Explore Malaysia : Gua Tempurung Caving Experience

in #travel6 years ago

The second year in a row I went to the famous cave - Gua Tempurung

IMG_1457.JPG

Our traveling group made it to the Gua Tempurung cave

Five hours in the dark for some people might seem very weird and something you won’t do, but believe me it is so much fun especially if you enjoy challenges and physical activities.
I don’t want you to find this as a spoiler or something, as this is not a brand new movie :P, in case you are planning what to do for one of the weekends with your friends, I would highly recommend this for you.

IMG_1402.JPG

Excited group of people before the tour

First, you get the helmet and the guide, who will be always with you and ensure you are safe.
Better bring your own torchlight otherwise you might need to follow people, so you can at least see where you are stepping into.

The first hour is mostly walking up the stairs, there are ten or twelve stations, where you stop so the guide can explain you some of the nature art inside of the cave. (it is very funny actually, especially with right people when you come up with your own description of what you see and how it happened to be there)

After that part starts the fun part, being in the dark and going through all the obstacles, that are on the way: hiking, climbing, swimming, sliding and etc, but let me start in order.

IMG_1418.JPG

My friend cannot go without her phone even if it is going to the cave

IMG_1482.JPG

But yey, I have the photos

I feel having a smaller group (we were about 40 people overall with the guide) will be much more faster and more fun, as we would not need to wait for people to come.

We were walking to the highest pick of the cave, I don’t exactly remember what was there, but after that part there was such a beautiful stop for 30 minutes in nature (mid spot of the tour)

IMG_3307.JPG

So gorgeous view

IMG_1448.JPG

The 30 minutes before going back into darkness

After the stop in this nice place, we had anther two kms to go and I enjoyed them the most, because they include swimming and sliding and going through the small whole.
I have the trick, where I would follow the guide and be the second or sometimes first before him, so I dont get tired and gain more energy while waiting for others. I learned this from the prevous guide we had last year, who told me this secret.

IMG_1492.JPG

Exhausted group of people after five hours in the cave

I believe, this is it, shorter than I expected, but pretty much everything.

Looking forward to your questions regarding this cave and also other recommendations, where else I can go in Malaysia.

Thanks for your time and comments,
xoxo. @elvira.galina

Sort:  

So sad I missed it. Looks like lots of fun! Thanks for sharing

You were missed, @vika.puzach! Next time we travel together :)

Oh wow... great write up and looks like you guys had fun...

Where else to go in Malaysia depends on your interest... you prefer food, beach, hiking, etc....

hey @orangila, it was so much fun...

Sooo, I am fond of hiking and climbing sort of would be keen for some hiking near KL :)

@elvira.galina, I am not much of a hiker myself but I have been to a few trails.

Have a look at this website: https://www.malaysia-traveller.com/hiking-trails-near-KL.html
My comments below are based on the link above and for the trails me or my friend have been to.

#1. Bukit Broga - Not much of a climb, very easy and very popular because of the beautiful sunrise view.

#2. Klang Gates Quartz Ridge (Bukit Tabur) - I have never been here before but I heard it is beautiful. And I know it was closed a few times in the past because of fatalities (very steep climbing at the end). Avoid this route unless companied by someone well experienced with this route.

#4. Bukit Gasing, #5. Ah Pek Hill Trail (Bukit Putih), #6. KL Forest Eco Park (Bukit Nanas Forest Reserve) - Good casual hike and is pretty close to town.

#7. Ayer Hitam Forest Reserve - I have been to this one many times and it is very good. However, there are a lot of news that this track is illegal as it is private property and there are people who were arrested for trespassing. So best to avoid this.

Please do not ever go hiking alone in Malaysia. Always go with a group of friends. GPS functions on smartphones are useful to keep track of the routes taken and to get back to the main track if you're lost.

wow, @orangila, those are really good recommendations!

I did the Bukit Gasing one and the KL Forest Eco Park - it was really nice.
Maybe should try Klang one next, will let you know ;)

Yeah.. please let me know (contact me on Discord), would love to bring you all around or we have BBQ or something...

I went exploring in this cave years ago too and find it an adventurous place to go. Especially there was a part where it was also all wet in the cave. Glad to see you had fun @elvira.galina :)

hahaha, the part where all is wet in the cave was my fav one :)

Did you go to any other cave, dear @happycrazycon? :D

You mean in Malaysia? I went to some caves in Sarawak but this Gua Tempurung one is the most intense I had been. Even lost my one of my shoes while at it. Haha.

You lost your shoe while caving in Gua Tempurung haha, @happycrazycon. Well, yeah looks very intense for you :)

Not sure Ill travel to Sarawak this year though but will keep my options open la

Haha yeah it is a totally different state to explore, @elvira.galina. Not to forget Sabah too, I'm sure you will love the islands there! :)

We plan to go again. They've recently added even higher difficulties. Before they only had up to level 4, now can go to Level 7. Care to join us next round?

I always wondered who were the poor souls who lost their soles in the cave haha. I've been to Gua Tempurung a few times d and I think I've counted more than 20 shoes / soles

Hahaha I was one of the contributors, obviously! It is great to see you bringing the expat friends around in Malaysia @chuazm, or is it the other way round, they are the ones bringing you? Haha!