Travel to D.C: Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial

in #travel7 years ago

In a continuation of my previous posts discussing memorials that I’ve been to on my previous trip to Washington D.C., I wanted show some images and discuss a little of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial. All images were taken with my iPhone, so with dusk quickly approaching some pictures were a little grainy.

IMG_3332.jpg

The entrance to the memorial was very solemn. The MLK memorial is on next to the reflecting pool in D.C.. And in the picture below, as you walk into the main part of the memorial you see that MLK’s statue is staring at a particular item.

IMG_3331.jpg

IMG_3335.jpg

Yes, the monument of MLK is staring at the Jefferson Memorial. I can only image the memorials creator thinking about the placement of the statue. In my mind the statue of MLK is staring at the originator of the phrase “all men are created equal..” as it was written in the Declaration of Independence. In what Martin Luther King, Jr. fought for and is still a work in progress. There will always be the continued push so that all people are created equal. Just looking at the monument just made me reflect of all the work that MLK did for the Equal Rights movement in the 1960’s. MLK’s view was also within sight of the Lincoln memorial, which in my mind is equally important as Lincoln was the president that abolished slavery in the US.

IMG_3336.jpg

From what I remember of the tour guides information, the monument was completed in 2011. It’s a granite monument and only one of a select few memorials that are not dedicated to a President. On the side of the statue there is the phrase, “Out of a mountain of despair, a stone of hope.” When I first read the phrase it sounded very familiar but I couldn’t place the phrase. When I was talking with the tour guide he mentioned that it was one of the key phrases of MLK’s “I have a dream” speech. Once the had said that I could place where it was exactly. And such an inspirational phrase. Hope has done so much for humanity.

And to wrap up the pictures I took, there is an additional phrase in the memorial area. There are several phrases through out the memorial that were part of MLK’s speeches across his life. The image below I think is an excellent quote that states how public service is so much more than work.

IMG_3340.jpg

I hope you enjoy the pictures and thank you for reading. If you enjoyed the post, please upvote. And if you like the content, please follow as I will be posting several times thru the week. Thank you again and have a great week!

Sort:  

Great job on the post @drstevegilbert. I have not been to DC since they erected this memorial, but I have seen it on television a few times, and am very happy that it is there. Upvoted and resteemed for you.

Thank you very much!