The Dalkey Lobster Festival

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Each year the small seaside town of Dalkey in Ireland hosts several festivals. In August the Lobster festival takes place and a few weeks ago on a sunny Saturday afternoon @ishtar some other friends and I visited this pretty little town located just a few kilometres south of Dublin city, easily accessible on the Dart.

The Dalkey Lobster Festival

There was something here for all the family, with cooking demonstrations, live music and real live creatures of the deep.

People were even looking to spot some whales and dolphins, more on that later.

Dalkey

The main street is closed off for the day and tents set up outside all the main restaurants and cafes in the village. You can stroll from tent to tent while enjoying some live music in the street and the aroma of delicious food being cooked up in the street.



Live Lobsters

Seafood doesn't get any fresher than this. This little guy jumped out of the boat and we got a demonstration of how to Hypnotize him to calm his nerves.



Cooking Demonstrations

Celebrity chefs were giving cooking demonstrations and serving every variety of fresh Irish Seafood.



Entertainment

The entertainment for the adults was the live music and of course, Dalkey being Dalkey, Jazz music and glasses of Prosecco. But the kids were looked after too with storytellers and entertainment.



Preservation and Care

The delicate ecosystem and resource that is the sea was not forgotten. There was a tent and demonstrations on how the government agencies care for the star of the day, the magnificent Lobster.

In this picture we see a demonstration of how the lobsters are identified and tagged for conservation.



Food

My favourite part of the day was the mouthwatering food.



The Stars

Of course Dalkey is known today not for its fishing fleets but that it is home to many of Ireland best known celebrities. U2’s Bono and The Edge as well as Neil Jordan, and Enya call this picturesque sleepy town home. The area where they all live is a scenic route just south of the town off or near Vico road. We finished our outing with a stroll along this road to see if we could spot any of the stars, and I'll be honest dream a bit of what it would be like to live here.



Irish waters a sanctuary for Whales and Dolphins

The evening after we visited Dalkey we were heading to a Steemit meetup in the city center but on our walk along Vico road we came a cross a group of people gathered at the side of the road with some viewing equipment.



This group was looking for Bottle-nosed Dolphins, who are resident in the bay, and the group had gathered as part of a nationwide celebration. For more info see the Whale Watch Ireland website.

Whale Watch Ireland News


Source: http://www.iwdg.ie/news/?id=2703

Will Ireland become a sanctuary for Steem Whales.

I hope so and I hope we get a visit from a few at one of the @steem-dublin meetups



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

It looked like a really nice event. My favorite part of course would probably be eating lobsters and sea food. I am very sure the sea food was excellent since it seemed to be caught and served fresh.

Wow, how am I only now learning that this is a thing? I guess I'll have to wait for next year to check it out in person.

I feel the same, glad I found it this year. Nearly missed it. There are a few other festivals on in Dalkey which I will be checking out next year. This one was really well organised and really relaxed. I have been to others around Dublin but this one was my favourite.

I definitely need to start keeping my ear to the ground for these type of things.

What a rich experience on food and view @eroche 😊

a great place. thank you for sharing my friends

Great post. I love the details about your experience there and the food looks to die for. Keep up these posts @eroche. 😍

Can I get an upvote for no reason at all ?

This post has received a 5.39 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @eroche.