Doc's Travel diaries #1- Amazing northern lights (Aurora Borealis) in Tromso, Norway.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I travelled to the north of Norway to Tromso this march to witness the auroraborealis/ northern lights. 

Tromso is one of the best places to witness this amazing natural phenomenon. I was lucky enough to catch the brightest light of the season in a dark starry night near Ersfjordbotn. 

Hunt for aurora began in the freezing temperatures of -7 degrees Celsius. As the night progressed the majestic cosmic green lights appeared out of nowhere and continued to grow brighter with a growing tinge of purple.  Here are some photos for you to enjoy!  

If you do plan to visit the place, I would be happy to give further insights and tips!

Cheers!


Sort:  

My dream is to see an aurora one day. Amazing shots.

Amazing photos! It's my dream to see this in real life (and to photograph it of course)

Awesome shots. Keep it up ;-)

What camera do you use?

Well that's the funny thing..I am not very good at photography. I mostly use my google pixel phone camera. Used a friend's Sony camera for these shots. Relied on the tour guide for setting the iso and exposure times! It can get difficult to click in low lights with this clarity unless you are an experienced photographer.

Congrats @drkewalmd. Your photo made it on the Top Photographs Daily Selection today :). Upvoted and Resteemd!

https://steemit.com/photography/@mycamerashots/best-photos-trail-24th-june-2017-2017624t114754613z

Thanks a lot.. Appreciated!

Beautiful shots.

Thanks a lot..,Do follow for more... More amazing photos from trips to Norway, Prague, Vienna, Bratislava,China, Korea etc coming up shortly! :)

It's such a beautiful aurora.I saw the Aurora two years ago in Tromso, and it was the most beautiful scene in my life.
I following you.

Thanks for appreciating. Been to Norway twice. There were a lot of Koreans there too!! :)

Right. But Norway is a really far away Korea, but it was a great place.
I really want to go there once again.

Very beautiful scenery, good work, thanks.

Thanks a lot.. I plan on posting more from my Eurotrip soon. Do follow to stay in touch! 😀

Wow that is so beautiful! Excellant photographs!

Thanks a lot. More coming up soon. Please follow to keep in touch! 😀

Very nice pictures! Although I've lived in northern Sweden where northern lights often are visible it has been a very long time since I saw any that majestic. I'd love to capture some with my camera.

Thanks! I had a layover in Sweden too.. Had the time for just a quick visit Gamla Stan and the palace at Stockholm! Man your airport shuttle is fast.. Going at 190km/h!😀

Yes the express is very fast. I usually ride one of the cheaper options. My home town is about 890km north of Stockholm so most of the time I have a connecting flight and never go into Stockholm.

Excellent work, man! It's not easy to take pictures in such low temperatures :)

Exactly!..The biggest challenge is getting your fingers out of the thick mittens to click the button! :D