7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European Thursday week #141

in #travel4 years ago

Hello fellow Hivers!

Welcome to my 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European Thursday.

Today, you can participate by submitting your personal pictures from your travels to the continent of Europe.

Please see the winner of the last week´s European Thursday @betterthanhome with the following entry:

Greek Orthodox Church in Esslingen. The Greek Orthodox Church in Esslingen near the River Neckar was built in 1995 and is the biggest Orthodox Church in Europe outside of Greek. The architectural style of this church is a Byzantine basilica with a dome and 3 naves This photo was taken on a bike ride along the Neckar last summer. I took the photo from a bridge that crosses a side arm of the neckar.

3W72119s5BjWNnTyuNyi9HXetezAgmM2NN4jTtLVdkfXUvRhjxcv6JUyP8rktHJvdWPHrJpF9H2ARjrryjqKQGxjvnTJm8bPF6ZXo5UzMYgsJhd79TZR8T.jpg

Your entries need to be submitted by 8 A.M. Central European Time in order to be considered for the challenge with a description of approximately 30 to 50 words.

Only use of personal images will be accepted and only one picture can be submitted for a daily photo challenge.

Best 10 entries will receive a 10% upvote and other valid entries will get a 5% upvote from me. Out of those best 10 entries, one winner and one runner-up will be picked. Their entries will be shared on Appics in separate posts and they will receive my upvotes on their posts as the reward. The winner will get my 100% upvote and the runner-up will get my 50% upvote on Hive and on Appics too if their posts were posted through Appics.

For more information about the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge and its rules & conditions, please see the latest update post.


logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

I took this shot of Ilheu de Rosto de Cao, an impressive rock formation of volcanic origin that can be found here in Ponta Delgada, the capital city of the Sao Miguel Island, Azores, Portugal, just a few days ago. It was a rainy day and the cliffs were very slippery but I managed to get down almost to the sea surface level to capture the landmark from this unusual angle, showing the clarity of the water. The black dots on the stones are actually sea urchins :)

IMG_20200602_202153.jpg

It is said that "a picture is worth a thousand words"...
This landscape represents my region, my culture, my blood and the blood of my ancestors. It represents the vast, warm and dry region where I was born and raised. It represents my true HOME! The beautiful Alentejo region, the largest region in Portugal, that occupies much of the Southern part of the country.

Meu Alentejo.jpg

I exaggerate if I say river Soča is the nicest on Earth as I didn't see them all and probably there are even nicer rivers. But for me it is the nicest river in my home country, Slovenia. It has its special charm with unique turquoise color in many parts of the stream.

20200526_155356.jpg

When I visited a friend on the island of Tenerife, I didn't have much idea of its landscapes and it was incredible to discover such impressive places every day like this: Los Roques de Anaga, mountains that descend to the sea of black sands and pointed rocks that stand out nearby from the shore of the beach, it is one of the most emblematic natural monuments of this island, beautiful isn't it?

IMG_0410.JPG

I want to share with you all this shot of the unforgettable Venice, I made it a clear and beautiful day from the Accademia Bridge (1 of the 4 bridges that crosses the Grand Canal), in the background you can see the dome of the Basilica of Santa Maria della Salute. It is a classic shot and very beautiful and romantic, my wife was happy with her vacation in Venice.

DSC_0268-3-2.jpg

Lisboa, Portugal is a beautiful city, but going up and down the hills and steps is something that I could have went without.I can just imagine the shape of the people who live in this pretty house who have to take the stairs whenever they have to go out.

IMG_8641.JPG

Holy Trinity Church

The English Church, previously known as Holy Trinity Church, is located in the spa gardens of Bad Wildbad. This church was built by Reverend Ludlow due to the large number of English visitors and spa guests.

But I particularly like the 2 sequoias that are on the site of the church, which is very unusual for this area.

image.png

https://peakd.com/hive-119845/@betterthanhome/7-world-s-continents-photo-challenge-european-thursday-10