7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European Thursday week #21 - the absolute winner takes 200 SBD!

in #travel6 years ago

WARNING: The use of images that are not your own on which you claim the ownership will be flagged - HELPING TO STOP PLAGIARISM ON STEEMIT


Hello fellow Steemians!

Welcome to my 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European Thursday - where the winner of the weekly round will be able to participate for the total of 200 SBD! Today, you can participate by submitting your personal pictures from your travels to the continent of Europe.

shutterstock_651736369.jpg
Tower Bridge in London, the UK, during sunset with beautiful clouds. Source: Shutterstock, author: r.classen

Your entries need to be submitted by 8 AM Central European Time in order to be considered for the challenge with a description of approximately 30 to 50 words. Only use of personal images will be accepted and only one picture can be submitted for a daily photo challenge. Ten winning photos will receive a bigger upvote from me and ten runners-up will get a smaller one.

Chosen from the ten winning entries, the absolute winner of the day will receive extended publicity in my post tomorrow morning. I will also visit his/her blog to upvote one of the most recent posts. The winning picture of the daily challenge will then automatically enter other rounds with the absolute winner gaining approximately 200 SBD in total.

Please see the winners of the previous contests of the week and give them your support if you like their images to be the one winning the weekly price and entering the other stages of the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge. You can vote for them by upvoting their winner announcement posts below:

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Asian Sunday week #21 – winner announcement!

@kcaj88 Asian Sunday entry:

This is a photo that I took in Xinjiang, China. That's a Euphrates Poplar Forest which is about 6000 years old. Euphrates Poplar can live up to 3000 years old and even though the trees are dead, they can still stand for another 3000 years. I think they are tough and strong there for I took that pic.

DQmfSitAmAwUn3cp6R9zxEPqDFj9hh3EvKxj7XN2knKrvzn.jpg
Click on the image for full view

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Australian Monday week #21 – winner announcement!

@stabilowl Australian Monday entry:

It was early evening and I was walking along the coastline at the Royal Botanic Garden, Sydney with my camera and tripod looking for something to shoot. I was almost at the end the the trail, close to Mrs Macquarie's Chair, when I was treated with this beautiful skyline of the City of Sydney, with all the colours reflecting on the water. I spend quite a bit of time there, perfecting my shots. And here is the best one.

DQmcKeGFbbBKHTCRLxHVgjmNcQfdYwgnnGVFqcL2xEuX4kp_1680x8400.jpg
Click on the image for full view

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Tuesday of Antarctica and world´s oceans week #21 – winner announcement!

@axeman Tuesday of Antarctica and world´s oceans entry:

To continue the series of frozen Baltic Sea coastline, here is quite a special and minimalist shot of the stone completely frozen into the ice. Stunning colors of very very cold winter sunset, cause by still very high humidity of the air and unique singh-ray color polarizing filter mounted. Totally phantasmagorical view. Enjoy it!

U5drpckSjaTpTHHxToD44YeYuQq96rZ_1680x8400.jpg
Click on the image for full view

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – African Wednesday week #21 – winner announcement!

@photo-freediver African Wednesday entry:

Synchronized swimming. Not everyone knows that near the island of Mauritius, large herds of sperm whales live and grow their progeny. When we found out about this, we decided to fly there to check whether this is true. Our dream was at least to see these magnificent animals. Who could have known then that we not only managed to see the sperm whales, but swim with them and even practice synchronized swimming.

DQmfQs1WG8VBjf7ZwNBSwTE57KpTY2t7mbN5Y8oqDwvTSXu.jpg
Click on the image for full view

PLEASE MAKE SURE TO READ THE UPDATES OF RULES AND CONDITIONS OF THE PHOTO CHALLENGE BELOW. ONLY THE BEST 20 ENTRIES OF THE DAY WILL GET AN UVPOTE.

For more information about the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge and conditions see my original post: 200 SBD 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - 2018 guidelines: 22/1 update


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Hranice Abyss, the deepest underwater cave in the world!

ColorChallenge - Yellow Wednesday - @schmidthappens in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Wednesday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!

30 SBD giveaway: Share your most romantic travel photo to celebrate the St. Valentine’s Day!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

This is another from my trip to Iceland last fall. The landscape in Iceland is so unique because of the volcanic activity that it makes for some great photos. This is from the Borgarbyggð district of western Iceland. About 20 minutes up from here is the edge of a massive glacier that I had a chance to step on. This is truly a unique, beautiful part of the world.
IMG_6645.jpg

Acropolis in the Morning, Athens

I found what I think must be the best view of the Acropolis at the top of Philopappos Hill. The hill is in the center of Athens, but from here, the modern city of cars and busloads of tourists somehow manages to disappear. I walked among olive trees in the footsteps of Socrates, Plato and Aristotle and at the top of the hill, I was rewarded with a breathtaking view of the Acropolis at dawn.

Top25-of-2017-5.jpg

What a beautiful capture! Simply stunning.

Pfaueninsel (Peacock Island) - Berlin
I took these photos at the famous Pfaueninsel in Berlin-Wannsee. The island is located in the south-west of Berlin in the near border to Potsdam.

There are plenty of peacocks going around on this beautiful island. These animals are soo beautiful 😍 One of the best examples how nice mother-nature works...

This is Fanad Lighthouse in Donegal, the northernmost part of Ireland. I went there early in the morning to catch the sunrise and was rewarded with this wonderful light. It's quite a beautiful setting for a lighthouse. If you ever visit Donegal, make sure to pay this spot a visit.

Breathtaking and a beautiful shot!

so pretty! like a fairytale :)

amazing makes me want to buy a drone!

Beautiful shot! The clouds are making it extra dramatic!

Another shout out of this world! Perfect!

Here's my entry today for 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European

6. Salford rinawonderlands.jpg

I took this photo during my visit to Manchester. Lucky me to had this amazing sunset after a rainy day. I took it from a balcony of an apartment i stayed in, and i could see the Millenium bridge, Salford Quays. I love how colorful is the sky, almost like a painting. Despite that, the modern building and the lights also gives a nice reflection on the water.

Beautiful Sunset! Such a great shot!

Thanks @stabilowl . It’s a combination of the sunset colors and the lights from the building which makes it great 😊

Faublous image! Bravo!

LONDON-NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM: This amazing-looking building interprets the natural world very succesfully. I specifically recommend the blue zone (dinosaurs, mammals) for children and the green zone (planet’s evolution) for adults.
IMG_7372.jpg

Welcome to the challenge! You have made quite an entrance with this amazing image. Tomas

Thanks a lot! The ambiance was amazing. It is a pic with no filter:) By the way, I like joining your challanges like this including Europe but actually especially about Prague:) Prague has an important city in my life since I got my marriage proposal in Prague <3 also I liked the city very much! Will keep following you closely and share my pictures ;)

_M4A0512.jpg
My photo was taken on the beach near town Abades, which is located on the eastern coast of Tenerife. There are several beaches nearby and the coast is very interesting. Last year I was just around spent several days shooting the coast. Every sunrise and sunset was completely unique.

That's incredible!

Thank you so much for your entry and this amazing image. Have a great day. Tomas

This photo comes from a trip that I took a few years back in Toledo, Spain. Here you can see the Alcazar of Toledo - today it serves as a military museum but many years ago it used to serve as a fortified royal palace! Definitely worth checking out if you're ever in this little town!

Spain Trip March 2012 174.JPG

Northern Lights break out over the glacial lagoon in southern Iceland called Jökulsárlón. I lit the ice with a flashlight. The Aurora can be seen on many clear winter nights in Iceland, but this display was particularly good.

iceland ice.jpg

That looks amazing! How long did you have to spend there to get a shot like this?

Thanks! Not long, the Aurora was going steady that night, and I was going around to different places taking photos. :)

Splendid! This really is a nice shot :)

Thank you! :D

Amazing colors of the northern lights . I never seen one ever 😞 . Could you please advise, which month is the best time to come and see that?and which place?

Well, Iceland is a pretty reliable place - northern Norway also, and northern Canada, around Whitehorse or Yellowknife, or parts of Alaska. Between 60 degrees north and the arctic circle is the sweet spot. Best time of year is fall through winter, and beyond that it's down to solar activity and weather. As it happens, @chaseburnett authored an excellent guide just last night: https://steemit.com/photography/@chaseburnett/photographing-the-northern-lights-an-in-depth-guide

Of course there's also the southern lights...but I don't have experience with them.

🙏 thank you for the explanation. Well noted for my next trip 😊 hopefully i can see it and take a great pics like yours

When I was travelling to Norway, they said September to March are the best time for Northern lights. We were lucky and saw Northern lights almost everyday, but just the green stuff, not the bright pink and yellow which are much rarer

Cool. Well noted too 👍 thanks for the info :) i really wanna see the Northern lights one day

How lucky you are...that looks like a dream!

Thanks! I've been lucky to be in Iceland at good times of year for this. :)

What a beautiful capture! Fantastic image. Tomas

Thank you! :D

Lake2_resized.jpg

Hallstatt is a small town in Austria. It sits beside the beautiful Lake Hallstatt. I was there a few years back, travelling alone for the first time after I had a kid. The place was so picturesque, and the lake looks different everyday depending on the weather. This picture was taken on a fine, sunny morning after a night of rain.

Nice pic too :)

I want to be there right now! You have captured a perfect place in your amazing image. Tomas

Thank you Tomas! It is indeed a very nice place

Today I want to share my photograph taken in Ponta Do Pargo - Madeira. Madeira has beautiful places and without a doubt this is one of them. Ponta Do Pargo is located in the Northwest of Madeira. It owes its name to that there are many snappers (fish) in the area.

Madeira edición.jpg

Thank you so much for your wonderful entry. Tomas

Thank you for appreciating my photography. I'm very grateful!

This is my entry for the European Thursday. Shot handheld (I did not have tripod on this trip) during snowy evening. This Cathedral is the main tourist attraction in Cologne. It was built in 632 years and reached 157.38 meters height. It was the tallest building in the world for four years until the completion of Washington Monument. I was really lucky to capture this magnificent buildings panoramic shot (made of 3 photos) without any people in the frame. Enjoy!

DSC_5086-Pano web.jpg

What a stunning image! Thank you so much for your submission. Tomas

Evening in Monsanto

Our acquaintance with Portugal started in the iconic village of Monsanto. It is a very popular place and one of the most Portuguese villages of Portugal. Its narrow stone streets and the buildings between the big boulders are very picturesque, and the view from the most popular viewpoint is breathtaking.

2017-12-02 19-08-37_DSC2043-Edit_1000px-4.jpg

Thank you so much for submitting your beautiful shot to my challenge. Tomas

My pleasure!

Sunset symphony for a Valentine.

TBI7.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


Unbelievable stunning colourful sunset from yesterday, the Valentine's day shot at Curonian Spit, nearby Klaipeda, Lithuania. Very calm and beautiful with a full story here: https://steemit.com/mypictureday/@axeman/sunset-symphony-for-a-valentine-mypictureday-submission

IMG_8148.jpg

This beautiful lake is Lake Bohinj in Slovenia. We went in November so there was some snow on the hills and I loved how the rocks in foreground leading into the lake looked like they were in a heart shaped!

This photo is taken in Bruges, Belgium. Bruges is the capital city of West Flanders which is located in the northwest of Belgium. People call it the Venice of the North because it contains canals and it is really beautiful.
EuropeThursday#2.jpg

Love what you are doing here Thomas. "Travel Pro" has actually never been to Europe so I guess I'm out. I'll wait for the Americas or Asia contest. Another reason I'm excited about Europe, hard to call myself "Travel Pro" and have never been to Europe! But the 11 years living out of backpack makes up for it! lol This a fantastic competition though and a awesome Prize for the winner. Keep up the great work! -Dan

Thanks ever so much for your compliment. I hope you will be able to make to Europe to write some more amazing posts about it. Have a great day Dan.

20170606_081759.jpg

Took this picture while hiking down a trail near the town of Lauterbrunnen in Switzerland. The mountains rising up into the clouds are home to Jungfraujoch which is one of the highest points in all of Europe. All the hikes around this area were incredible and offered spectacular views of the Alps.

This ladies and gentleman is a natural hotspring in a cave. You can find it in Myvatn, Iceland. I think this country deserves to be called one of the most beautifull countries on earth. Outside it was -15 degrees Celsius, inside the water was 45 degrees. Perfect!! I feel privileged that I've seen this with my own eyes.

_DSC3651.JPG

A shot of Vernazza taken while travelling in the Cinque Terre region (Five Lands) in Italy. Vernazza is the fourth village heading north and is the only natural port of Cinque Terre, famous for its port and elegant houses.

Vernazza

20170124-DSC04075.JPG
ISO 125 | 11.56 mm | f/2.5 | 1/640 sec

The island country of Malta

On New Year's Day 2017 in Bulgaria, I broke my foot while walking out on the balcony to watch the fireworks at midnight. I was stone cold sober and it was just a freak accident; one that gave me a nasty spiral fracture on my lateral tarsal and left me in a wheelchair for 3 months.

Being wheelchair bound gave me a new perspective on photography and I saw things I wouldn't normally see while just ambling around. My mother flew out from the states to take care of me while I was healing and she would push me around everywhere. We stopped along the side of the road to talk to this guy fishing and made a new friend, but not before I captured this beautiful moment forever.

20180215-083-150.jpg
My first "live" European Thursday: I took this photos a few hours ago in Sevilla. Sevilla is such a beautiful city and contrary to many other European cities it is not overcrowded with tourists, at least not at this time of the year. Having just left cold and rainy Germany this morning, I really appreciate the warm temperatures here!

Hey Julian! Great photo! I'm root'n for you! 200SBD is no joke!

The Great Aletsch Glacier - the longest glacier in the European Alps. Sticking out like a tongue, this immense river of ice is quite intimidating. The picture is taken from Bettmerhorn peak at around 2800m, from where you could still see the turquoise crevasses down below, reminding you who's boss. The glacier is shrinking dramatically each year.

SWISS ALPS - ALETSCH GLACIER.JPG

Here's my entry today for 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European

DSC_0156_2.jpg

In the image a gondola, almost synonymous with the romanticism that it represents in the canals of beautiful and romantic Venice, with its 118 islands and 455 bridges, its history and architecture represents the adoration of the tourists of the world for its unnoticeable appearance to other cities of the world.

20150501_152824.jpg

When in Bratislava you have to take a walk up to the castle. It's a lovely and easy walk up to the entrance. The castle itself in unremarkable. I enjoyed the great view over the whole beautiful city with my classmate from high school.

This is a photo taken in Southern Finland. During my hike I found this place where water meets ice. It's kind of beautiful when the waves go under the ice and the remarkable crunching sound is something special.

P1050281.JPG

Since I/m going home next Monday I just can't help to post this picture. Yes I am really looking forward to touch base again, I just wish I could somehow skip the long journey, but hey:

I am going to Berlin!

A few years ago, I visited Zakynthos (or Zante), a beautiful Greek island located in the Ionian Sea. The most famous landmark of the island is the legendary Navagio Beach but Zakynthos offers much more than just that. We loved walking along the coast during the sunset. Here is a photo I took on one of these walks. It is the Alykanas Bay lit by the sunset.

DSC03470.JPG

Star watching in Iceland on a freezing night. I'd really like to own this house built in the emptiness of this fabulous country to make it a place where I can relax and dream under the twighlight.

Location: Iceland.

The Alhambra (Arabic form: Qalat Al-Hamra) is a palace and fortress complex and one of Spain's most visited sites. Tickets sell out quickly so be sure to make an advance reservation. It is a beautiful complex and a great example of the magnificent Moorish architecture that you can find in Spain. The complex includes delicately carved buildings, fairytale gardens and many waterworks. It all makes you feel like you are actually part of a fairytale.

nice architecture :)

Looks like straight from Arabian Nights! I would love to visit there someday!

20170207_162826.jpg

This is "Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía. Opera house" in Valencia, Spain. When We first visited Valencia I took my kids to the Arts and Science Museum! Of course they amazed of what they saw there but Myself was speechless after seeing this!

20170310_202336.jpg

I love the nights, especially Madrid Nights. This photo taken by myself when I visited Madrid. I was at the gate of the Retiro Park and this building with the lights just amazed me.

Autumn in Reggio Emilia

WY1A5713 2.jpg

Every year, at the end of September, an enormous exhibition takes place in the Italian city of Bologna, which I and @gresstyle, my brother and companion, have to visit on business. Previously, we stopped in large urban hotels, paying for it mad money. And the last couple of years we have found wonderful farms, which are engaged in agritourism. While there are very low prices for accommodation even during the high season associated with the exhibition, there is also a very tasty homemade food from farm products. Well, the landscapes there are excellent, especially in the mornings. Than I use, going out with the camera for a walk.

One of the typical narrow streets of Monsaraz, a medieval village located in the heart of the Alentejo region (southern Portugal). In the background, we can see one of the most unique habitats in the Mediterranean region, which only exists in the Iberian Peninsula: the montado (portuguese) or dehesa (spanish).

This is a wiev from our balcony in Denia . Taken by myself when we visited this beautiful town. This historic Denia Castle was built 11th century.
Denia Castle is one of the most visited place in the town.

20170220_153807.jpg

Inspired by Tomas' post about Dresden, I'm now sharing my shot from there. Dresden is situated on the River Elbe in Germany, near the border with the Czech Republic. It used to be the capital and royal residence for the Electors and Kings of Saxony, and I could feel its long history when strolling those quaint streets. The baroque church Frauenkirche you see here was reconsecrated after being destroyed in World War II.
File Feb 16, 00 25 21.jpeg

Beautiful:) Love going through photography posts and seeing various pictures. I'm sure many more will come from this competition. This is a picture from Senja in Norway. It's taken 15 minutes from where I live. Skiing is really popular. In the winter, me and some friends usually go hiking in the mountains for about 2-3 hours with skiis on our back, and when we reach the top, we ski down like you can see in the picture.
.DQmbL8tYTXSXxcrXjEvn3A7uF65BLuJwDnV91TDz6WcsDUz_1680x8400.jpg

wow! beautiful action shot!

Hi! Is this your personal image? I see the same image on the internet from a different author. Plagiarism is a serious issue and will not be tolerated it that is the case with your image. I do apologize in advance if I am mistaken. Kindly provide an ownership to this image. Tomas

https://steemit.com/food/@stockhausen/most-beautiful-place-on-earth-northern-norway

Made a post about the author and several other pictures of him some time ago. He didn't mind at all, he's won several prices for his work aswell. he's my professor at the university of Tromsø. His name is Audun Rikardsen.

The guidelines in my post are clear that only personal images to be used.... you did not even bother to quote the image in the first place, very bad!

What a amazing photography sir Keep it up :):)

@upvoted

This photo is a foreword to the story of a small miracle-the magic of the horns.
I shot deer in December in very bad weather and low light. The lens is 800mm. The chances of making a good frame tend to 0. But you can try to shoot a story about the horns. They are deer itself. And you can draw them in the air ...

The place of shooting is the nature park Krasny Bor. Republic of Belarus.
More information about Krasny Bor:
https://steemit.com/photography/@narchuk/introduction-to-the-krasny-bor

During one of my voyages to Egypt, I had an extended layover in Amsterdam, so I checked into a hotel the size of my bathroom, and went exploring. Here are 2 of my favorite shots from that evening.

Be SURE to click this an open the larger version

AMS.jpg

Camera: Canon 40D
Lens: 10-22mm @ 13mm
Shutter Speed: 2 secconds
Aperture: f/4
ISO: 320

Here is a photo overlooking part of prague. I took the pictures form a spot near Prague Castle. The Green Topped Building in the picture is St. Nicholas Church I believe. (Not the one in Old Town)

DSCF3611.JPG

This is one of my most recent photos which I took when I went to Spain a few weeks ago. More accurately this picture is from Las Canteras in Las Palmas, Gran Canaria!
(ps. check out the reflection in the windows)

IMG_9665.jpg

IMG_6358.jpg

This is the Cathedral of Mallorca, known as La Seu. It is located in the heart of Palma, the main city of the island, and it´s one of the few cathedrals that are located right in front of the sea. The views of the bay are just as beautiful as the building itself. Definitely a must if you visit Mallorca.

DSC_9215.jpg
This golden hour shot of london taken from the Excel centre looks surreal, but only involved minor colour corrections. the silhouettes depict the O2 Arena and the Emirates Air line

las palmas.jpg
This is the cathedral of "las palmas" a marvel in architecture, Spain has very beautiful sites and this is one of the best, I recommend them in some trip to this territory, thanks for reading

Teatro Olimpico di Vicenza..jpg

Here I am in the Olympic Theater of Vicenza located in Matteotti Square, Italy. One of the things that I loved most about this place is its Renaissance architectural style, and how over the years they have been able to preserve so much beauty; Here are famous opera concerts currently. A place that you should definitely know when you visit Vicenza, which is located in the Veneto region.

Interesting use of a fisheye

The garden of Karlsruhe Palace is a great place to take a walk or hang around in summer. It is a very large park with lots of trees and flowers and even a small lake with ducks in it. The palace was built about 300 years ago and was already there before the city of Karlsruhe was founded.

https://steemit.com/travel/@eaglest/karlsruhe-palace

the underwater shot by @photo-freediver is still so captivating.
as always i enjoy all yor posts

Giants Causeway in Ireland -
A UNESCO World Heritage. This is such a mysterious place. To know a volcanic eruption 60 million years ago is reason for this perfectly hexagon shaped rock formations. The most interesting are the legends about this place, which says the columns are remains of a causeway built by a giant. And you definitely wish to believe those legends when you see such a magical place.

There are 2 pages
Pages