Sometimes you need someone to grab you by the hand and take you down a dirt road!

in #travel2 years ago

It is spring in Canada now, but it is never too soon to plan a winter vacation. Since I live in Canada, I might be dust in a jar before they lift the COVID restrictions so I could travel again. I was explaining to a lady I used to work with (she was the person who invented the Personal Support Worker profession) about how I had been looking at Venezuela or Nigeria, or the Philippines as a place to retire. As my son is in the province of Alberta, and my daughter is in Australia; also I am expecting the modern equivalent of the Little Ice Age to hit within the next twenty years, or so my thoughts turn to places warm year-round.

I am afraid I learned my Spanish by watching Speedy Gonzales cartoons and Zorro as a child; I wouldn't feel too confident in staying in Venezuela. I haven't ruled out Nigeria. I've become acquainted with several friendly people on this platform. The Philippines is an unknown quantity. Twenty years ago, the head of a College invited me to teach there. Naturally, my ex didn't dare to embark on an adventure like that. Since I would have chosen to teach in the Philippines as an opportunity for my kids to experience new things, and they like to adventure on their own, I guess it wasn't too much of a loss.

The lady I mentioned above has contacts in the Philippines, including a doctor in one of the provinces. It might be interesting to connect with him and set up a senior facility connected with his practice. As I say this, I have visions of a nursing/PSW college, but then I remember that it has been twenty years since I helped set up a college, and I would instead prefer to put my feet up and snooze.

Anyway, if I ever make it to Bacong, I know where to visit for a quick meal and nod with the local expats.

Sort:  

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg