7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - North American Friday week #15 - the absolute winner takes 200 SBD!

in #travel6 years ago

WARNING: The use of images that are not your own on which you claim the ownership will be flagged - HELPING TO STOP PLAGIARISM ON STEEMIT


Hello fellow Steemians!

Welcome to my 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - North American Friday - where the winner of the weekly round will be able to participate for the total of 200 SBD! Today you can participate by submitting your personal pictures from your travels to the continent of North America.

shutterstock_260344292.jpg
New York City - Manhattan after sunset
Source: Shutterstock, author: IM_Photo

Your entries need to be submitted by the midnight of Central European Time in order to be considered for the challenge with a description of approximately 30 to 50 words. Only one picture to be submitted for a daily photo challenge. The rule number one is to use only personal images. Ten winning photos will receive an upvote from me from which I will pick one winner that will receive extended publicity in my post tomorrow morning. I will also visit his/her blog to upvote one of the most recent posts.

The winner of the daily challenge then competes against winners from other continental challenges of the respective week to receive the price of 20 SBD. That will be decided by you based on the dollar value of upvotes of my winning post announcement. The winning weekly picture then automatically enters other rounds for the price of 200 SBD in total.

Please see the winner of Asian Sunday, Australian Monday, Tuesday of Antartica and world´s oceans, African Wednesday and European Thursday and give them your support if you like their image to be the one winning the weekly price and entering the other stages of the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge. You can vote for them by upvoting their winner announcement posts below:

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Asian Sunday week #15 - winner announcement!

@jpphotography Asian Sunday entry:

Streets of Bangkok
Bangkok was my last destination before returning home after 18 months of travelling. The busy city that has so many faces was a fascination place to visit. This shot taken from a bridge connecting two of Bangkok's major shopping malls captures the traffic in the large city.

DQmc18EbbyQcqrjYyELcMdRc2Kt3D3A7JTUXMzbTW4QG2np_1680x8400.jfif

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Australian Monday week #15 - winner announcement!

@mibreit-photo Australian Monday entry:

I love Australia. In 2016 I had the pleasure to travel along Australia's east coast for five weeks and stopped at many wonderful places. This photo here was taken at Fingal Head south of Brisbane. Those interlocking basalt columns look great with the sea rushing around them. Then I was also very lucky with the light that morning. The glowing sky was the icing on the cake.

U5dteCHr4uRxSWMJ9jcTnj9ukA9Ab9Y_1680x8400.jfif

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Tuesday of Antarctica and the world’s oceans week #15 – winner announcement!

@bluebottlefilms Tuesday of Antarctica and the world’s oceans entry:

Upon arrival into the Antarctic Peninsula we watched this large iceberg pass by. The beauty of the Antarctic landscape is mind blowing and on every minute of the trip you are overwhelmed by your surroundings.

DQmZfkpf5RvwdvpwBmEoGvhMF6QA4ShoQKSC5qXVEd86miX_1680x8400.jfif

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – African Wednesday week #15 – winner announcement!

@narchuk African Wednesday entry:

Africa is not only sands and palm trees. There are several best dive sites in the world. One of them is located in Sudan. Clear water. A lot of marine life. And huge caves and caverns, where you can see resting sharks.

U5du9KzGghzemsg3ybkdfTQPhQBxsQk_1680x8400.jfif

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – European Thursday week #15 – winner announcement!

@skiesandsports European Thursday entry:

Wast Water at Sunrise
This is one of my favourite ever landscapes, of a place that really is special to me. My wife and I found it by accident on our honeymoon in 2012, we searched for years after that but couldn't find the lake until this year! (It's in Cumbria, UK!)

U5dsHCwK8sPEHFRudhwEyRnoq5XPUs7_1680x8400.jfif

For more information about the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge and conditions see my original post: 200 SBD 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - 2018 guidelines


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel tip: Charles Bridge – Gothic masterpiece embellishing Prague for more than 600 years!

ColorChallenge - Green Thursday - @ashwinrajt in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Price of Steem 100+ and 5 to 10 million users by the end of 2018!

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - African Wednesday week #15 - winner announcement!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

So I decided to go more personal for this week's entry. This is from my hometown of Grafton, Wisconsin. This is the Milwaukee River right next to the Grafton Dam. I took this photo a few weeks ago when I went to visit my parents for the holidays. What you can't see from the photo is that it was 25 degrees with a wind chill (and very strong wind) making it feel like 15 degrees. It took a few times to make the long exposure work because the wind shook my phone a few times ruining the shot. But I got it!
GraftonDamLongExp.jpg

I would have never guessed that this photo was taken with a phone! How do you take long exposures with your smartphone, is there an App for that that stacks multiple photos into a long exposure?

Crazy, right? I use the Slow Shutter app on my phone. I've had the app for at least two years but I've only recently really used it to its full potential. I set the exposure for about 10-15 seconds. The app works for motion blurs during the day and light trails at night. There's a reason this app is rated 5 stars in the app store!

I only got a new smartphone a few months ago and I am still amazed by how good the quality of smartphone cameras has become. I need to look if there is an app like that for Android, I have not found anything usable yet..

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

Lines and perspectives of this street shot form the Manhattan bridge. A mix between the old bricks buildings and the giant skyscrapers at the back. This perspective gives us a depth thought the square construction of Manhattan's map and so a view of the far cityscape.

Location: Lower Manhattan, New York.

DSCF0275.JPG

Portland, Oregon

When we were in Porltand for a photography conference we wanted to explore it at night time! The city has a very similar climate to the UK, so we felt right at home! I love how the rain was reflecting all the night lights onto the road, such a great atmosphere!

Wow!!!!!.. very cool shot missy. are you shooting from a car?

Thanks!! No just very close to one !!

oh ok..that photo made me wanna go out and shoot :)...... thanks

Awesome !! Thank you !

I really like the tilt angle in your image, that's really cool.

Thanks, I normally hate tilts but for some reason I went for it on this one!!

nice work home guuurl!

Thank you :)

On my way to Staten Island

This picture of lower Manhattan was taken on a cloudy day back in November while I was on the ferry to Staten Island. It is worth noticing that some of the buildings, like the One World Trade Centre, are so high that are touching the clouds. To the right, you can see the Brooklyn Bridge too.

FullSizeRender 3.jpg

One of the most iconic and most-photographed places of Canada is Moraine Lake in Banff National Park in Alberta. Last year when Canada celebrated its 150th birthday I made a road trip to capture some of this beautiful country on camera.

Please visit my post to see more images of this stunning place: https://steemit.com/travel/@eaglest/come-with-me-and-see-the-beauty-of-west-canada

Lovely shot, the water just looks stunning!

Thank You. The color of this lake is really unique...

Big Island, Hawai'i

I snapped this photo of Kilauea on the Big Island of Hawaii. Spent all night to get a time lapse for my Documentary Time Well Spent Doc. Big Island holds a special part of my heart and my journey in filmmaking/photography. 11 of the 13 climate zones on one island makes it a pretty incredible place.

_F0C1119.jpg

My entry
Dumbo Brooklyn bridge
This was the first click by my brother when he went to Newyork for Masters. Newyork has been has been a city of great opportunity for us. In this image scattered cloud on sunset I liked most with the great Brooklyn Bridge.

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 19.10.30.jpeg

IMG_8156 (3).JPG

Grouse Mountain, Vancouver

Vancouver's mountains offer you amazing views, especially in winter when everything is covered with meters of snow. The city and the sea in the background add to this great scenery

Reflection of the Empire State on a pond. I was walking in Manhattan near this famous building, when I saw the reflection of this famous building on a pond of water recently formed on the street. At that moment I knew this was going to be an interesting photo. I share with you this photo today.

IMG_20170713_193723_024.jpg

The Bean in Chicago

I was in Chicago for only a few days, as part of a trip from San Francisco to New York. I didn't expect much, but fell in love with Millennium Park. The Bean was my personal highlight. The reflection shows off the city and demands attention. Great piece of art!

Great editing! Very nice idea ;)

Thank you! :)

Yellowstone National Park

I had to dig deep to find some more photos from North America. Many years ago, I did a roadtrip from the Yukon in Northern Canada to the Southwest of the US with my parents. At the time I was shooting with a point-and-shoot camera learning the basics of photography, but I think you can still see the magic of this place.

01-jpp-20110828.jpg
Click on image to enlarge

This photo is very special for me. It´s my first time when I was on Times square in New York City. I was super happy, one of my bigest dreams came true. Time flies so fast. Thank you Tomas for this contest cause I checked my old photos because of that and I´m just smiling.

w.JPG

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

A few years ago I was fortunate enough to visit the Columbia River Gorge in Oregon. This place is amazing, full of countless beautiful waterfalls. This here is Wahclella Falls. I had to climb onto a huge rock in the middle of the stream to get this photo with the sun shining above and creating those nice sun streaks in the mist.

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

Awesome shot!

Me in the Weekee Wachi River, Florida, September 2010. Honestly, it was just a quick pose for the camera during a kayak trip as the river is home to abundant alligator population and you are not recommended to swim there :) We also saw manatees there. (Sorry for the poor quality but I lost the original file and this is just a copy from my FB.)

60346_1416759022365_3360710_n.jpg

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

This is a photo I took with my iPhone on the July 2017 Disney Wonder Cruise to Alaska. I was walking back to the ship from the land tour and this was just a great shot

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

Clicked this picture at the 9 11 Memorial. A tribute in remembrance and honor to those who lost their lives in the terror attack. It's a very moving moment of your life to be here. Behind the flag is the One World Trade Center of New York. It is the sixth tallest building in the world.

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

The Aleutian Islands, a long chain stretching from North America to Asia. Along the islands there is a deep fault. Here there are several ocean currents. This is why the underwater world of the islands is very rich. Here you can find more than 10 species of cetaceans. Many pinnipeds live here, some of which are listed in the Red Book. But all this requires a separate story)
Airplane view

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

Canada: Embrace Winter !
This holidays I spend my time exploring the Canadian wilderness, experience true winter for the first time. We explored 200 acres of woods for a week by hiking and snowmobiling away from the civilization. This was one of the shots on our way to find the Frozen water falls !

IMG_4482.jpg

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

Thank you Tomas. And thanks everyone for the upvotes !

IMG_8858.jpg

Usually when our ship Celebrity Infinity docked in Acapulco, Mexico, we went to the beach or to a high point to see some nice picturesque views. Here is one of them with the ship altogether. Sunny, warm Acapulco!

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

This photo comes from the St. Martin's Caves in New Brunswick, Canada. The tides here, along the Bay of Fundy, are of a great magnitude, so during high tide the water rises up so high that the caves are no longer visible! During low tide though, visitors are free to explore the two large caves at their leisure!

IMG_20170703_144125.jpg

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

This was taken at the Grand Central Station, New York. A little blurry I must say, but it definitely captures the hustle and bustle and the every day comings and goings within this iconic terminal!

422.JPG

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

GGB - Golden Gate Bridge
Luckily I've been in SF twice already. The windy city is one of a kind with its hills, Alcatraz and the famous Golden Gate Bridge of course. Did you know that the name of the strait actually goes back to the Greek word Chrysopylae, translated in English “golden gate"?
It's worth crossing the bridge by bike or walk all the way across it! Have a great weekend.

steemit justdentist contest north america week 15.jpg

I hope this post makes it in time. It's not 12am CET yet 😃

p.jpg

This was taken in the Columbia River Gorge just outside of Portland Oregon. I took this from the Crown Vista Point which is one of the windiest locations in the world. You can find a funny video of a news reporter covering the news in 100+mph winds and falls walking down the stairs.

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

This is the WWII battleship Iowa when it first arrived in the port of Los Angeles. It is here permanently as a museum. It was fast, ~60km/h. So old it's top deck was wood.

IMG_0566.JPG

Thank you for your participation and submission. Due to a large amount of entries I will be picking other images to go further. Tomas

Here is a little different picture, here is part of the Chicago skyline in the Cloud Gate aka The Bean. Im somewhere in there, with a green shirt on. I think it is a cool picture thought, I wish I would have got one from the side so I would have more of the skyline.

DSC_4827-2.JPG

Mr.@czechglobalhosts
This is Moola chottok, The paradise Place.I hope your will much like it.
image

Awesome photo dear thanks for sharing i follow you and upvote you hope I learn from you alot thanks

cool stuff mate, whens the due date for submissions?

honestly who cares about so called palagierism we all are part of the inifinte and all have done everthing! there is infinte 4 all! no need 2 fight over anything! wakeup 2 the beauty within urself guys!

Great contest @czechglobalhosts. Thank you very much for brighten the view every day with these beautiful images!!!

what a very excellent shots love it thanks for sharing

I wanted to invest in Steem Power today, but I could not buy it, something is happening. Excellent photos for raising enthusiasm

Excellent photography.....you give us lof of fantastic photos experience by your challenege! thanks for sharing! @zechglobalhosts

One question about this stage:
Does the nearby islands belong to North America?
I mean for example the Caribbean or the Aleutian Islands.
By analogy with New Zealand and Australia)
@czechglobalhosts.

what beautiful photo's. glad to see it your own work. I have a few people on my feed that are sharing other people's photo. when I realised that, I stopped upvoting.

the world is so big and we are so small

I support your think and i see your photo.this is great post.i think averybody like visit. So thanks for given next post. @czechglobalhosts

waiting for the next one to come ..

Great Photo's @czechglobalhosts ! Thanks for the post. Here's my unofficial entry of Robinson's Place, Ermita, Manila Philippines taken from my condominium window.
DSC_0077 Robinsons Place Ermia Manila.JPG

Hi, your entry does not meet the minimum requirements of 30 words and cannot be considered at this point. Thank you for your understanding. Tomas

Amazed. So good phitos taken by a master.
For sure you have the sense of a photographer and it is very kind from you to share these things with us.
By the way, i enjoy a lot your presentations about Czech.

i like your article. if you have time come my bog. i already folow you

Wonderful post, professional photography. Interesting post.

amazing shots.

DisneyC&C.jpg

Taken at Disney World, the happiest place on Earth. As a kid, I went with my family a couple times a year (the perks of growing up in Florida!). It really is magic as the sun sets and the park's lights come on.

czechglobalhosts!! Thank you, your Post.

DSC03460.JPG
Sunsets with some crazy colors, specially in summer.