My Beloved Riga, Latvia ๐Ÿ’— (History + Timeline, Historic St. Peter's Church and Tower, and Many Other Beautiful Places)

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

2018-01-29-22-33-53-379.jpg



Riga was my hometown before I moved to USA. It will be always a city that will make my heart warm. ๐Ÿ’— I can talk about this city in million posts and I only wish I would have more pictures to share. When I used to travel before Steemit, I usually would not take so many pictures of architecture and streets. So now, I have to work with the ones I have, but I promise when I will come back to Latvia I will take a lot of cool photos.


So, letโ€™s start with the history of Latvia and Rigaโ€ฆ

Latvian history began around 9000 BC. In the first half of 2000 BC, early Baltic peoples arrived, which are the forefathers of the Latvian people. Latvian territory was famous as a trading crossroads. โ€œRoute from the Vikings to the Greeksโ€ mentioned in ancient chronicles stretched from Scandinavia through Latvian territory along the river Daugava to the Ancient Russia and Byzantine Empire. The Germans founded Rรฎga in 1201. It was the largest and most powerful city on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea.

Here is a more detailed timeline..

lat1.pnglat2.png
source



And here are some really cool places to see if you are planning to travel to Riga..

House of the Blackheads

House of the Blackheads is a beautiful building that was a home for the Brotherhood of Blackheads, a guild for unmarried German merchants in Riga in 14th century. The building was bombed to a ruin by the Germans on June 28, 1941 and the remains were demolished by the Soviets in 1948 (which is extremely upsetting!) The current reconstruction was erected from 1995 to 1999.

10357665_10203376673190080_2866858540707545443_o.jpg

Towards the end of the 14th century, the guilds uniting Rigaโ€™s merchants and craftsmen were joined by a brotherhood of banquet caterers to upper classes which quite significantly called themselves Blackheads. Its members included young and unmarried merchants of foreign, mostly German, descent. When traveling and supplying exotic goods from overseas, they managed to protect their ships and caravans from pirates and robbers. The Blackheads chose St. Maurice as their patron saint, who traditionally was depicted as a black soldier in knightโ€™s armor. After obtaining their tenantโ€™s rights and entering holy wedlock, members of the brotherhood become part of Rigaโ€™s patrician elite, serving as councilors, members of the Great Guild and respected members of the cityโ€™s community. The 17th century merchant organization, the Brotherhood of the Blackheads, became the sole tenant of the House of the Blackheads.
source

St. Peter's Church

St. Peter's Church is a Lutheran church dedicated to Saint Peter. First mention of the St. Peter's Church is in records dating to 1209. The church has a Gothic and Romanesque building styles.

2018-01-29-21-19-57-505.jpg

On May 10th, 1721 lightning struck and set fire to the tower and church, which damaged everything but not church and tower walls. By 1723 the building had a temporary roof and later the ceilings and interior was renovated. Also, on 29 June 1941 there was an artillery fire that destroyed churchโ€™s new renovations. New conservation and restoration began in 1954. A sphere and rooster were set atop the steeple on 10 May 1690. This tower was the tallest wooden construction in Europe at the time.

This is how it looks inside today..

2018-01-29-21-18-28-817.jpg

The tower has an elevator installed that allows visitors to see the view of Riga from the height of 72 metres (236 ft).

This is what you can see from the tower..

2018-01-29-21-13-28-578.jpg

2018-01-29-21-12-17-013.jpg

Radisson Blu Latvjia Hotel - Skyline Bar

Radisson Blu Latvjia Hotel is the 5th tallest skyscraper in Riga. The building is 95m tall and has 27 floors. It was built in 1976 in Soviet modernism style, but the exterior has been remodeled in postmodern style with more glass in 2001.

The picture of hotel is the first picture of this post (large building behind me).

Skyline Bar is a really fun lounge with live Dj that I really recommend. ...And here I am having fun with my family and friends at Skyline Bar.

2018-01-29-21-36-53-255.jpg

Old Riga Streets

Walking down the streets of Old Riga is like going on a treasure hunt, exciting and adventurous. You can find many beautiful and colorful buildings, modern buildings, and very old historic buildings in the same place. Most buildings in the city has some kind of history.

FB_IMG_1517306264105.jpg

FB_IMG_1517306276568.jpg

This is a Powder Tower , which was originally served as one of the Riga defensive system buildings. I couldnโ€™t find the exact date of the construction, but the first tower was built in the 13th century.

FB_IMG_1517306255144.jpg

Latvian National Opera and Ballet

The National Opera House was constructed in 1863. In the beginning it was a German-speaking theatre, but later in 1893 there was an attempt to create a Latvian national opera. In 1944, following the occupation of Latvia by Soviet Union, and incorporation into the Soviet Union, the Latvian National Opera became the Latvian S.S.R. State Opera and Ballet Theater. In 1990, the theater was renamed the Latvian National Opera, but later was closed until 1995 for renovation.

balet1.png
pic source

..and here I am inside the building watching a performance.

FB_IMG_1517306382015.jpg


P.S. While I was writing about my city, I realized how much I still did not see. We donโ€™t appreciate things when we have them close to us and now when I am so far from Riga, I just want to go back!



Pictures were taken with Samsung s7 and Nikon D7000

Other sources: 1, 2, 3



promo11.jpg

CHAT Discord Channel Invite



[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 56.949094 lat 24.105592 long My Beloved Riga, Latvia (History + Timeline, Historic St. Peter's Church and Tower, and Many Other Beautiful Places) d3scr)

Sort: ย 

thanks for sharing i love this post, There's a lot of beauty park into this tiny country, id love to retire in riga, riga is a beautiful place and ive just learnt one of two about the city from your post thanks for sharing again

Indeed riga is a beautiful place. Thanks for sharing this.@ella-kay

Very Beautiful!!! The pictures are amazing and it truly feels like you are right there!!! Love these places and I hope you continue to take wonderful pictures of places around the World! Thank you and keep up the good work!

thank you :)

thank you for reading :) I can totally see myself retiring there too :)

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article about history!
You received a 10.0% upvote since you are not yet a member of geopolis.
To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-3
If you do not want us to upvote and comment on your posts concerning earth and earth sciences, please reply stop to this comment and we will no longer bother you with our love โค๏ธ

I love stories. I ve never been to Riga but through the pictures i can tell it's a very beautiful place, tks for your post, can't wait to read more.

Wow!! Actually I didn't know very much about this curious country, it looks so colorful.
It's a great sign of recovery after comunism.
If I get there there's no doubt I'll try the Radisson Blu Latvjia Hotel.

@ella-kay paldies par Latvijas promotion, patฤซkami redzฤ“t tautieลกus stฤซmitฤ. Tiekamies iekลก steemit.

They say : Travel is the only thing you buy , that makes you richer ^_^ and if you think travel is dangerous try routine it's lethal

I was in Latvia recently.Personally, I'm struck by its simplicity and amazing combination of various styles of architecture.Thanks for the post @ella-kay

thank you for reading :)

I ve never been to Riga but from picture I would say the House of Blackheads is the most beautiful one . It looks rebuilt in a very elegant way

thank you for reading :)

yes, when I came from Kazakhstan to Germany I was so happy, but now 20 years later I miss Kazakhstan. So I understand you when you say your heart will always beat for Riga.

yeah, same thing . but I am always so excited to go back to Latvia and finally I actually learn more about it's history

That's great that you do that. His origins should not be forgotten.

This post has received a 1.17 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ella-kay.

You got a 1.02% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ella-kay!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You have beautiful photo in beautiful city ! (first shot)

thank you :)

Thanks for your post! It's great to read about the Baltic States on Steemit! It gives more ideas of where to travel soon!;-)

thanks for reading :)

Riga is one of my favourite cities! I love love LOVE Latvia! And I visit at least once every year. I already booked another trip to Riga for this March to participate in the Legion Day Remembrance ceremony.
I can't believe you left Latvia for the USA. I wish I can live in Riga in the future.

well, USA isn't bad either . I love it here, but Latvia has so much history and beautiful building what we don't have that much.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

The photographer in me is cringing so hard at that first photo. If you photographer had turned even 90ยฐ, so the sunset wasn't behind you, the picture would have turned out much better. We'd actually be able to see you and the buildings!

Everything else was fantastic, though. Riga is a beautiful city, and your photos capture the old world beauty of the architecture. I like the looking glasses you're holding in that last photo. It's very 19th century, but in a good way! It makes you look regal.

thanks for reading :)

This post has received gratitude of 2.54 % from @appreciator thanks to: @ella-kay.

Great post.
I love reading stories like this.
Have known many folk from Latvia, all of them extremely good looking, some from Riga too. Never really knew anything about the place apart from it being ruined by drunk British people on stag/Hen parties.

thanks for checking out my post :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ella-kay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-beloved-riga-latvia-history-timeline-historic-st-peter-s-church-and-tower-and-many-other-beautiful-places


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Lativjia is beautiful and people are great. Greetings from Estonia!!

thanks :)

Thank you ella-kay for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 6.16% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

This post made me miss Riga too and you took some beautiful photos! Every time I go back I still can't stop taking photos of the narrow streets in the Old Town and the views from the Skyline bar or St. Peter's.

yeah, Riga is a pretty cool place for photography :) thank you for reading :)

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.85% vote... I was summoned by @ella-kay! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Great post my friend .Thank you for sharing such wonderful moments and pictures of this beautiful place . @ella-kay

thanks for reading :)

your photos are so incredible the scenery is very beautiful and fitting to take some pictures. keep posting like this. this looks very interesting

thank you :)

okay ๐Ÿ˜‰

Never been to Latvia before, that's a great overview!

thank you :) you should visit it someday

Hi miss @ella-kay! :) As I reviewed your post was so amazed as I read it. So fun and warming. I followed you, please follow back. And can I have a request? PLease upvote my posts and help me resteeming it, for us newbies hehehe thank you so much miss.

Excellent post!

thank you.

This is wonderful! I've never been to Latvia, but would love to venture to that part of the world. Thank you for giving me a virtual tour. :) The cathedral (St. Peter's) is especially stunning!

thank you for reading :) I really hope you have a chance to visit Riga :)

You can say that again a thousand times babe...

Have always advocated for more hours on teaching of History of the World..nice write-up @ella-kay

thanks :)

beautiful scenery .I like

Nice :). I would be really, really happy, if you guys could look up my paperpiano and tell me, what you think of this :D.
Thank you
Piano Master

Thank you for sharing

Wow, awesome photos! Great post to read :)

I want to visit now :o

goods post,,

Wow Nice pic!! And your feed is really well done....keep it up. Just followed you and looking forward to more goodness....

In your so beautiful writing that you have lost your love, your writing was not appreciated by you and your intellect. Sa nice...
@arean22266

So beautiful Visualization , makes me wanna go there
keep it up, will be waiting for more posts with pictures like this one

Hi, what beautiful photos, the city looks amazing, follow us.