You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oïmiakon

in #travel6 years ago

I have such places in my country, but this village is truly amazing. From my experience I can say - it's not as cold as it might seem. When there is a lot of snow, the cold is felt less.
Earlier (20 years ago) in the majority of Russian cities there was a lot of snow. Favorite children's fun in the countryside is to roll down the sled from the roof (village house) to the snowdrifts :) It's funny but it used to be so.
But now snow is a rarity. This winter was not so snowy. But in those places where there was no snow before - it fell out and it became cold.
Paradox:? no it's most likely climate change
Thanks, it was interesting to read

Sort:  

in Belgium, we have almost never snow, my children have been able to make only one snowman since they were born and the biggest to 7 years old. It's very sad I remember when I was little with my brother at the end of 1980 at the beginning of 1990 we were making huge snowmen every year in our garden ... Global warming ... surely ...