesn't change the island overmuch.

That first photo is stunning.

thank you so much! That's roughly three quarters of the way up the front face. looking towards little skellig, on one of the larger landings :)

wonderful post with great photography, it's so nice to see un-manipulated shots, digitally, I mean & I really felt as though through your eyes I have been there. Nice job & best wishes :)

they've been colour and contrast balanced, but I've tried not to do too much with HDR or any other really noticeable processing. Nature's got this one on lock. Thank for stopping in <3

This was truly an adventure and experience of a lifetime, I felt like I was there with your clear description, nice and beautiful photos. Happy Christmas

thank you so much! Merry Christmas to you, and best wishes for kindness and adventure in the new year. <3

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Damn Crim, this post is amazing! I mean, all your posts are, but this one really makes me want to jump on the next plane to Ireland and climb up there myself, haha!

thank you so much! I have to admit... I kind of knew this one was doing to do okay <3 it's one of my favourite adventures thus far

Wow awesome photography

thanks for coming to say so. What's your favourite picture?

4th no picture i like it

it's dangerous but i like too :)

it's only dangerous I think if you have very bad balance or nerves. Everything in life is at least a little bit dangerous. This is sort of mid-level danger~ thank you for coming to comment!

Amazing 👍👍👍

thanks for stopping in to comment

İmpressive!

thanks for stopping in to check it out!

Lovely pictures! Well done...

much appreciated :)

Your pictures are really nice and I look forward to a beautiful picture

thanks for commenting

Congratulations @crimsonclad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!