You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking to the top of Central America: Tajulmulco

in #travel6 years ago

Haha a great read! I have semi recently been to Guatemala too and you described it just as I remember, especially the chicken buses. I was both convinced that whatever race we were in, we were winning. And eventually found it easier to relax when I just accepted that we were eventually going to crash rather than worry about it.
We did the Acatenango volcano hike and camp (I’ve got a post on here both for Guatemala and more recently for the volcano camping and eruptions) and also use it as a benchmark of one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Exhaustion, altitude and dehydration all made it an absolute punish, but it’s still one of the highlights of my whole trip!