Travel Tip: Karlstejn Castle, masterpiece of Gothic architecture with fairytale-like atmosphere

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

I am here with another episode of my Travel Tip edition. When it comes to the Czech Republic and castles, the first thing most people will probably think of is the Prague Castle and it is understandable as this iconic Prague landmark is one of the most famous castles in the world.

My homeland, however, is home to many other impressive castles such as the Karlstjen Castle. Founded in 1348 by the King Charles IV, the Karlsten Castle is a huge Gothic castle situated some 30 km (19 mi) outside Prague, right above the village of the same name (Karlstejn).

shutterstock_159203144.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Petr Podrouzek

One of the most significant pieces of Gothic architecture in Central Europe, the Karlsten Castle used to serve as a place for safekeeping crown jewels, holy relics and other highly important royal treasures, which is also one of the reasons why the castle was attacked and besieged on numerous occasions during its long and famous history.

shutterstock_79946992.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Erapictures

These days, the castle is a popular tourist spot frequented by domestic and foreign visitors alike. Its close proximity to Prague makes it a great day-trip destination from the Czech capital. Visitors can choose from several different tours of the castle interiors that are just as impressive as the outside of this medieval architectural jewel.

shutterstock_433157266.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: DaLiu

If you decide to visit the Karlstejn Castle, make sure to also check out the Velka Amerika Quarry that I showed you recently in one of my previous posts. This amazing natural spot is just a few kilometers away from the castle and it is definitely worth the hike.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel tip: Charles Bridge – Gothic masterpiece embellishing Prague for more than 600 years!

ColorChallenge - Green Thursday - @ashwinrajt in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Price of Steem 100+ and 5 to 10 million users by the end of 2018!

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - African Wednesday week #15 - winner announcement!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

I have to add Czech Republic to my travel list!

Great post 👏👏👏

Really you are brilliant @czechglobalhosts,
wish you best of luck keep this type posting.great post. thanks.
upvote & resteem.

Karlstejn Castle, masterpiece of Gothic architecture with fairytale-like atmosphere. amazing photography and beautiful picture

@czechglobalhosts, Absolutely brilliant turning post for travel Czech Republic. Admire the overwhelming beauty of a place which has been the seat of Czech kings, emperors and presidents for a thousand years. which is one of the most beautiful in Europe. Discover the secret of this symbol of the Czech Republic and a place which makes Prague one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I have heard Prague castle before via Prague's history book.

wow great photography and artical also amaizing keep it up we love to read your post this post better then last post nice one bro!!!

No doubt you're so blessed about the place where you're living. And the beauty of your land can be seen through your blogs. You make refresh with your photography skills, you also describe the place in a very beautiful way.

I am huge fan of your photography @czechglobalhosts

Keep sharing such beautiful spots by the way Karlstjen Castle is an amazing spot to visit.

Stay Blessed My Friend, Steem On

nice photography..i impressed to see your photo..czechpublic was amazing place to travel thanks for shereing this amazing post...wish you best of luck keep this type posting.... becuse we waiting for your post @Resteemed @Upvoted

Waoooo. I call you Mr. Journey-man, but you love travelling to Czch. Republic. I must say that I have been enjoying your travel stories and this is no exception. I follow and upvote.

Wow, It feels like I am watching the setting of a movie. It feels like a place that can only be seen on movies then becomes a reality. Very beautiful. How I wish I could go there someday. Its a paradise

I'm planning to visit Prague by the end of this year. A lot of my friends have been and said the culture is amazing. I appreciate your post, as it had added a new place to go see while I enjoy my Czech adventure.

Cheers!

Good post. Thanks for sharing this.

the castle is really amazing and the scenery around is very beautiful

Always cool tips to go somewhere!

I was there already! Its really an awesome place! Of course a tip for everyone! Thanks for Sharing!

good fhoto

I love visiting old places and castles is one of them. That ine looksnlike it's worth a visit

When I plan my next visit to the Czech Republic, I need to have a serious conversation with you. I keep seeing all of these places I would visit in a heartbeat but I'm not keeping very good track of them!

An exciting trip. I also like to visit historical places like this. :)

Very nice share indeed Karlstjen Castle. I watched the pictures of Prague Castle in your one of previous blogs and found very special place to visit but karlstjen Castle is too a very beautiful place to visit. Mind blowing job. Keep it up @czechglobalhosts and Stay Blessed!

wow what a nice place..............beautiful photography,,,,,,,,,,,just keep it up

wow great photography and artical also amaizing keep it up we love to read your post. Thanks for sharing

Wow very beautiful scene.

Beautiful post your Great job at steemit @czechglobal

I love visiting castles.

Beautiful. We loved our time in Prague, but only had time to visit Prague and a little outside (the bone church). Looking at this it reminds me of how much more there is to see!

wow😱,great shots👌
very good post

Wonderful view . Really impressive and truly speaking i am impressed . I wanna go there ,@czechglobalhosts

wow this is awesome..nice clicks :)

WOW - Being a huge castle fan (that's probably why I love Dubrovnik and Age of Empires), this definitely needs to get visited.

I need to plan a Czech trip visiting some of your destinations and the finishing it with a beer with you ;)

Thx for the share man!

this is truly beautiful and amazing .. i would love to visit there once for sure thanks for posting

Good thing you have castles. In the Philippines, we only have old churches, but still almost as amazing as your castles 😂

Just love such kind of a castles bringing two possibilities - to make just a landscape photos with an important element of interest in it, and another to make some nice outdoors photoshoot with a model with a dress, etc...
That one looks just amazing for those purposes (not talking about its history of course :)

I love Velka Amerika Quarry by the way because I have seen so many pictures and stored in my laptop. But you know what @czechglobalhosts , Czech became my second love place I want to go..
This castle is so famous for it's architecture as well as the history.