3 Days in Manila: Day 2

in #travel6 years ago

Our second day in Manila took us on a rambling walk around some other notable spots in he centre of town.

Our first stop was the famous Rizal Park, named after the national hero of the Philippines who I mentioned in my last post, as it was the place of his execution. Information about Jose Rizal is ubiquitous around the city- I feel like I could teach a class about his life, and I really want to read his book Noli Me Tangere now!

20180217_123631.jpg

20180217_124606.jpg

The park also features a Planetarium, and different themed gardens such as a Japanese garden and Chinese garden which even has a statue of Confucius.

20180217_130141.jpg

After lunch, we had a choice between two museums, Natural history and Anthropology. Keen to learn more about Filipino cultures and customs, we opted for Anthropology, and it didn't disappoint!

dsc08481.jpg Image source: https://goo.gl/images/9An2fW

I would recommend this museum of you have some time and are interested in learning about Filipino traditions, particularly in arts and crafts.
Another good museum is the Bahay Tsinoy, which details the history of cultural exchange between the Philippines and China.

Those were the highlights of our second day, if you missed day 1 you can find it here: https://steemit.com/travel/@edij/3-days-in-manila-day-1

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Sort:  

Great that you are visiting museums there... It's easy to get caught up in touristy things, food, entertainment. I'm guessing that many of your long term memories of the Philippines will be centered upon the things that you see and learn about in these museums...

Cheers! 🇵🇭

Yeah I like to spread out the relaxation and entertainment with a bit of learning, I'm a bit of a nerd like that lol :p